We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little things add up to a great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square
Ranked #33 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013

So glad to have discovered this hotel. This was my first experience with a Springhill Suites property and it certainly will not be the last. I deviated from my normal hotel brand because I refuse to pay $17+ per night for parking. Not only is parking free,there is also free wi fi and free breakfast -- amenities I find non negotiable for hotels. I was here for a campus visit to Carnegie; prospective students and families will be happy to know that there is an "on call" shuttle, free of charge, for hotel guests. (With the limited parking on campus, this is truly a welcome service.) The hotel is situated within a shopping compound where there is a Panera Bread, Social (pub type restaurant), Jimmy John sandwich, and a coffee shop. Trader Joe's is within walking distance, and further still is a Target. Your stay also includes access to LA Fitness next door! What a deal -- normally the hotel "gyms" are just a mere closet fitted with a token treadmill. All in all, a great hotel especially if your visit is related to Carnegie!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuamPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

GuamPaddler,
Thank you for writing a review and sharing your experience at SpringHill Suites Bakery Square. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while visiting Carnegie, and we're pleased to know that our wonderful variety of amenities added both convenience and value to your visit. We're happy to have had you as our guest, and we hope to welcome you back as our guest again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Justin Blair, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 358 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

Visited my nieces who attend one of the universities. The room looked brand new (and may well have been). Very comfortable bed, plenty of pillows, and great reading lights. Immaculately clean. The bathroom is split up into two rooms: powder room plus a shower with sink room. This worked fine for my sister and me; however, there was a definite lack of privacy compared to the conventional bathroom setup which places the bathroom at the front of the hotel room.

The breakfast offered several selections, though I only had the oatmeal both mornings. Definite lack of tables with chairs at which to dine, though there was a sofa area with small side tables that some took advantage of, and there was also an outside sitting area. We were able to sit at the bar area one morning and a table the next.

The hotel is located above a Panera restaurant and across from some higher end boutiques such as Free People and Anthropology, as well as a free standing coffee shop and other shops. Parking in the garage was easily performed, and you can get into the hotel without walking outside.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teva10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Teva10,
Thank you for writing a review regarding your experience at SpringHill Suites Bakery Square. We're happy to have had you as our guest while in town visiting your nieces, and we're glad you found our accommodations clean and comfortable during your stay. We appreciate you sharing positive feedback, as well as opportunities for improving our guest satisfaction. We hope you'll have an opportunity to return for another visit in the near future. Thank you again for writing.

Best regards,
Justin Blair, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had reservations for 2 days made through Orbitz. On arrival day they informed us that our room was no longer available and that we had been rebooked at a comparable hotel. The comparable hotel was 30 mins away and in no way comparable. It was difficult to get the night refunded- new hotel was $100 less per night and Springhill wanted to keep full rate and pay for the other hotel. Other guests were checked in while we were there and the management stated that it is their policy to cancel reservations made by third parties when the hotel in overbooked and place those guests else where.

The hotel was nice enough but this bad experience colored our trip and we will never stay here again or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamsMom25248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

SamsMom25248,
Thank you for writing. I'm very sorry for the unfortunate experience you had. I would certainly never want to leave you with a poor impression and sincerely apologize that we were unable to accommodate your reservation request. Unfortunately situations do arise causing us to have to displace guests. Please understand this is not something we plan and try our hardest to avoid. We value your business and do hope you'll consider staying with us in the future.

Sincerely,
Justin Blair, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I had come to Pittsburgh to visit Chatham University for their open house. With free parking, ample food choices in the area, friendly service, and great amenities I will definitely be staying here again. The market was open when I got back late from the university function and the woman working the front desk was very nice and patient when I kept coming back for more snacks. I knew that room service was still available, but I did not want to bother anybody. I took advantage of the free breakfast in the morning before heading back home and it was very delicious. Looking forward to staying here during my 10 day writer's residencies while attending Chatham. If I could live in this hotel, I definitely would.

Room Tip: As to stay on the front side of the building if it is available. A garbage truck (or something simil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ntone89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

ntone89,
Thank you for choosing SpringHill Suites Bakery Square while visiting Chatham University's open house. It's fantastic to hear our friendly service and great amenities made for an enjoyable stay. We're happy to have had you as our guest, and we look forward to your return visit during your 10 day writer's residencies. Thank you once again for sharing your complimentary feedback.

Best regards,
Justin Blair, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel is located in a very nice area. The breakfast area is beautiful and the choices for breakfast are sure to please even the fussiest eater.
The staff was friendly and helpful. Access to the internet was very easy. Lots of outlets to charge all our phones, iPads etc. Having separated the shower from the toilet meant we didn't feel rushed in the morning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mainenanax5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

mainenanax5,
We appreciate you sharing feedback on your experience with us at SpringHill Suites Bakery Square. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and found our service, amenities, and location all to meet your satisfaction. We hope you'll have an opportunity to return for another visit in the near future. Thank you again for writing.

Best regards,
Justin Blair, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here with family in two separate suites for one night. We were attending the Season-Kick-off Football Game at Carnegie Mellon.
We were impressed with the up - and - coming surrounding area with plenty of shops and stores all around in the cul-de-sac. The ample Hotel Parking was free..
The front desk staff were all super-friendly, helpful and courteous.But being Platinum Members, we are accustomed to being asked if we would like an upgrade, or a complimentary snack. Maybe two wedding and their guests kept them occupied, and they forgot to do so. Oh, well !
Our room was meticulous with clean white sheets, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and flat screen TV. We liked the fact that the toilet and shower areas were separate.Each had a sink and pocket doors. This helps if the family is in a hurry, because both areas can be used separately.
The sleeping area is separated from the sitting room by a glass partition. That sitting area contains a good-sized desk, sectional sofa, lamps and coffee table.The partition helps to keep both areas isolated of each other.
The breakfast included for our room was awesome. It had a very good selection of cereals,yoghurts, waffles, muffins, toast, fresh fruit, freshly - made coffee and tea.There was a variety of toppings for each item. The seating area was adequate.
We were only here for one night, so it was OK, but there is not enough storage for longer stays.
The place met our expectations, and we will probably stay here again when we visit our nephew at Carnegie Mellon University.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the store-fronts are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheExplorerFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Suneeti H,

Thank you for the wonderful review of our SpringHill Suites Bakery Square. I am pleased you enjoyed all of the amenities we offer along with our spacious, well-appointed suites. Thank you for your pledged loyalty to Marriott! I will be sure to share your comments to our staff. Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Justin Blair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here as a family, and it was a great choice! It was a pretty good price, and it was very comfortable for all of us. There was a large couch area that my 3 year old slept on, and they provided a rollaway crib for the littler one. The front desk was super friendly, and helpful. The breakfast was really good, and the attendants were very helpful. As I was trying to guide a 3 year old, and a 1 year old to a table, find a high chair, and carry our food at the same time someone came running to help me out (bless him!). The hotel is also very well located for Carnegie Mellon, hospitals, the Zoo, and shopping. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Katie p,

Thank you for sharing feedback on your experience at our SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square. We’re pleased to hear our comfortable accommodations, friendly staff, and convenient location made for an enjoyable stay. We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,

Justin Blair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Bloomfield
Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Bloomfield
Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shadyside
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
#42 of 72 in Pittsburgh
53 reviews
Southside Flats
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square

Address: 134 Bakery Square Blvd, Pittsburgh, PA 15206-1084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#11 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $144 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Pittsburgh hotel is ideally located in the innovative lifestyle Bakery Square Complex in Pittsburgh's East End. Our SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square is just minutes to Carnegie Mellon University, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium, and RIDC Park. Enjoy our all-suite accommodations, complimentary BRAND NEW breakfast options featuring hot and healthy options, and free Wi-Fi. Maintain your healthy lifestyle while on the road with complimentary unlimited access to adjacent LA Fitness. While staying at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square shop at Anthropologie, grab lunch at Jimmy John's and catch up with friends at Coffee Tree Roasters, all located in the Bakery Square complex. Then enjoy a cocktail and light dinner at our lobby bar. Among Pittsburgh hotels, the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh Bakery Square hotel stands above the rest with both superior service and accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing