We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mostly a kids place”

Carnegie Museum of Natural History
Ranked #4 of 166 things to do in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Carnegie Museum of Natural History is the place for kids to discover science and the wonders of the natural world. Dig for bones in Bonehunters Quarry, get hands-on with real and replica specimens in Discovery Basecamp, grind corn in a Hopi home, and more. Dinosaurs are just the beginning! Free family-activities, touchables, and Bonehunters Quarry available each weekend and weekdays during the summer.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mostly a kids place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband & I went there when we were visiting Pittsburgh for a concert. Fee is kinda pricy for what it is. They have good exhibits, but it seems small.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ae_valadez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    889
    258
    45
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Job”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Worked at the Carnegie Museum in the personal marketing department. The nicest people work at the Carnegie Museum.
Love the Natural History. Great design! Kids enjoyed their visits there!

Helpful?
Thank Lorie1000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What they have is nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I'm spoiled by living near the Natural History Museum in NYC. This museum in Pittsburgh is very nice and well-maintained, for the exhibits that they have. It's like a sampling of what I'm used to seeing in NY.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank markrsmith83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth the money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Being history buffs, my husband and I were most interested in the U.S.S Requin submarine which is docked outside the museum. You do have the option to see just the submarine or view the entire museum for a minimal price. The submarine is a must see if you are interested in World War history or anything naval.

This is an excellent place for kids and adults alike. I would recommend it to anyone with children between 7-13. There's plenty to keep them interested and easily combines science and fun; the dinosaurs and gems are the chief attractions here. Phototgraphy is prohibited in certain places, like the Gem Room.

There are several options for a quick lunch as well. Make sure you have about 3-4 hours at least if you wish to tour the whole museum.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RSusanE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“We had a horrible experience here at my son's wedding”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have been here many times for events in the hall of music and it is a beautiful venue. However, at my sons wedding reception which was held here in May 2013, we had a horrible experience. After the cocktails, which were held on the second floor balcony, guests were asked to move to the main floor for dinner. The elevators gave out and our disabled guests (4 people in wheelchairs) were trapped upstairs. So while all of the other guests could enjoy dinner with the bridal party, these 4 individuals were trapped. Further, the catering company that you must use for events here, had no plan in place for such a situation other than to call an elevator repair company- they even told us it "wasn't their problem, this is a really old building." By the time someone finally showed up to get it fixed, dinner was over and our guests had been relegated to the peanut gallery and humiliated in the process. It ruined the event for me, the mother of the groom, as I was worried about our guests and couldn't enjoy the event. It was a fire and safety hazard and I will never go here again and will recommend to everyone I know that they don't have events here either.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank rosemgab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnegie Museum of Natural History also viewed

 

Been to Carnegie Museum of Natural History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing