We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport
Ranked #46 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while visiting the Zoo for the weekend. We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful! The rooms were spacious, and had a balcony that overlooked the pool. This hotel seems like it is a little bit older, but we had no complaints. Would stay here again! Very close to several shopping centers and tons of restaurants!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmberLynn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redavis616, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear AmberLynn01:

We would like to Thank You for your comments. We do our best here to make every Guest feel at Home. It is a Joy when receive a review like yours. We will pass this along to all our Staff and we hope to see you back here real soon.

Sincerely,

Ralph
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 277 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

Staff was very good, however, it is close to the intersate and can be very noisey. rooms were OK, clean and good sized. It's an old hotel, probably a remodeled old holiday inn. Fair price and close to airport. I had 2 issues with this hotel. One, they have music pumped into the lobby and breakfast area, very distracting when trying to do business there. Also, it seems most every person there is a smoker, so every time you walk outside you must push through several smokers. Every entrance I used had a smoker about 2 feet outside the door? The outdoor terraced rooms also seemed to have someone smoking on every other one, so you couldn't enjoy this area either. The pool area has a nice covered gazebo, but again, it's covered with ashtrays.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Midwestbiztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redavis616, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Midwestbiztraveler;

Thank you for your comments and suggestions. We have turned down the music in the Breakfast Area. When you return, if it is too loud our Front Desk Personnel have the ability to turn it down. As for the smokers, there is not a whole lot we can do about that. We are a non smoking hotel but guests are permitted to smoke in the outside areas. Looking for another place your suggestion but I assure all Hotels in the area permit guests to smoke outside. We apologize for any inconvenience this caused you and hope you will return to our Hotel.

Best Regards

Ralph

DOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We arrived late and were tired. The front desk staff was very welcoming and friendly. Our two room suite was large and the beds were very comfortable. Everything was clean and well maintained. Breakfast was good--served in pleasant and sizable dining area near the lobby. The employees working at the self-serve buffet were very helpful and nice and would get you anything you needed. The only issue we had was that our shower was cold. I managed to shiver my way through a shower, then called the front desk. They apologized and said it was a plumbing issue and offered to take 25% off the room, which I thought was very generous. Later, before we were checking out, they called back and offered to comp the room. This was over-the-top customer service, so I have come here to commend the hotel management for that, and to recommend this hotel to Pittsburgh airport travelers. Keep in mind this is a 5 star review of a three star hotel...don't expect luxury, just a comfortable, clean place to stay with a good breakfast and great service.

Room Tip: Two room suites are great for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iwanttogetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redavis616, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear iwanttogetaway:
Thank you for your kind comments on our Hotel and Staff. We will see to it that all associates see your comments. We apologize for the cold shower but judging from your comments our associates took the right steps to help you with the problem. We hope to see you back real soon.
Sincerely,
Ralph
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I had low expectations because of the reviews saying it needed renovation. Yes, it is getting a little old, but it is acceptable, especially for the price I paid. I was able to get a room with a seperate bedroom. I don't think they all have separate bedrooms so ask for one. It might cost you a little more though.

It had two 42" (approx.) TV's, one in the living room and one in the bedroom. It also had a microwave, mini-fridge, and coffee maker. The countertops (granite) and faucets looked new and were nice. The closet was big with a mirror on the outside. The service was excellent. My iron wasn't spraying too much water so they gave me a brand new one that worked good.

The only negative I can think of is the chair they have in the room makes you sit at a 90 degree angle rather than reclining. With the air heater fan not engaged, you can hear trucks pass by the room on the nearby highway (not all cars, just the loud trucks). You can probably correct this by getting an even numbered room which are the rooms facing the pool and courtyard in the middle of the building. Those rooms also have a balcony that looks over the pool area. Not bad.

Free breakfast. They have a pancake maker, eggs, biscuits (sometimes sausage gravy), bacon or sausage, juice, cereal, milk, and Dannon yogurt. Eggs and pancakes aren't that great but overall for free not bad.

Compare prices with the nearby Courtyard by Marriott and the Hyatt Place. If the Holiday Inn is cheaper, stay there. Because of the excellent price I got, I'm giving it a 5. If the cost was the same as the two nearby newer hotels the rating would fall.

Room Tip: Get an even numbered room on floor 2 or 3 and you will have a balcony overlooking the pool (located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Climb_Big_Bend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redavis616, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Climb_Big_Bend:

Thank your for thje great comments about our Property. We are very Happy you enjoyed your stay and will be returning. We are excited to advise you that our Owners have committed to Renovating the Hotel in the near future. We hope you will come back to see the renovations.

Sincerely,

Ralph

Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

If you need to stay near the airport in PIttsburgh, this place will do fine. It's a typical Holiday Inn, a bit tired (or maybe retro!), but clean and a good value. The room was pretty big, definitely more than what you'd get for the price in the city, the bed was very comfortable, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I got picked up and dropped off at the airport by their fun shuttle service, this is a nice bonus. It's still about a ten to fifteen minute drive from the airport, but the shuttle runs from 4 am until midnight (or perhaps more), so it's perfect for anyone who needs to sleep while flying in or out.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thanks for the nice comments regarding our hotel and especially our staff. The hotel is due for a total renovation at the end of the year.

We hope that the next time your are flying out of the Pgh International Airport you would consider us again,

Thanks for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Dave Hutchison
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to Myrtle Beach. It was a spacious suite that we stayed in. The lobby is also very well kept. Staff were excellent. We had a need of a minor maintenance issue and it was taken care of quickly. The suite floor did slope quite significantly. The room was clean but the beds were in need of replacement mattresses - crazy squishy and bouncy. I'd like to see what the place looks like post-reno. Close to restaurants and highway (noisy road sound for sure plus planes but what do you expect from an airport location).

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear, Friar John,

We sure do appriciate you and your family staying prior to going to Myrtle Beach. Thanks for the nice comments about the staff. I agree we do need TLC we are working with our owner and hopefully by the end of the year we will be getting a major renovation.

Thanks for taking the time to complete the survey from "Trip Advisor"

Sincerely,
Dave Hutchison
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel needs a major overhaul. Road noise is ridiculous and stink bugs are common in the hotel and rooms. Old and creepy and not really safe for a woman traveling alone based on the configuration of rooms/parking/balconies.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, stay on 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redavis616, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Dawn:

Thank you for your comments and suggestions for the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Pittsburgh Airport. I will pass them along to the appropriate Managers. We apologize for your unpleasant experience. I am excited to tell you we have a renovation tentatively scheduled for the latter part of the year. Regarding the "Stink Bugs" they are very common in the area and we do our best to keep them out. It is a problem with most of the Hotels and Homes in the Pittsburgh area; they are harmless but a nuisance. We have a year round pest maintenance program with a reputable pest control company where all rooms in the Hotel are treated each year. Safety has never been an issue here; the Robinson Township Police Department is right down the street and patrols the area on a regular basis. If there was a problem with noise in the room, please call the front desk and our Customer Service Representative will be glad to move you. We hope you consider coming back to our property. I also want to thank you for being a Priority Club Member and please give me a call at 412-788-8400 to see if there is anything else we can do to address your concerns.

Sincerely,
Ralph Davis
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coraopolis
Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport

Address: 5311 Campbells Run Rd, Pittsburgh, PA 15205-9739 (Formerly Country Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $99 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new completely renovated Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport, situated just seven miles from the Pittsburgh International Airport (PIT), provides a complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport along with several other comfortable amenities. With easy access to numerous popular Pittsburgh attractions, our hotel near the Pittsburgh International Airport (PIT) is the perfect place to stay during your next family vacation to Pittsburgh, PA. Enjoy a sports game at Heinz Field, PNC Park or Consol Energy Center, explore animal life at the Pittsburgh Zoo or visit friends at Carnegie Mellon and the University of Pittsburgh. Also close by is the Pittsburgh Botanical Garden and Settlers Ridge Park. Business travelers will be impressed with our superb Pittsburgh hotel accommodations. Along with a convenient location near several major businesses such as Bayer Corporation, FedEx Ground and the US Postal Service, our Pittsburgh Airport hotel offers three conference rooms with more than 1,000 sq ft of flexible hotel meeting space, as well as a business center complete with printer, fax and copier services. During your Pittsburgh vacation, take advantage of our great hotel amenities such as complimentary, hotel-wide wireless Internet access, an outdoor pool and our free hot breakfast bar served daily. Book your reservations now and enjoy our excellent Pittsburgh hotel deals and rates. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh Airport participates in the IHG Green Engage program. We know sustainability is as important to you as it is to us - that's why we've made it easy for you to choose a hotel that shares your values. When you stay at an IHG Green Engage hotel, you become part of our worldwide effort to protect our environment. What is The IHG Green Engage system? The IHG Green Engage system is an online tool that gives our hotels the means to measure their day-to-day environmental impact. Hotels signed up to the system can track how much energy, carbon and water they're using and how well they're managing waste. At the same time they can choose from over 200 activities designed to help them use fewer resources, improve their carbon footprint and reduce their water use. We created The IHG Green Engage system to help us design, build and run greener hotels. Every time you stay at an IHG Green Engage hotel you're boosting our efforts. How can you make a difference by choosing an IHG Green Engage hotel? We're one of the world's largest hotel companies which means every single thing we do can add up to a big difference, from smart design and carefully selected lighting to bio-friendly cleaning materials. By choosing an IHG Green Engage hotel you're helping too. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Pittsburgh Airport
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh
Holiday Inn Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing