We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southside Breakfast”
Review of Nadine's

Nadine's
Ranked #494 of 2,178 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Cuisines: American
Neighborhood: Southside Flats
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Southside Flats
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Southside Breakfast”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We've had breakfast here on about 4 visits to the Southside of Pittsburgh. Local bar with more than bar food. I find the breakfast food to be very good. I've had the Mixed Grill, eggs, home fries, sausage, plus anything else that's handy. Eggs are moist, but not runny. We've always been treated as well as the regulars with lots of good conversation.Only downside I've seen is smoking allowed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveDeb76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Saw this on Food Network - Didn't live up to the hype”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Saw this on Food Network's Guy Fieri show D,D, & D. Made it a point to visit, and went on a Sunday late morning for breakfast. Got seated at the one table in the back. Most of the other tables are bar height with tall chairs, as well as bar seating. It's basically a bar that serves food, and even cooks the food right there behind the bar. The service was really slow - but they only had 1 bartender who also took orders from tables, along with the guy who was doing the cooking (2 people working).

The server/bartender was nice & pleasant - however tried getting his attention for 10+ minutes of watching him chat with regulars and had to get up and ask him for our check.

Decent bloody mary. Our waters came out in a clear glass with one huge bug in my wife's. He replaced it promptly but probably should've nocied it before handing it over to a customer.

Mac & Cheese bites are tasty, food was overall pretty good & solid. Nothing exceptional though which is why I'm giving it an average rating. Stop by if you're walking past, but don't go too far out of your way to get here.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TomStax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“No Children allowed”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We never did get to go in, but if you are travelling with kids, ski p this spot. We ended up having to grab something at Double Wide, around the corner instead.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Laramom23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phelps, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cheap Beer and Great Food”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Hubby and I got appetizers, he got provolone sticks and I got jalepeno poppers. I purchased Na's Pasta, yummy. Was afraid it was going to be too spicy. It was perfect.

Hubby got the Roast Beef dinner. Both meals came w bread. And that was so soft. Unbelievable.

Parking is a little tight there. But entering into the bar, it was worth it.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wd2stk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading, pa
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“One of Guy's DDD destinations - it was delicious !!”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We sought out this little corner bar to experience the homemade right at the bar cooking. We all ordered the roast beef and mashed taters and it was great ! Nadines son was our server and he welcomed us like old friends. The place is tiny so if you go, go at an off peak time. We enjoyed our meal and wished we would have tried the fried bologna sandwich.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank initfrfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nadine's also viewed

 

Been to Nadine's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing