We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,648)
Filter reviews
1,648 results
Traveler rating
946
471
152
51
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
946
471
152
51
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspnc parkacross the streetgrand staircasethe roberto clemente bridgeallegheny rivercultural districtbeautiful hotelcorner roomhigh ceilingsheinz hallclub levelthe concierge loungegreat view of the riverhistoric buildingbaseball stadiumbeautiful lobbywalking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,179 - 1,184 of 1,648 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here for a wedding in November of 2012. The hotel was really nice, big gorgeous rooms, and overall very friendly and cordial staff. However, finding this place is an exercise in futility. I drove past the place four times before finally finding the hotel. They need to better sign the place so people actually know how to get to the hotel. Other than that, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beboccucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRenPgh, General Manager at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our hotel. We apologize for the difficulty in locating our building. I truly can empathize with you as I often cannot find new locations....even with the GPS. It is very frustrating and not the best way to begin a relaxing weekend. I am truly very sorry and regret any inconvenience. Happy Holidays. Barbara McMahon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We pricelined this hotel and we were very happy with the hotel. Our room was on the 6th floor with views of the Heinz Stadium and our oh-so-lovely parking garage ($5 parking on the weekends and $10 during the week - BARGAIN!). Our room was very adequate. We had a comfy king sized bed and a nice sized bathroom. Really, what more do you need? We did have drinks in the bar one night, which we knew would be expensive but we didn't eat in because of the exorbitant swanky prices.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank achart923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRenPgh, General Manager at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

So glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are thankful for your business and hope that you return in the near future. The lobby is dressed for the holiday season and looks like a winter wonderland. Happy Holidays. Barbara McMahon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

we have been staying here when in town for over 15 years. they have a great bar and restaurant plus it is easy walking distance to all theaters and PNC park.

highly reccomend eating here especially Sunday brunch, one of the best bargains in the city.

Room Tip: river view looking at PNC park
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRenPgh, General Manager at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

A BIG thank you for continuing to stay at our hotel. Your business is appreciated. Happy Holidays. Barbara McMahon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Renaissance Pittsburgh is one of Pittsburgh's best and most unique hotels. The building is a classic older building that was completely renovated. The main lobby is truly grand. The location is very good and near PNC Park. There are a number of restaurants nearby. Parking is an issue, but that is true of any downtown Pittsurgh hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRenPgh, General Manager at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our hotel and its location. We truly appreciate your business. The hotel is now decorated for the holidays. If you are in the neighborhood, please stop and see the winter wonderland transformation. Happy Holidays. Barbara McMahon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Location is in downtown cultural district, within easy walking distance to shops, dining, the light rail system (T), points of interest, and situated by the river. Very convenient. Impressive lobby with all the marble and detailed work. A great mix of historic design and contemporary decor, giving the "understated elegance" feel.
We stayed on the 14th floor with a city and partial river view. The room was large at over 300 sq ft. The 14 ft high ceiling made the room even look bigger! Everything was as you would expect from a luxurious 4-star hotel - from the bed to the two plush bathrobes to the amenities. The decor in the room was more traditional than contemporary (not typical of the other Renaissance hotels I've stayed in before.) Still beautiful though not fan of the artwork and gold frames.
We stayed at the club level, which offered English breakfast buffet, hors d'oeuvres from 5-8 and desserts from 8-10 pm at the club lounge. Coffees and teas and water while the club was open, which was essentially most of the day. This was offered as a complimentary upgrade to us.
The service was impeccable! From the moment we arrived, a doorman offered a cart and helped with our luggage while we were yet getting off, someone opening the door every time we go through those doors (very much appreciated especially with my two kids in tow) to the check-in process (we were offered upgrades without us asking for it), to the assistance to our room (Gerald gave us tips how to enjoy our trip), to the concierge (where to go and how to get there.) Every staff we met was attentive and friendly. There were fruits in the lobby for the guests to enjoy whenever. Even after checking out and we were picked up by the Westin shuttle (I had to move to a hotel where I had a conference for convenience - regrettable decision) the doorman crossed the street three times where the Westin shuttle was parked to help us with our luggage.
I can see why the other members wrote raving reviews about the Renaissance, I experienced it myself. Will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRenPgh, General Manager at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

On behalf of the entire staff, thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and its surroundings as we do. This hotel is a very special place...even after standing for 104 years. Doorman Shawn is awesome as many of our staff and it didn't surprise me that Shawn made those three trips. We look forward to your return. Happy Holidays. Barbara McMahon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews