We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“worth visiting if into horticulture” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phipps Conservatory

Phipps Conservatory
700 Frank Curto Dr, Pittsburgh, PA 15213
412-622-6914
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 164 things to do in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“worth visiting if into horticulture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Best when the flower shows are there. Great light show outdoors in the winter. in the heart of Oakland.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank marksam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,415
    268
    38
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a lovely and quite large conservatory in Schenley Park. They have many interesting varieties of gardens including the typical tropical as well as an India Garden and butterfly garden. My favorite was the desert garden with some huge succulents. They also had a nice collection of Bonsai and an outdoor garden for kids. The conservatory is in the large Schenley Park, near U Pitt and CMU, it is a great location to just hang out or maybe bring a picnic lunch. Nice place!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rjs15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh,PA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have been to the Phipps Conservatory on multiple occasions and with family members as well as friends. No matter what season you go you will see beautiful and informative displays of flowers and plants. They have outdoor areas as well as indoor. Everyone who admires the natural beauty of plants and blooms should visit at least once.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pittsburgh_PATeach13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Party in the Tropics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Not only does Phipps Conservatory offer a respite from the challenges of life, it offers an immediate ZEN experience. I recently attended a "Party in the Tropics" event which I found out Phipps hosts on select Fridays during the year. Who new? And I've lived in Pittsburgh @2 miles from the conservatory for 30+ years.

Kathleen Kozak Meyer

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mtkkjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do not miss this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Gorgeous conservatory, with loads of character. Perfect for wandering, especially if you love plants and flowers, but even if that's not your passion. The buildings are worth seeing (one historic, the other new and "green"). Highly recommend the Phipps (so glad that a waitress recommended it when we asked her what we should see while in Pittsburgh)!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nadia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phipps Conservatory also viewed

 

Been to Phipps Conservatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing