We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Location, Attentive Staff, Luxurious Rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Ranked #14 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Satellite Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Incredible Location, Attentive Staff, Luxurious Rooms!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were in Pittsburgh for 4 nights to attend Pirates' games; this location cannot be beat! We arrived early in the morning, and our room was not ready. Our bags were tagged and stored until we checked in after the ball game. We received a phone call when our room was ready! The hotel is literally a stone's throw from PNC, just across the the Roberto Clemente Bridge. The staff is courteous, attentive, and polite from Mary at the check-in counter to Mimi at the bar! The first night we arrived late due to a 14 inning ball game and ate at the bar. The meal was surprisingly delicious-mussels, salads, and appetizers!
The lobby is gorgeous and the attentive and polite doormen were incredibly helpful in providing directions.
The rooms are beautiful, a mix of classic and contemporary- bathroom has granite countertops and marble floors, along with plush towels and great amenities! Our rather large room had an incredible view of PNC Stadium! The beds are incredibly comfortable with lots of fluffy pillows.
I loved the coffemaker hidden inside the wooden box, next to my bedside. The Goodwill cleaning crew of floor 9 kept our room spotless and filled with amenities. Inside the desk drawer were 2 recent Pittsburgh mazagines chock full of information about this great city-from dining, shopping, touring, and museums to current sporting events. This is a top notch hotel in every way. I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of PNC Stadium. Ask for a quiet room away from the elevators. Higher fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkcole55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    835
    425
    136
    36
    23
See reviews for
246
545
72
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay in the downtown area. Close to everything (stadiums, food, tours, nightlife etc.) Beautiful inside with a bar and restaurant that offers food around the clock. Nice lounging areas in the huge lobby as well. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Nice views of the river depending on which side of the building you are on. It is downtown so there is no parking lot. You can use the street and walk or valet ($30/day I believe)

Only negatives-which are more a personal preference than anything: Super busy when we stayed! Lots of waiting for the elevator even though there are 3. There were conventions and concerts in the area so the place was packed. We had to wait for our rooms to be ready when we arrived at 4pm. Also-if you eat breakfast at the hotel, order off the menu instead of the buffet. Its better!
1
Kudos to the bellhop/valet guys! They are fantastic and know the city well!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dpeshl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Upon our arrival(there were 2 adults, 1 teenager) the hotel did not have any rooms with 2 beds and offered us a king room with a rollaway. Fine, I guess. However upon arriving at the smallest hotel room I had ever seen, there was no way a rollaway would have fit except to block the doorway. Seems like the hotel would have concern about that, but I had to bring that to their attention. We told them we needed a larger room. We went out for a bite to eat and arrived back 2 hours later and our new room still wasn't ready. The manager was very nice and personally checked on the room and finally we got into a great room with 2 beds overlooking the river. Wonderful! I wish our great experience continued, but the staff at the front desk and especially the men who are considered Concierges, were huge disappointments! I have never spoken with a staff that was so unknowledgable about how to get around their own city! I mean, we are from out of town and need their help, but they were totally useless! They didn't seem to know how the public transportation worked to any of the areas we were interested in visiting and just acted dumb. When asked to recommend a movie theater complex with nearby dining, the Concierge replied, "I don't really go to the movies, so I don't know". It's his job to know! I didn't ask him about his personal life, I asked him for a recommendation! I honestly cannot recommend this hotel because the staff was such a is appointment!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river and ballpark are premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansford, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just returned from Pittsburgh and our stay at the Pittsburgh Renaissance. What a wonderful hotel! Braddock's Cafe was amazing! Also Jeremi Epley went out of his way to help us during our stay! The staff is amazing and very helpful! They really do what they can to make your stay pleasurable. The hotel is ideally located you can literally see PNC park seats from the rooms and our looked into the upper level of the stadium. We had no problem walking from the hotel to the stadium because you are literally steps away!
The only complaint that I have is the valet parking. At $30 a day it is quite pricey and poorly located. We had to basically pull up in front of the hotel quickly unload and then allow the valet to take the car and park it. Daren was wonderful and helped us out the last day with great directions to get back to the Turnpike to head home.

Room Tip: Try to get a stadium view you can see into the upper seats of PNC park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JO H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very nice hotel right next to the Clemente Bridge with easy access to PNC Park and Heinz Field. We are Phillies fans and went to see them play against the Pirates and we couldn't have picked a better location! The bar was really small and understaffed inside the hotel, but the accomodations, fitness center, and staff were great.

Room Tip: higher floor facing the river has the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a beautiful view of PNC Park and the "burg" during our 4 night stay. Jen Brown at Front desk went out of her way to assist with little things. Mimi in the lounge was a one-woman marvel getting the after game crowd drinks and food. The beds at this hotel are terrific and the room, although a little aged, was clean and tidy. Even the bathroom amenities were top notch - Aveda! We will go back and hope to find special rates at the Renaissance web site once again. This is the perfect location for those wishing to just walk across the Clemente Bridge to see a baseball game at PNC Park or a football game at Heinz Field. We parked our rental car with the valet the first night but were able to move it to a $10 a night garage nearby the second day.

Room Tip: I asked for a no - feather room due to allergies. Rooms on the upper floors can have great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gea58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay to watch the fireworks. We watched from our riverview room and we also enjoyed the regatta activities. Great restaurants within walking distance. As with all hotels in all cities, parking is an issue but we worked it out using the Gateway Garage across the street and the next day a short 2 blocks on Stanwix Street. We bypassed valet and simply walked over there with our rolling luggage. Way easier than we thought it would be. $20/day. Pittsburgh is a lovely city and this newly renovated hotel is a great combination of the old and new. Rooms were clean except the stand of the floor lamps were overlooked and dusty. Nice thick towels. TV reception was fuzzy. It's a good place though. Certainly way better than when it was a Hilton.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rainbow8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.4 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,025 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 71 in Pittsburgh
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel

Property: Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Address: 107 6th St, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#9 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel in Pittsburgh, PA is an inspirational landmark, a bold fusion of classic and contemporary, where stunning architecture meets sleek, modern design. Located in the heart of the vibrant Cultural District and as one of the most historic hotels in downtown Pittsburgh, the Renaissance is housed in the iconic Fulton Building and exudes the urban sophistication of this cosmopolitan creative hub. Centrally located, the Renaissance Pittsburgh hotel is close to PNC Park, Heinz Field, the Consol Energy Center and the David L. Lawrence Convention Center, making it the ideal locale for seeing the best of what our exciting city has to offer. Exceptional works by celebrated local artists lend the space artistic flair, while light spills in through the stunning glass dome ceiling into the lobby below. From the start, the Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel promises to be unforgettable. Discover one of the only luxury four-star hotels in downtown Pittsburgh. The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel combines artistic elegance and hip style with luxurious Pittsburgh accommodations and an excellent location, creating a hotel experience unlike any other in the Steel City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pittsburgh Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing