We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location-Excellent Staff, Room and Services”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
Ranked #21 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
North East Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Location-Excellent Staff, Room and Services”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a quick overnight to visit the Rivers Casino and eat at a couple of our favorite restaurants. The location is perfect! I imaging it's crazy on Pirates/Steelers games since both parks are basically across the street or a few blocks away. The staff was exceptionally friendly, the shuttle was available and prompt and the rooms were wonderful. I would highly recommend staying here. The $18 a day parking charge is reasonable for downtown Pittsburgh. I would definitely stay here again! The heating system is a little loud. When it's running the t.v. needs turned up. When it stops, the t.v. is really loud. I can live with that given the quality of service and location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the expressway if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnyExcuse2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    354
    92
    46
    35
See reviews for
324
286
36
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marti77
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

Stayed here to attend a Steelers football game. Third trip to PIttsburgh for me and son. Previously stayed at Renaissance (excellent) and Springhill suites (loved it). Typically I stay with Marriott or Hiltons. Chose this due to unbeatable location for Heinz field. Had a lovely view from the room.
Paid about $250 a night for 2 nights. Seriously, outrageously, overpriced.
Additional $18 per night for parking. (Parking was ample). For $250 a night, bellhops would be nice. Those are a thing of the past here. The Comfort Inn in my town has them though.
People were allowed to tailgate in our lot, a bit annoying when you're trying to come and go.
Check in staff was pleasant but located at the same counter with food and the bar, kind of strange. some employees go above and beyond to be courteous.
Others...Not so much.
This place doesn't have room service. When traveling this is a must. LOL ESpecially on game days when you can't get in the door of any local restaurants. So we were held captive with the counter food which was beyond horrible. Canned chili, jarred salsa, tiny microwave quality pizza, and turkey wrap that was literally inedible. And for that i paid $38 and waited 20 minutes.
I wanted a drink from the bar, alas, nothing fruity for me. Only beer, wine, and very hard liquor. Nothing girly. So i grabbed a soda and wouldn't you know it grabbed a diet by mistake. Not a happy camper, but it was my own fault.
The free continental breakfast was just terrible. Eggs that were so light they're almost white, just gross. Sausage swimming in watery liquid and had so little flavor and texture was all wrong. Gross soggy greasy potatoes. Other than that it's oatmeal, cereal, juice, milk, toast, bagel or english muffin. I knew I should've gone to DeLucas.
So my main complaints are No room service, bad food, and the high price of the room.
The room was clean, well appointed, and larger than we needed.
The noise from the hallway and other rooms was very loud, the walls are too thin.

Room Tip: Rooms across the street at Springhill are better LOL
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marti77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, MI
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

If your seeing a Steelers or Pirates game this is the closest hotel to both stadiums. Brand new opened in August. Great location, the nicest staff willing to help with everything.... Everytime we are in Pittsburgh we will be stayting here.

Room Tip: Stay on the front of the hotel side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a few nights to experience what Pittsburgh had to offer. The hotel and room was spectacular. We were very pleased with the cleanliness and overall look of the room. Only negatives were the continental breakfast (very sparse offerings) and we had to walk back from the casino late at night. We called for a shuttle pickup at 10:15pm and were told someone would be there in 10-15 minutes. After a half hour wait I called back and was told the shuttle was fully booked and would not be picking us up. Not happy about the shuttle service, but would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oostevey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chambersburg,pa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

Not being familiar with the lay of the land in Pittsburgh, i chose this hotel for the game night stay after the Steelers/Eagles preseason game. I couldnt have been more pleased! It had to be the closest accomodation to the stadium first of all. The traffic route to the street address was a little hard to figure out (ok ok.i know i need to learn to use my navigation system!) but it was nice to at least always have the hotel in sight and just figure out which streets got you there...it was almost fun. Passing all the tailgaters in the various lots kept us entertained. The lobby wasnt a 'grand' place but check-in was efficient and didnt slow down our rush to get to the stadium. Parking was excellent and convenient. We could even watch the tailgating revelry in other lots from our room, although tailgating was not permitted from our hotel parking lot. Also, there was some notice posted about a bottle or container law that had just gone into effect, which im thinking we violated somehow:). The room was spacious with a sitting area for TV watching and i loved the 'green' innovation which required you to put your room key in a switch to turn the lights on, which conversely meant that when you left the room, taking your key meant ALL lights were shut off. Therefore not wasting energy with lights on and no one in the room AND providing a place where you would always know where your room key was! Genius!! Nearby restaurants to the stadium were nice to find and there was no driving required for any part of the stay to do what we wanted to do. Having attended many games and tailgated at the Redskins Fed EX Field, i found this a nice change in an NFL venue and experience. And the Steelers won! Another uncommon experience for me..haha. With the football crowd chowing down the next morning, it made the 'free' breakfast a little hard to navigate but the lines did move quickly and disappearing items were fairly quickly replaced. We didnt get to the Andy Warhol museum which i know was within walking distance, but that is a great excuse to plan another stay...maybe for a Pirates game next time!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drsteve76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

You cannot miss the fact that this has the best location located between PNC park and Heinz field. Very modern decor and a little pricey, however for the location, it's clear what we paid for. I had read the continental breakfast was not good, however we thought scrambled eggs, home fries and toast on a Monday morning as delightful. We've stayed at Holiday Inn Express and had much worse options.

The staff, besides the location, was fabulous. Extremely pleasant and just so nice. Our experience was so great, we'll be staying at Hyatt more often. The only negative at all was our room had a musty odor to it from the heater/air unit. We notified the hotel when we left since it did not change the experience.

And I'm not sure, but considering there was a steelers game and a casino near by, I'd say the rooms might be sound proof.

Room Tip: Double Queen rooms face the river. If you are about 6th or 7th floor you'll be near a highway ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabover40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed at the Hyatt in mid August 2011, and we were not satisfied with the quality of our accomodation. Chris Burke, the General Manager, saw the problem and offered to comp us for a one night stay at a future date. So we returned Oct 30 and 31. In four short months, Chris has turned around the hotel. We saw it in the staff, the room was flawless, and the ambience seemed better. There is a team effort at work here and it made an impression on us. Since we have a daughter at Carnegie Mellon we will return. If you are a Steelers fan thsi is the place and location for you.

Room Tip: We stayed on the seventh floor faciong away from the highways. We did not hear a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore

Property: Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
Address: 260 N Shore Dr, Pittsburgh, PA 15212-5865
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#12 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing