We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views of the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Duquesne Incline

Duquesne Incline
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Private Pittsburgh City Tour
Ranked #7 of 161 things to do in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scale Mount Washington in one of two original 1877 cable cars for a fun and unique ride and a breathtaking view of the Pittsburgh skyline when you reach the top of the 400-foot incline. Parking available across the street from our lower station at 1197 West Carson Street.
Woodstock, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful views of the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We went to the Duquesne Incline at night. The city looks awesome with all of the lights glistening on the rivers.You can see the three rivers from this incline.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,844 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,679
    884
    233
    35
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fun Feeling, Fabulous View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

If you're visiting PIttsburgh, going up (and down) the incline is definitely worth doing. The ride up in the historic trolley car is fun, and it's quite a long way up. At the top, there are old pictures and articles about the history of the incline going back to the 1800's. There's a lookout spot that affords a great view of the city, and the spot where the two rivers meet. Great for scenic pictures, and especially pretty at dusk. We didn't see much else to do up top, but we were happy with that. It costs $5 for the round trip, and you need to have exact change. There's free parking at the bottom. There aren't ay washroom facilities, so be prepared for that.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

The incline is an engineering marvel. The view from the top of the incline was great. The gift shop leaves a lot to be desired.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank knitaholicGTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“incline to see the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

not heated or air-conditioned but quick ride to see the city! great views! very inexpensive! must see

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Skip It”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

I can say the only thing good about my ride on the Duquesne Incline is that I was there with my daughters. On the Duquesne web site it stated parking was free. The mud covered lot with an outhouse was a $1. an hour. We each had a car and paid for two hours each, we didn't need an hour. The ticket staff was not pleasant. We got to the top of the incline, and there is a great view, but nothing else. Not even a restroom. We were hoping for shops but all we saw open on Saturday afternoon was a bar. Just drive up to Mount Washington or go to the Monongahela Incline.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cathyinwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duquesne Incline also viewed

 

Been to Duquesne Incline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing