We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Comfortable stay close to Cultural District” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
271 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay close to Cultural District”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The rooms are comfortable, my only complaint would be noise from the street in the middle of the night with the noise of trucks backing up. The big advantage of the hotel is location. We attended a concert at the Heinz Hall which was almost adjacent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ForbesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    359
    114
    27
    20
See reviews for
201
464
65
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
allison park, pa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Not only is the lobby and grand hall breathtaking with all the marble, intricate carving, and a grand staircase out of a palace, the experience is wonderful and you will be treated like royalty, no matter your status. This is reflective of the care and professionalism of a grand hotel as in days of yore, with everyone making each detail count. We love to stay here and make a night on the town if going to a show, a hockey game, or to celebrate life events such as birthdays, New Year's, special occasions and to bring a little romance back into our busy lives. The rooms are spacious, crisp style, high ceilings, and corner room suites that are outstanding! It is an easy walk to downtown events, with most of the theatres a block or two away. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: the corner suites that overlook the river are very lovely and nice views! the river sparkles at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pittsburghpam20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel is one of my top 3 in the Pittsburgh area. Each time I have stayed, satisfaction was 100%. From the valet (which is so much better than the parking garage and worth the $30/day) staff treating you like royalty, no matter what your status, to the front desk and bell hop, to the bartender who makes the end of your night enjoyable, and the housekeeping, this hotel has definitely fostered the culture of doing it the ‘Disney Way’ and that is why I will continue to be a guest each time I am working and bringing travel clientele to the Pittsburgh area. Thank you Renaissance Pittsburgh!

Room Tip: Get the river view. Nice! Highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agent8643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRenPgh, General Manager at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Agent 4683, thank you very much for taking time to provide us with your feedback. And a big thank you for continuing to stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and are proud to provide the service that you deserve. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you from the entire staff. Barbara McMahon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed here for 4 days for a conference held at the hotel. The room was nice and the staff kept it clean. The hotel has a very 'solid' feel so I didn't hear a lot of noise from the hall or at night. Walking distance to some restaurants that are close by and a quick walk over the 6th street bridge to get the Pirates baseball park.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river...great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ejswit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRenPgh, General Manager at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Ejswit, thank you very much for staying with the Renaissance Pittsburgh hotel and for providing feedback on your recent visit. We are glad that you had a great conference and found the location accessible to restaurants. Hopefully you will return for some fun time in Pittsburgh. It is a great city with great sports and cultural events. Best regards. Barbara McMahon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopedale, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I had an awesome room at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel. We stayed in room 1108 and the views were just spectacular. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and decorated nicely. I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to get away for a night or two.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddawg57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRenPgh, General Manager at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear maddawg57, thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We really appreciate it! We are thrilled that you and your husband enjoyed the views and cleanliness of the hotel. Our housekeeping team ranked in the top 10 Renaissance hotels for "room clean" in 2012. We look forward to your next visit. Barbara McMahon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Modern decor in a historic building...fantastic staff, nicely renovated property. Beds were comfortable, view of the river was fantastic! Hotel is clean and inviting. Enjoyed a night away with my Valentine...close to the theater district.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanonEOSGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRenPgh, General Manager at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear CanonEOSGuy, thank you very much for treating your Valentine to our hotel. We our delighted that you had a great stay. The views of the river are fantastic!!! Regards. Barbara McMahon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a Valentine getaway. Beautiful hotel, elegant lobby, wonderful location for downtown dining and theaters, and a short walk to the subway station where you can get free rides throughtout downtown and to Pittsburgh's North Shore. We had an exquisite corner room with almost panoramic views of the Allegheny River and North Shore. Very comfortable bed and bedding, spacious room and bath, spotless. Small point here, but there was nothing in the room about any amenities. Nothing to tell you whether there was wireless Internet service or a fitness room or where to get ice, no hotel map -- just a delivery menu for the restaurant downstairs.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheatreCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#4 of 67 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 3,207 reviews
Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
#2 of 67 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#5 of 67 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel

Property: Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Address: 107 6th Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#9 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel in Pittsburgh, PA is an inspirational landmark, a bold fusion of classic and contemporary, where stunning architecture meets sleek, modern design. Located in the heart of the vibrant Cultural District and as one of the most historic hotels in downtown Pittsburgh, the Renaissance is housed in the iconic Fulton Building and exudes the urban sophistication of this cosmopolitan creative hub. Centrally located, the Renaissance Pittsburgh hotel is close to PNC Park, Heinz Field, the Consol Energy Center and the David L. Lawrence Convention Center, making it the ideal locale for seeing the best of what our exciting city has to offer. Exceptional works by celebrated local artists lend the space artistic flair, while light spills in through the stunning glass dome ceiling into the lobby below. From the start, the Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel promises to be unforgettable. Discover one of the only luxury four-star hotels in downtown Pittsburgh. The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel combines artistic elegance and hip style with luxurious Pittsburgh accommodations and an excellent location, creating a hotel experience unlike any other in the Steel City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pittsburgh Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing