We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's worth it for the view from the top! And the ride is fun, too.”
Review of Duquesne Incline

Duquesne Incline
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Private Pittsburgh City Tour
Ranked #7 of 173 things to do in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scale Mount Washington in one of two original 1877 cable cars for a fun and unique ride and a breathtaking view of the Pittsburgh skyline when you reach the top of the 400-foot incline. Parking available across the street from our lower station at 1197 West Carson Street.
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
205 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“It's worth it for the view from the top! And the ride is fun, too.”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This is a great opportunity to learn a little bit about the history of Pittsburgh and how people got to and from work. Riding the incline and imagining people having to walk up and down the hill each day is pretty incredible. It is a unique way to see a different view of the city.

Speaking of which, the view from the top - the day we went - was spectacular. Lots of different overlooks from which to choose.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MLB768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,978 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,764
    920
    244
    37
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love it!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I love history and you'll find it here. We rode from bottom to top, then back down. We went at night. The town was decked out for the holiday, so it was lovely! Great for folks of all ages. My only disappointment would be that the gift shop was closed. *Tip: You MUST have the exact cost to use the incline. Check your change!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGoddess62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Steelers- Miami game”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The ride up and down the incline was great. Plus the view from the top was fantastic. Over all a great adventure and well worth the price.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice, but could be better”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Great view, but parking was hard to find. A Terrible walk up stairs to get on the trolly. Address takes you to the bottom but there is access from the top. No warning the gift shop was closing..people were at the window so we looked around and when we came back it was closed!!! People were complaining the price had jumped a lot. It was twice what we expected... Pamphlet and online quote was for one way so we payed double.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AFOX101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“History, Mechanical Engineering, City View”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Starting along one of the highest city viewing points, a temporary distraction is the incline. The depot offers historical relevance of the incline through assorted pictures, plaques and souvenirs. The engineering is visible and a marvel considering the timing of operation. Numerous quality restaurant options, many with seating overlooking Downtown Pittsburgh, make this an easy choice for a fun and low key evening. Your smart phone camera will capture quite a few stunning vistas.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rdjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duquesne Incline also viewed

 

Been to Duquesne Incline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing