We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Thai on the Northside” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nicky's Thai Kitchen

Nicky's Thai Kitchen
Ranked #22 of 2,141 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sewickley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
230 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai on the Northside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Nicky's is a really great place. The food is authentic, delicious and reasonably priced. The service is attentive - maybe even too fast for those who like to savor the flavors. My only suggestion to Nicky would be to expand the space if possible so that tables are not quite so close together. For tall people, navigating among the tables and getting into a chair can be challenging. No conversations are private, but that is probably OK. Nicky's has a neighborhood restaurant feel with outstanding Thai delicacies.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnsotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    57
    15
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A unique place, great for small parties!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

My friend took me to Nicky's to celebrate my birthday. The night we went was warm, so were able to sit outside on the back patio. It is a beautiful "oasis" back there, with lush, mature plants and a large water fountain in the center. You definitely won't feel like you're eating in the city-- it's so relaxing and peaceful. The service was excellent and we both really enjoyed our meals and will definitely be back!~

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunshine15106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
146 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Thai-rific”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Our family heard of this restaurant from a Pittsburgh Magazine article. I'm so happy we tried it...we will definitely be back. Everything was great...The service, selection, flavors, etc. Four of us shared 3 appetizers and each had our own meals. Total bill was only $60. It is BYOB. We will come back with wine next time!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingmom15108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
87 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Cut Above Other Thai Restaurants in Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

First-class service, decor, and food. You won't be disappointed. They even have Chang Thai beer, instead of just the usual Singha. This restaurant could make it anywhere, but I'm glad it's in Pittsburgh!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PortlandRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great place for a date”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is my favorite thai restaurant in Pittsburgh! The pad see ew is so tasty and is filled with flavor. When they ask you for how hot, i don't recommend anything over 5 unless you love spicy food! The tom kha soup and the crab rangoons are great appetizers too!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HAITIEN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nicky's Thai Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Nicky's Thai Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing