We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport
Ranked #43 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Middletown, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Location, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We went to Pittsburgh at the last minute and my son in law got us rooms here with his business travel points. I had never stayed at a Holiday Inn Express but I was familiar with the property because I had stayed here 5 or more years ago when it was a Country Inn and Suites. It was OK then, nothing special and we were only staying one night so we went for it.

This is an older hotel but it is clean and the staff friendly and helpful. Check in was fast...just a few minutes. Our room did not have a balcony but we faced the swimming pool. The room was fairly large. The beds were comfortable and the hotel was very quiet.

Breakfast was the standard free food but it was well stocked and there was plenty of comfortable seating. The cinnamon rolls were great! We sat out by the pool, which is a very nice area, and a staff member came by several times asking if they could get us anything and cleaning up our table. The was very nice to have pool side service...

The hotel is minutes from the airport and there is tons of shopping and restaurants nearby. The city of Pittsburgh is only 15 minutes and the parkway to Pittsburgh is very close.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmason54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    90
    61
    11
    10
See reviews for
76
57
23
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tipton, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

After our flight was cancelled 5 times in one day we decided to stay at the Holiday Inn in Moon near the airport. We did park and fly. After we explained our day we received complimetary hot tea to our room. Also, complimentary appetizers in the grill. Everyone was very nice. They helped us print new boarding passes and itinary for the next day. Thanks to all that made our stay so nice.

Room Tip: Definately a great to stay night before early flights. Let them shuttle you to airport and you do no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auntebetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redavis616, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Auntebetz:

Wow, thank you for the great comments. I will share them with all the staff, they will be very happy to know their hard work is appreciated. We hope to see you back real soon but not because your flight was cancelled five times.

Sincerely,

Ralph
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

we flew into Pittsburgh for a quick break over the memorial day weekend. we stayed the first night at the Holiday Inn express hotel/suites @ the airport. The free airport shuttle took us to the hotel after a quick call. the hotel is about 10 minutes away from the airport, so no airport noises. it is an older property, but was nicely set up and the staff was very friendly. our room faced the outdoor pool. it was a decent room. very quiet and got a nice rest. the gym was very spacious for a Holiday Inn Express and breakfast was good as usual. I would stay here again if visiting Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redavis616, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Abthwong:

Thank your for the great review. We hope to see you back real soon. I will forard your comments to all staff. It is reviews like yours that make all the hard work and training worthwhile.

Sincerley,

Ralph
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning,NY
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while visiting the Zoo for the weekend. We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful! The rooms were spacious, and had a balcony that overlooked the pool. This hotel seems like it is a little bit older, but we had no complaints. Would stay here again! Very close to several shopping centers and tons of restaurants!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmberLynn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redavis616, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear AmberLynn01:

We would like to Thank You for your comments. We do our best here to make every Guest feel at Home. It is a Joy when receive a review like yours. We will pass this along to all our Staff and we hope to see you back here real soon.

Sincerely,

Ralph
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Staff was very good, however, it is close to the intersate and can be very noisey. rooms were OK, clean and good sized. It's an old hotel, probably a remodeled old holiday inn. Fair price and close to airport. I had 2 issues with this hotel. One, they have music pumped into the lobby and breakfast area, very distracting when trying to do business there. Also, it seems most every person there is a smoker, so every time you walk outside you must push through several smokers. Every entrance I used had a smoker about 2 feet outside the door? The outdoor terraced rooms also seemed to have someone smoking on every other one, so you couldn't enjoy this area either. The pool area has a nice covered gazebo, but again, it's covered with ashtrays.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Midwestbiztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redavis616, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Midwestbiztraveler;

Thank you for your comments and suggestions. We have turned down the music in the Breakfast Area. When you return, if it is too loud our Front Desk Personnel have the ability to turn it down. As for the smokers, there is not a whole lot we can do about that. We are a non smoking hotel but guests are permitted to smoke in the outside areas. Looking for another place your suggestion but I assure all Hotels in the area permit guests to smoke outside. We apologize for any inconvenience this caused you and hope you will return to our Hotel.

Best Regards

Ralph

DOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, MA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We arrived late and were tired. The front desk staff was very welcoming and friendly. Our two room suite was large and the beds were very comfortable. Everything was clean and well maintained. Breakfast was good--served in pleasant and sizable dining area near the lobby. The employees working at the self-serve buffet were very helpful and nice and would get you anything you needed. The only issue we had was that our shower was cold. I managed to shiver my way through a shower, then called the front desk. They apologized and said it was a plumbing issue and offered to take 25% off the room, which I thought was very generous. Later, before we were checking out, they called back and offered to comp the room. This was over-the-top customer service, so I have come here to commend the hotel management for that, and to recommend this hotel to Pittsburgh airport travelers. Keep in mind this is a 5 star review of a three star hotel...don't expect luxury, just a comfortable, clean place to stay with a good breakfast and great service.

Room Tip: Two room suites are great for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iwanttogetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redavis616, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear iwanttogetaway:
Thank you for your kind comments on our Hotel and Staff. We will see to it that all associates see your comments. We apologize for the cold shower but judging from your comments our associates took the right steps to help you with the problem. We hope to see you back real soon.
Sincerely,
Ralph
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I had low expectations because of the reviews saying it needed renovation. Yes, it is getting a little old, but it is acceptable, especially for the price I paid. I was able to get a room with a seperate bedroom. I don't think they all have separate bedrooms so ask for one. It might cost you a little more though.

It had two 42" (approx.) TV's, one in the living room and one in the bedroom. It also had a microwave, mini-fridge, and coffee maker. The countertops (granite) and faucets looked new and were nice. The closet was big with a mirror on the outside. The service was excellent. My iron wasn't spraying too much water so they gave me a brand new one that worked good.

The only negative I can think of is the chair they have in the room makes you sit at a 90 degree angle rather than reclining. With the air heater fan not engaged, you can hear trucks pass by the room on the nearby highway (not all cars, just the loud trucks). You can probably correct this by getting an even numbered room which are the rooms facing the pool and courtyard in the middle of the building. Those rooms also have a balcony that looks over the pool area. Not bad.

Free breakfast. They have a pancake maker, eggs, biscuits (sometimes sausage gravy), bacon or sausage, juice, cereal, milk, and Dannon yogurt. Eggs and pancakes aren't that great but overall for free not bad.

Compare prices with the nearby Courtyard by Marriott and the Hyatt Place. If the Holiday Inn is cheaper, stay there. Because of the excellent price I got, I'm giving it a 5. If the cost was the same as the two nearby newer hotels the rating would fall.

Room Tip: Get an even numbered room on floor 2 or 3 and you will have a balcony overlooking the pool (located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Climb_Big_Bend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redavis616, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Climb_Big_Bend:

Thank your for thje great comments about our Property. We are very Happy you enjoyed your stay and will be returning. We are excited to advise you that our Owners have committed to Renovating the Hotel in the near future. We hope you will come back to see the renovations.

Sincerely,

Ralph

Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsburgh
Coraopolis
Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport
Address: 5311 Campbells Run Rd, Pittsburgh, PA 15205-9739 (Formerly Country Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new completely renovated Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport, situated just seven miles from the Pittsburgh International Airport (PIT), provides a complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport along with several other comfortable amenities. With easy access to numerous popular Pittsburgh attractions, our hotel near the Pittsburgh International Airport (PIT) is the perfect place to stay during your next family vacation to Pittsburgh, PA. Enjoy a sports game at Heinz Field, PNC Park or Consol Energy Center, explore animal life at the Pittsburgh Zoo or visit friends at Carnegie Mellon and the University of Pittsburgh. Also close by is the Pittsburgh Botanical Garden and Settlers Ridge Park. Business travelers will be impressed with our superb Pittsburgh hotel accommodations. Along with a convenient location near several major businesses such as Bayer Corporation, FedEx Ground and the US Postal Service, our Pittsburgh Airport hotel offers three conference rooms with more than 1,000 sq ft of flexible hotel meeting space, as well as a business center complete with printer, fax and copier services. During your Pittsburgh vacation, take advantage of our great hotel amenities such as complimentary, hotel-wide wireless Internet access, an outdoor pool and our free hot breakfast bar served daily. Book your reservations now and enjoy our excellent Pittsburgh hotel deals and rates. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh Airport participates in the IHG Green Engage program. We know sustainability is as important to you as it is to us - that's why we've made it easy for you to choose a hotel that shares your values. When you stay at an IHG Green Engage hotel, you become part of our worldwide effort to protect our environment. What is The IHG Green Engage system? The IHG Green Engage system is an online tool that gives our hotels the means to measure their day-to-day environmental impact. Hotels signed up to the system can track how much energy, carbon and water they're using and how well they're managing waste. At the same time they can choose from over 200 activities designed to help them use fewer resources, improve their carbon footprint and reduce their water use. We created The IHG Green Engage system to help us design, build and run greener hotels. Every time you stay at an IHG Green Engage hotel you're boosting our efforts. How can you make a difference by choosing an IHG Green Engage hotel? We're one of the world's largest hotel companies which means every single thing we do can add up to a big difference, from smart design and carefully selected lighting to bio-friendly cleaning materials. By choosing an IHG Green Engage hotel you're helping too. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Pittsburgh Airport
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh
Holiday Inn Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing