We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Our Go-To Pittsburgh Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Ranked #20 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We go to Pittsburgh often and this is always our go-to hotel. First, what we love about it. The location can't be beat. Walking distance to PNC Park and Heniz Field, perfect if you're going to a game. In fact, depending on where your room is located, you can actually see the Pirates game from your window. Close to Market Square, Cultural District and tons of restaurants. Strip District is about a 15-minute walk. The building is steeped in Pittsburgh history and elegance, something you simply can't get in a modern hotel (no matter how nice it is). Overall, the staff is friendly and helpful. If you don't want to pay $30/night to valet, there is a public parking garage across the street that is easy to access and costs approx. $10/night. Now, a few things that were disappointing this visit. The hotel is starting to show its age. In our room, there were areas that needed to be painted and the wood was damaged on a couple of the doors. Our air conditioning was not working, but to their credit they fixed it the next day. However, we did have to call the front desk multiple times as they did not pick up the first few times we tried. There were only two elevators working, and at high-traffic times we had to wait up to 10 minutes to get to our room.

The Renaissance is still our hotel of choice when visiting Pittsburgh, it just needs a bit of refreshing to keep it the grand hotel that we've grown to love.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

928 - 934 of 1,532 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

It is fair to say this is the number 1 or 2 hotel in Pittsburgh - the level of classic details they put in for the interior design is very impressive.This is one of the buildings that define the skyline of Pittsburgh. If you are lucky enough to get one of the rooms facing north/west, you will get a nice view of the river/mountain/bridge/stadium.

Service is very good. Staff can quickly understand questions/inquiries, answer them succinctly, and make appropriate recommendations/suggestions.

Internet is fast and free.

However, for people who are used to stay in 5-star hotels, there is a list of improvements they would expect this hotel to make:
1. They need 2-3 more (larger) elevators. I usually have to wait for 2-5 minutes to get an elevator in the morning/evening.
2. Maintenance/upgrading the elevators.
3. Rooms are a bit too small
4. Central in-room light digital control
5. International power sockets/converter
6. More staff. They seem to be understaffed.
7. Hallway needs some furnishing/renovation
8. More facilities.
9. Make front-entrance area smoke-free.
10. Uniform for front-entrance staff.
11. More responsive luggage hand-over and carrying
12. Needs concierge services & sign. (they might have it but I can't find them)
13. Modernized bathroom facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Renaissance for business and loved this hotel. The location in downtown was perfect to walk to get a coffee, or dinner or whatever I wanted, not to mention close to all my meetings for the 2+ days I was there. My room overlooked the river and u could see right into PNC Park. I was able to walk to the game I attended in less than 10 minutes.
The room was spacious, comfortable, and quiet. Will stay there again when back in town.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flashbridgewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My stay at this hotel was far too short. It is a relatively new hotel in a refurbished old building. I was lucky and had a corner room with a great view of the river and the ballpark. The room was large and spacious with high ceilings. Hotel staff was attentive. The lobby bar is rather small and often overflows into the lobby, which is an amazing open area of the hotel. The only meal I had was breakfast and it was very nice. If you need to stay downtown for business or the museums or the stadium, I highly recommend this hotel. Worth the money.

Room Tip: pay for an upgrade to a corner room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okie74012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel because it was close to PNC Park and we were in town for a Pirates game. We both really enjoyed our stay there. The building is beautiful, inside and out. Though our city view room wasn't huge, the high ceilings kept it from feeling cramped. It was immaculately clean and very elegantly decorated. The bathroom was lovely and spacious and had Aveda toiletries. There was a mini-bar (which we didn't use) and an in-room safe (which we did). Even though we didn't get a room right on the river, our city view had a nice view of the city and you could see the river, it just wasn't a direct view. Everyone we talked to who worked there was really nice and helpful, from the front desk, to housekeeping, to the doormen--everyone was eager to make our stay pleasant. The location can't be beat. Not only is it just on the other side of the Roberto Clemente Bridge from PNC Park, but you can also walk just about everywhere; downtown, the train station, even Station Square or the Consol Energy Center. If you don't feel like walking, it sits pretty much right in between two subway stations, so no matter which way you go, you're within a couple of blocks. I would stay there again in a heartbeat, and highly recommend it, especially if you're in town for a ball game.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IBEWWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Oh my goodness -- if only every hotel room was this big! Huge room in an old hotel -- very charming. Great location - especially if you can get a view of the river/ballpark. Architecture was stunning!

We did experience a very slow drain in the tub and the bathroom door would not close more than 60% - without my husband having to use all of his strength to close it more. We didn't report that until 10 pm. Surprisingly, within 10 minutes, someone was there to fix the problems. He showed us how the tub was draining just fine .. and agreed the door was totally off track -- but couldn't be fixed until the next day.

The next morning, the tub was draining slow, yet again. Was literally up to my ankles in water for a regular shower. Because we got this hotel on a discounted plan, we were okay with everything. Had we paid what it usually runs, we would have been very disappointed.

We would stay here again .... but insist the bathroom door close all the way. We wish they would have offered to allow us to change rooms, but it was our fault for waiting until 10 at night to tell them. So all in all .. .good stay for the money ... and we'd try it again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank P E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I couldn't get over how convenient this hotel was to the ball park, and in fact to everything we wanted to see in Pittsburgh. The Renaissance is literally at the base of the bridge that leads to PNC Park. The hotel architecture is lovely inside and out, and our double-queen room was perfect for my husband, our teenage daughter and I. Even though our room was near the elevators, we didn't hear any noise after going to bed.

I thought the hotel staff was excellent. The doorman was friendly and attentive. Special kudos to the inside staff, in particular Ben, who was extremely knowledgeable about restaurants and helped us find exactly what we were looking for.

Not only is the Renaissance close to the ball park, it's also within walking distance of many other attractions, including the Andy Warhol Museum, Carnegie Science Centre, the riverfront trail and Market Square. The Strip District is a longer walk but still quite possible.

Room Tip: A room with two queen beds is a great choice for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bakery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.4 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 72 in Pittsburgh
4,387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#6 of 72 in Pittsburgh
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel

Address: 107 6th St, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#7 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $175 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel in Pittsburgh, PA is an inspirational landmark, a bold fusion of classic and contemporary, where stunning architecture meets sleek, modern design. Located in the heart of the vibrant Cultural District and as one of the most historic hotels in downtown Pittsburgh, the Renaissance is housed in the iconic Fulton Building and exudes the urban sophistication of this cosmopolitan creative hub. Centrally located, the Renaissance Pittsburgh hotel is close to PNC Park, Heinz Field, the Consol Energy Center and the David L. Lawrence Convention Center, making it the ideal locale for seeing the best of what our exciting city has to offer. Exceptional works by celebrated local artists lend the space artistic flair, while light spills in through the stunning glass dome ceiling into the lobby below. From the start, the Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel promises to be unforgettable. Discover one of the only luxury four-star hotels in downtown Pittsburgh. The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel combines artistic elegance and hip style with luxurious Pittsburgh accommodations and an excellent location, creating a hotel experience unlike any other in the Steel City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pittsburgh Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing