We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a treat”

Phipps Conservatory
Ranked #2 of 161 things to do in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Having just visited for the spring flower show, I wondered why (as always!) I don't visit more often. Each room has its own charm from the orchid room to the desert room. The attention to detail in plantings is always impressive. The permanent Chihuly installations are amazing on their own from the massive chandelier in the entry to the others tucked in amongst the trees. A treat for all ages.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank youngerthanilook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,767
    323
    46
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful breath of spring”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I went there for a nice time out. We had lunch in the café, which is pricey, but very healthy! No blah, greasy, café food here. Many vegan options and organic stuff.
The self-guided tour is great. They were doing a "Secret Garden" theme while we were there. My favorite spot is the Fruit and Spice room.
The place smelled wonderful and gave us a nice foretaste of spring, since nature has delayed it around here.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing day and fabulous brunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Went for the Sunday brunch for my sisters birthday. The spring flowers were just gorgeous. The brunch and service were A++++. If you have an opportunity to go when they are having the Sunday brunch do so. You will not regret it. This place is sooooooo beautiful, educational and relaxing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mintyclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have been coming to Phipps since I was a little girl, and have always enjoyed it. Having visited other gardens in other cities, one of my favorite things about Phipps is that it is indoors. No matter what the weather outside, there is plenty to see and do and photograph inside. On nice days, the courtyards and outdoor gardens are just additional attractions to enjoy! Phipps does really well incorporating themes into their shows - like the Nutcracker theme for the 2011 Christmas show and the Chihuly show in 2007 (outstanding!). But they also make sure that the focus is always on the plants. Their growing commitment to green building and green practices is commendable and makes for an educational component to your visit. We currently live in Pittsburgh, and make sure that we take all out-of-town guests to Phipps when they visit. We've never heard anything short of "amazing!" when we're done. In fact, we thought that Phipps was so fantastic, we even got married there!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
108 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“STOP AND SMELL THE FLOWERS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

What a beautiful sanctuary. Phipps Conservatory is a wonderful place to spend the afternoon, just enjoying the beautiful flowers and exhibits!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank slmueser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phipps Conservatory also viewed

 

Been to Phipps Conservatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing