We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Ranked #17 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I were in town for a wedding but it was also a Steelers home game weekend so it was clear the hotel was at or near capacity. Our room was a regular king room which was easy to get around, had a fairly large bathroom, and had a desk, chair with ottoman, room safe, and typical amenities. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The hotel bar on the first floor, which is not large, was consistenty packed, however, there is a neighborhood bar two doors down, Doubledays, which was friendly, had a great beer selection and had good food (and excellent wings with some nice sauces-garlic and parmesan were very tasty). The Renaissance has a nice restaurant for Sunday brunch/breakfast buffet/omelet station (note: Pittsburgh blue laws prohibit mimosas/alcohol sales before 11 AM). Although the lobby, bar, restaurant, and hotel were packed, the hotel staff remained friendly, responsive, and good-natured throughout the weekend even though things got hectic and crowded. Really a nice experience at a well-run hotel. As far as getting a feel for Pittsburgh turn of the 19th century opulence/architecture, the lobby cannot be beat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JupiterFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,033 - 1,039 of 1,491 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

Originally from Pittsburgh, we always stay at the Renaissance when we go back to visit 2 or 3 times/year, often using Platinum Reward points. To stay in the Renaissance Pittsburgh is to enjoy a taste of the well-to-do Pittsburgh of yesteryear. Located in the historic Fulton Building, the hotel immediately wows its guests by the splendor of its soaring lobby with its gorgeous marble double staircase. The service is first-class, and one is warmly welcomed and always addressed with a large smile.

Our most recent stay was October 10, 2012. This time we stayed in Room 814, which is a smallish room with angled walls and a king-size bed. This is perhaps the smallest room we’ve ever stayed in here. The side of the hotel with river view is in a U-shape, and this room was located in the lower left corner of the “U,” which is probably why it has angled walls. Room 814 is a relatively dark room due to its shaded location and very dim lighting. The only working lights were the one desk lamp on the far side of the room and 2 very dim (~25W or less) bed lamps. The floor lamp was not working at all. This time it was because of a bulb that had not been replaced, but we’ve also had a room (1218) where the floor lamp was actually broken in two. We never realize these lamp problems until we get back late to our room, but it seems to be an on-going problem here. My advice is to try all the lights as soon as you check in and report any problem immediately so that you will have some light when you return from dinner.

Room 814 has a view of the river and, if you crane your neck, a partial view of the 6th Street (Roberto Clemente) Bridge. This is not the spectacular river view of some of the other rooms we have had here. Most notably, room 622, where we stayed in November 2011, is located at the top of the “U,” and with two walls of windows, it has an extraordinary view of the river, bridges, the stadiums and the North Shore. We’ve also recently stayed in Room 1218 (April 2012), which is a small room, with obstructed view of the river, a bed that was too small for two people, and a broken floor lamp. Once we were upgraded to a huge suite (August 2010), which was so enormous, that we could have had a party for 50 people there. It had a separate bedroom, large living room/party room, kitchenette & 2 bathrooms.

The décor in this hotel is rather old-style, which reminds me of the downtown Pittsburgh hotels of the 1960’s. Sadly, the furniture and style are a bit worn now, as you can see from the photos, and the hotel rooms are in need of some renovation and new upholstery. However, the beds are very up to date & extremely comfortable. (We happened to be there in April 2012 when they were delivering a truckload of new mattresses).

Although we’ve stayed here numerous times since 2006, it was always on a weekend, when the Executive Lounge is closed. This was the first time we got to see the Executive Lounge in this hotel. I think it is what the Executive Lounge concept was originally meant to be: a convenient respite for a select few clients to relax after a long day, have a cocktail (not complimentary here) in peace & quiet, print a boarding pass, catch some news headlines, have a little snack and have a quick breakfast in the morning. Compared to other Marriott lounges we have visited, this lounge was very small with minimal service – a small breakfast in the morning and cheese & crackers and jars of candy in the evening. After experiencing the elegant spreads in other Marriotts in the US & abroad, this one is disappointing.

There is a restaurant in the hotel, which we have never tried, and a bar, Braddock’s, which we have tried, if only for a drink. We used to stay in the hotel to have a drink, but since they have “redecorated” it, we now go to the nearby Fairmont for our cocktails. We just don’t like the lobby atmosphere here anymore. We can’t stand to sit under the harsh, funky, purplish lighting and in the uncomfortable sofas of the lobby. And, the very casual, “down home” Braddock’s attached to this beautiful, soaring marble lobby just seems out of place.

The hotel is in a superb location, not only for its view, but also for its easy accessibility to all of Downtown and the North Shore. One can easily walk to the Convention Center, Heinz Hall, Benedum Center, O’Reilly Theatre, Market Square, PPG Place, Gateway Center, all the Downtown businesses and shopping, the Pirate and Steelers Ballparks across the Sixth Street Bridge, and the Andy Warhol Museum (across the 7th St. Bridge). There are lots of good restaurants within walking distance, too, including Sonoma Grille, Nine on Nine, Meat and Potatoes Gastropub, La Cucina Flegrea, to name a few).

I’m attaching photos not only of this stay in Room 814, but also of the suite we have stayed in. Although my review may sound as though this is an average hotel, I'm giving it a 4-star for its spacious rooms with high ceilings, its great location, and its fabulous view if you are lucky enough to snatch a room with a great view. But I do hope they will start updating the rooms soon. Maybe they should start by replacing those floor lamps that never work.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an unobstructed river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Souris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Went for one night for a girls weekend. Room was nice and big i think, very high ceilings, comfy beds and nice size bathrooms with Aveda! Only thing that was kind of a pain is finding a plug! They are only on the lamps. The view for our room was pretty good...you can see that steelers stadium but GO BROWNS! Sort cab ride to casino. We actually walked to the strip area also.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nmeoct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Only an overnighter but room was good size (high ceilings for my tall husband) comfy beds, good size work desk and side window could see the river (think it would be great with a full view of the river). Quiet. Halls a little too bright at night (glaring under the doors). Bathrooms spacious and sink a good height (we are both tall and usually have to lean over too much to do teeth, makeup, shave etc) Halls a little run down. Burgers at the bar were great. Overall, pleasant, central location - nothing extraordinary.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thequiettraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My original title was: Not worth the money, with a poor rating. The Hotel General Manager responded to my review and asked me to call so she could hear about our service. She was very interested and really wanted to hear details of what had happened to us. I was very impressed with her commitment to service and wanting to change the things she could. I would definitely go back and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
Thank C1S2B3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Renaissance is the best hotel in Pittsburgh. We always have a great time when we stay here as the staff goes out of their to ensure we have an memorable stay. Our visit last weekend did not disappoint. Our room was large, comfortable and very clean. The view from the upper floors (we were on floor 11) overlooking the river and the ballpark is amazing. I can't say enough about the Renaissance. In addition the location is great. Many bars and restaurants in walking distance although it is hard to beat the restaurant in the hotel - great food.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a great hotel. The rooms are spacious and very nice. The staff was excellent. The location is perfect to many events and city places. If you are planning to see and event at PNC Park or Heinz Field this is an excellent location to spend the night. It is also convenient to the Casino.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.4 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 72 in Pittsburgh
4,263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#6 of 72 in Pittsburgh
852 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel

Address: 107 6th St, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#9 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $194 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel in Pittsburgh, PA is an inspirational landmark, a bold fusion of classic and contemporary, where stunning architecture meets sleek, modern design. Located in the heart of the vibrant Cultural District and as one of the most historic hotels in downtown Pittsburgh, the Renaissance is housed in the iconic Fulton Building and exudes the urban sophistication of this cosmopolitan creative hub. Centrally located, the Renaissance Pittsburgh hotel is close to PNC Park, Heinz Field, the Consol Energy Center and the David L. Lawrence Convention Center, making it the ideal locale for seeing the best of what our exciting city has to offer. Exceptional works by celebrated local artists lend the space artistic flair, while light spills in through the stunning glass dome ceiling into the lobby below. From the start, the Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel promises to be unforgettable. Discover one of the only luxury four-star hotels in downtown Pittsburgh. The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel combines artistic elegance and hip style with luxurious Pittsburgh accommodations and an excellent location, creating a hotel experience unlike any other in the Steel City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pittsburgh Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing