We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for the money, good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport
Ranked #42 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great value for the money, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2008

My wife and I needed an inexpensive hotel for a weekend trip to Pittsburgh. Everything downtown was a bit too expensive for our tastes, so we found this hotel through Tripadvisor. It's in a great location, right off the freeway, about 10-15 minutes from downtown (depending on traffic). We found the hotel to be exceptionally clean, though our hallway did have the slight odor of cigarettes (Pennsylvania doesn't have a nonsmoking law like Ohio). However, our room did not have any cigarette odor in the slightest. The room was very clean, and very nice. The bathroom had a good layout, with a nice sink with built-in shelves underneath, perfect for us to put our toiletry kits on. We chose the "executive room" with the king-sized bed, and the mattress and pillows were very comfortable. We also liked having the fridge and microwave (very handy when we came back with ethnic goodies from Pittsburgh's Strip District). The hotel was also very quiet. I didn't hear traffic from the nearby freeway, planes from the nearby airport, or even people walking in the hallway! In the morning, the complementary breakfast was nice and easy; we had a choice of cereals, toast, bagels, donuts, cinnamon rolls, and sausage/cheese biscuit sandwiches.

All in all, we were quite satisifed, and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — exceptional value for the price and excellent location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redbeard1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    82
    60
    8
    9
See reviews for
69
54
21
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2007

I flew into Pittsburgh with a friend to see the St. Louis Cardinals play the Pittsburgh Pirates at PNC Park. Since it was a very quick trip, staying near the airport was not a problem. As a bonus, this hotel is actually on the way from the airport to downtown.

The hotel offers a free shuttle to and from the airport and then if you are going downtown and are not renting a car, a cab is about $20 each way into town. Since we were here only for one night, that was the best option for us. I would recommend either staying in town or renting a car if you are staying longer.

We arrived at the hotel early in the evening and were in a rush as we did not make it into Pittsburgh as early as we had planned. Check in was very fast, which was very much appreciated.

The room was very nice and it was a good size. It was very clean, as was the bathroom. The bathroom was pretty big. We had a view of the pool area, but the pool was closed already for the fall and winter. The beds were very comfortable and the pillows were not bad. They also had a choice of pillows in the room. The air conditioning worked great. When we returned to the hotel we asked for a wake up call and asked about the shuttle service and were advised that it starts running at 6am through midnight. This was a surprise as it was not stated on the Holiday Inn website where I booked the reservation. We had a 6 am flight and needed to leave for the airport earlier. I mentioned that the website did not specify times of the shuttle and they offered to pay for a cab because of this. I was impressed because they resolved the problem quickly. Also, while we had to wait for the cab to PNC park the night before, the cab was waiting for us at exactly the time we requested.

Check out was as quick as check in. Overall I was impressed with the service at the hotel and the employees. I would definitely stay here again for a quick overnight trip, but if staying longer would prefer to stay in town.

  • Liked — Friendly service
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JetsetTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2007

Found a great deal on a two-room suite for just 5,000 points per night, and it was a great bargain.
The hotel is freshly rennovated, room was clean and spacious, friendly and helpful staff, plenty of shopping and dining nearby, etc.
The pool area was nice, and the grills helped us feel more at home with an afternoon bbq while stuck in town for business during Labor Day.
It's only about 15 minutes to Heinz field, so this would be a great place to stay for a Steelers game or Pitt home game. There's not much parking space for oversized vehicles, but the place was mostly empty during out stay, so there was ample room.
Only real negative is lack of TV channels.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Joker42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2007

I had a very positive experience at this hotel. This hotel has recently been renovated and the results are noteworthy. The hotel staff is very customer service friendly and by the second day, I was greeted by name. I stayed in a Double Queen suite for 3 nights. The room is extremely spacious with a wall separating the bedroom area from the living room area. The living room area consisted of a sofa, chair, work desk area, tv, fridge, microwave, coffee pot and sink area. The bedroom had a tv as well. Channel options are limited but the basics are there. The bathroom had the toilet and shower/tub in one area, and the vanity sink was outside of the door. Shower pressure was good and the shower head had 3 setting options. The room was spotless, felt very clean and comfortable. The maid service did not once knock on the door when the do not disturb sign was posted, and most mornings I did not depart until around Noon, so I was able to get the sleep and privacy I needed without interruption. However, each evening when I returned, the room was once again spotless, with the beds made and everything restocked. I commend the hotel on this, as each time I returned to the room it felt as if I was checking in for the first time into a fresh room. The beds and the linens on the beds were like sleeping on a bed of clouds. I know everyone has different preferences when it comes to bed comfort, but these beds were very comfortable. They even had pillows marked “firm” or “soft” so you could use the one more appropriate to your taste. The hotel has free high speed internet in the room and I never encountered any connection problems. I also observed other guests using the wireless access in the lobby area. The hotel offers complimentary continental breakfast in the mornings. The food service area was very clean and open with a nice presentation. Food options were simple but adequate to give you a jump start in the morning. Options included hot cinnamon rolls, muffins, boiled eggs, oatmeal packets, cereal, tea, & coffee. The dining area is really nice with a fireplace, tv, sitting area and business center all incorporated in the same area. Although I did not utilize the exercise room, pool, or sauna. I did inspect them all and these seemed very nice as well. The location of the hotel was ideal considering it was not located downtown. It only took about 10-15 minutes for me to get to any downtown location (with no traffic), as the hotel is right off of the highway. It sits primarily by itself so the area is very quiet, but at the same time the Robinson Mall is less than 5 min away, so you still have quick access to lots of shopping & restaurants. After seeing the locations of some of the other hotels I was considering during my trip planning, I am happy that I chose this Holiday Inn over the rest. I don’t have any serious negatives that would waiver my opinion of the hotel. A few things other travelers may want to know is that the bathroom had no venting, window, or fan, so airing out a steamy shower or bathroom smell aftermaths may take a little time. I had air freshener to help with this. Also, at one point there was a foul odor coming from the AC system in the bedroom, after inspecting the system there is a knob you can turn to close/open the vent to outside air. It was set to open, so after changing it to closed, the smell stopped and went away. Evidently something from the outside was coming in through the vent. A little common sense and awareness as a traveler allowed me figure out the problem without jumping to judge the hotel negatively and prevented an unwarranted complaint to the front desk. There was some slight confusion with regards to the use of priority club points when extending my stay, however the staff was diligent in their efforts with making sure the problem was solved and I encountered no problems when checking-out. This is a wonderful establishment, and I will definitely add this location to my Favorites list and be sure to return for any future trips to Pittsburgh. I commend the staff and management and only hope that they continue to keep up the good work.

  • Liked — The bed was so comfortable
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank hisinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2007

This Holiday Inn Express is in the line of the newly designed HIE"s that are going in across the country. They are pretty equal to Courtyard's in terms of room conveniences, and design. I really, really like this style venue. I especially like the fact that the room has accessible plugs for the iron, that there are both wireless internet available and a pullout Cat-5 cable on the desk, and that there is a real coffeemaker in the room. The hotels that are going to those horrible brew one cup devices are not on my return list--hate those babies.

This particular HIE is a straight shot from the airport (about 10 miles) and another 10 miles straight into Pittsburgh. Have no idea what traffic is like here, but it's easily accessible although a bit difficult to get to initially (not a simple exit and there's the hotel). The layout is very nice, the staff is professional, and I'm sure it's at least the standard HIE breakfast.

There is a mall with at least one excellent restaurant (Adria's) within a mile and a nice 14 screen movie theater. There is van service from the airport, but you do have to schedule it and they will run the van every 30 minutes when they have folks who need transport.

  • Liked — room, location and price
  • Disliked — ice machine two long hallways from my room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrystinP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2007

If you're coming into town to visit downtown Pittsburg, you might want to book into the South Side HIE; the traffic is miserable going into downtown during commuter hours. Otherwise, this is a wonderful place to stay, quick on and off Route 279, lots of shopping close by, attentive staff and very nice rooms, clean & well appointed. I travel a lot and this is one of the nicest HIEs I've been in. Only complaint, no little fridge.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nollysfolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingburg, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2006

My son and I were in for a Steelers game (they beat the Bucs) and I booked it on Priceline.com for $35 a night. What a bargain! The hotel is completely remodeled: new carpets, shower & bathroom tile, etc. I had a King size bed, non smoking.
They included a free Hot & cold breakfast. It was only about 10 minutes from Downtown and right behind Robinsons Towne Center Shopping area. The only issue I had was that the heat. I could only have it on low or high. I woke up sweating. Other than that, no complaints.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and value.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joeyjcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn  - Pittsburgh / Steubenville Pike
8.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh/Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Airport South / Robinson Township
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Airport/Robinson Township
5.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport
Address: 5311 Campbells Run Road, Pittsburgh, PA 15205 (Formerly Country Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new completely renovated Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport, situated just seven miles from the Pittsburgh International Airport (PIT), provides a complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport along with several other comfortable amenities. With easy access to numerous popular Pittsburgh attractions, our hotel near the Pittsburgh International Airport (PIT) is the perfect place to stay during your next family vacation to Pittsburgh, PA. Enjoy a sports game at Heinz Field, PNC Park or Consol Energy Center, explore animal life at the Pittsburgh Zoo or visit friends at Carnegie Mellon and the University of Pittsburgh. Also close by is the Pittsburgh Botanical Garden and Settlers Ridge Park. Business travelers will be impressed with our superb Pittsburgh hotel accommodations. Along with a convenient location near several major businesses such as Bayer Corporation, FedEx Ground and the US Postal Service, our Pittsburgh Airport hotel offers three conference rooms with more than 1,000 sq ft of flexible hotel meeting space, as well as a business center complete with printer, fax and copier services. During your Pittsburgh vacation, take advantage of our great hotel amenities such as complimentary, hotel-wide wireless Internet access, an outdoor pool and our free hot breakfast bar served daily. Book your reservations now and enjoy our excellent Pittsburgh hotel deals and rates. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh Airport participates in the IHG Green Engage program. We know sustainability is as important to you as it is to us - that's why we've made it easy for you to choose a hotel that shares your values. When you stay at an IHG Green Engage hotel, you become part of our worldwide effort to protect our environment. What is The IHG Green Engage system? The IHG Green Engage system is an online tool that gives our hotels the means to measure their day-to-day environmental impact. Hotels signed up to the system can track how much energy, carbon and water they're using and how well they're managing waste. At the same time they can choose from over 200 activities designed to help them use fewer resources, improve their carbon footprint and reduce their water use. We created The IHG Green Engage system to help us design, build and run greener hotels. Every time you stay at an IHG Green Engage hotel you're boosting our efforts. How can you make a difference by choosing an IHG Green Engage hotel? We're one of the world's largest hotel companies which means every single thing we do can add up to a big difference, from smart design and carefully selected lighting to bio-friendly cleaning materials. By choosing an IHG Green Engage hotel you're helping too. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Pittsburgh Airport
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh
Holiday Inn Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing