We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locally-sourced food”
Review of Habitat

Habitat
Ranked #132 of 2,178 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 5th and Liberty
Description: restaurant in hotel of fairmont
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Locally-sourced food”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Overall, we really, really enjoyed our meal here.

I'm not going to comment too much on the food specifically, as I understand it was the last week for the particular menu we had, so that wouldn't be terribly useful for future visitors. However, I will say that everything I ate was perfectly executed, and the portions were generous. At this level of cooking, any criticism is just being nitpicky. We were able to taste most of the dessert menu - definitely save room!

The waitstaff was very well informed, helpful, and professional. We didn't sit very near to the kitchen, which was fine with me because I think it could have been a bit distracting. According to my Foursquare checkin, the frog water pitchers are for sale, though I didn't ask!

We ate here for dinner, I'd like to try it for lunch sometime, I'd be interested in comparing. Overall, I thought the value at this price level was really quite good and the food stands up to the other restaurants in Pittsburgh in its category.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MariaSilvestri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    57
    27
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Flemington, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“With a decent wine list this could be so much better”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Habitat is quite a departure from the typical meat and potatoes fare that nearly suffocates this town. But it is a welcome departure. Tasty, healthy food and a very pleasant environment. Good fish choices in a city short on that path. And human portions (although they are considered small in these parts) that leave you sated but not bloated. The wait staff tries a bit too hard and their knowledge is fairly superficial, but they are very attentive.

Now my one disappointment. The wine list does not do justice to the food, most notably the whites. With fish like the black cod and walleye and the way they are prepared they are screaming for a crisp Burgundian white. A Chablis or Pouilly-Fuisse would be fine - we don't need anything fancy, but the only Chards are the gooey oaky California varieties. I won't repeat what I was told about how decisions were made about what to put on the wine list, but lets just say it wasn't flattering to Pittsburghians.

But if you don't care so much about food and wine pairing, the food is fabulous and what's not to like? Just recognize that you come to Habitat for fine dining, not for chowing down.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mbl5283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Service Great - Food Quality Poor”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Naan bread and beet salad were great. My wife ordered the halibut. It was undercooked with tons of bones. We sent the entree back and it was returned undercooked and actually quite raw. I ordered the lamb. It was so tough I could not cut into it or eat it. The manager was cordial in offering us a credit, but I see no reason why a restaurant with this reputation would serve meals like this. Totally unsatisfactory! Will absoluletly not return to this establishment. Despite the bad experience, the service was excellent.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doced70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We made reservations at 8:20pm for an 8:30pm reservation. When we arrived our table was ready and we were seated at 8:30pm.

The restuarant is on the second floor of the beautiful Fairmont Hotel which opened last year.

The restaurant is casually elegant and exudes a feeling of trendiness, but not to the point of being over the top.

Our server Gerry was outstanding. He was the consumate professional who knew the menu inside and out and made some great suggestions for appetizers, entrees and desserts.

All of Gerry's suggestions were perfect and everything we had was delicious.

Order the pork chop for dinner, it is huge and delicious and cooked perfectly.

Gerry was so attentive and friendly, we never had to ask for anything and he was truly one of the best waiters I have ever had.

This must be one of the best restaurants in Pittsburgh, if you have a chance make a reservation ahead of time and ask for Gerry.

The prices are very reasonable for what you get.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dfc9258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautifully presented and delicious meal”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I love this restaurant, it's a very elegant space on the second floor of downtown's Fairmont Hotel, perfect for romance.

If you like, you can choose to be seated right across the open kitchen, where you could see everything that was going on in there.

The service and the food are wonderful -- far above what your expectations would be for a hotel restaurant.

Each dish was meticulously put together and plated. Excellent food!

It's pricey - but is a fair price for all you get.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JIPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habitat also viewed

 

Been to Habitat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing