We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best thai restaurants i've ever been to”

Nicky's Thai Kitchen
Ranked #36 of 2,178 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Austinburg, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“one of the best thai restaurants i've ever been to”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Wished we had been in Pittsburgh longer, we would have gone back repeatedly. Manager at B&B we stayed at recommended Nicky's (suggested we make reservations for dinner, we were glad we did the place got busy on a Saturday night). we both got Pad Thai it was amazing - there are 4 levels of "heat" you choose from - mild, medium, hot and thai-hot. was going to get "hot" but our server recommended medium - she said hot was really really hot. glad i listened to her b/c the medium was my idea of hot. =) BYOB, thankfully there is a place right next store you can get beer or wine to go and they'll open it up for you at the restaurant before you get seated. The chicken satay was incredible, and the dessert - custard w/ sticky rice was great too.

Beatiful decor, narrowest restaurant i've ever been in but it looks like a lot of buildings / homes in pburgh are the same way. they also have outdoor patio seating (which we didn't see). Parking is on the street. We lucked out and got a space right in front of the door. The menu is extensive and lots sounded tempting, we look forward to our next visit to the area so we can sample more.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank reiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    62
    17
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food. Great service.”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

It's small so you might have to wait. It's byob, and the hostess opened our bottle while we waited and was very friendly. Once seated, service was fast and food was great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mgfoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drums, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Delish!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Overall this was one of the best Thai places that I have tried. The atmosphere is cozy and inviting. We didn't have an invitation but they were able to figure it out for us. I would recommend a reservation as the restaurant is generally small and fills up quickly.

The fried spring rolls and crispy tofu were very good. The crab fried rice was well seasoned and full of lump crab meat. The mango sticky rice was an excellent end to the meal. It is a BYOB, wish we knew this before going!

I will definitely visit next time I'm in town!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy! Yummy!!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Great food! Tom Yum soup was yummy, Chicken satay appetizer was also very good. Ordered two entrees for three of us, pineapple curry w/chicken and pad sew eaw (sp?)....both were very good. Loved the flavor combination of the pineapple curry, and the pad sew eaw was delish ( not to sweet like i've had at other thai restaurants). Service was right on, staff is very attentive and we were there during prime dinner hour on saturday. Would definetly come here again if in the area! Bill came to about $60, which i feel is very reasonable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MicheleSto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food at Reasonable $$$'s”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This review is for their new location in downtown Pittsburgh on 903 Penn Av. The food is authentic - great selection and wonderful service. Similar to the north-side location, but larger.

Currently BYOB locate; however, license is pending and this feature my be gone soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nicky's Thai Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Nicky's Thai Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing