We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, New Hotel, Perfect for Fitness Enthusiasts!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square
Ranked #33 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Value, New Hotel, Perfect for Fitness Enthusiasts!”
Reviewed October 12, 2011

SpringHill Suites by Marriott are comfortable hotels perfect for business or pleasure travelers. The SpringHill Suites at Bakery Square is the newest to open in Pittsburgh and I was very pleased with my choice to stay there.

Parking at the hotel is free, which is always a bonus for any urban hotel. The lobby is typical for the brand and it was fresh, bright and very clean. The guest rooms were done in the new SpringHill style - I like the modern vibe I get from them, but I have yet to figure out why the toilet/sink are separated from the shower by a closet between them. Very odd. In the morning, the hotel offers an excellent breakfast - eggs, sausage, oatmeal, waffles, fruit, etc. and all for free. Internet service is also offered free of charge.

Perhaps my favorite aspect of this hotel was that it was connected to an Urban Fitness gym. Even better - guests at the hotel have full use of the gym. What a deal! I actually regretted moving to the Renaissance downtown - this hotel was a far better value given all that it offered; while the location was a bit inconvenient, I would deal with that con for all the pros.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexjrosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    107
    28
    14
    3
See reviews for
160
38
19
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

If I could give this hotel a rating of zero, I would do it. My wife and I were staying at Springhill Suites with our 8-month-old son for weekend of relaxation while visiting Pittsburgh. The hotel was completely overbooked, standard amenities were not provided, and the employees simply were not able to keep up.

On the first evening, we went to give our son his nightly bath and the tub could not be filled b/c the standard tub stopper thats a part of every tub ever made was missing. We called down to the front desk and they assured us someone would bring up a drain stopper right away. We waited. A drain stopper was never sent and it became too late to bathe our son. Moreover until we called back to learn none was coming no one bothered even to call us back.

The next morning we called again to ask for a drain stopper. The front desk attendant responded, "Oh yes.. We forgot. Someone will bring it right up." Three hours later it was never sent. Again no one bothered to call us back, and when finally we had to leave for the day, we called down again to learn that they did not find it again. Finally, they told us someone would go out and buy the stopper so we could give our child a bath. It was not until we returned again that night to our room that FINALLY a stopp for the tub drain was replaced in the room.

On the second night of the stay, our frustrations with this hotel and the staff grew even more. An unruly crowd could be heard right outside of our window on the lower outside deck. When it reached 11:30 pm and my wife, baby, and I were still all wide awake, my patience had worn out. I called down to the front desk to tell them about the noise and they said they would take care of it. After 15 minutes, the noise had only grown louder. I called down again and was informed that a wedding was booked here and the outdoor area was being used for the night. At 12:30 am, I went down to ask if there could be ANY other solution. The front desk attendant refused to switch our room. We spent almost the entire night awake and dealing with clearly belligerent party-goers screaming outside of our room.

Hotels are supposed to provide, first and foremost, a comfortable place to SLEEP. I understand that hotels book wedding parties often, but it should never interfere with the comfort of other guests. While we were checking out, I explained to the manager that our stay was unacceptable and that I would like a refund. He told me that there was nothing he could do.

Our family visits the Pittsburgh area very often and, needless to say, we will NEVER be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Dear MF,

Our standard rooms feature showers which are very popular with our guests; we only have a handful of rooms with bath-tubs as those are features of our accessible rooms. After you checked in you brought to our attention that you preferred a bathtub, which we were able to accommodate. This was an unusual item to be missing from the room, and moving forward we will make sure it is not overlooked, and that we have replacements on hand.

We understand that noise complaints must be handled effectively. No two noise issues are the same, so for consistency we adhere to a strict policy that extends a courtesy warning, with the exception of extraordinary circumstances. In response to your calls that evening we vacated the area and locked out the patio outside your guestroom.
Thank you for your time and I hope you reconsider and join us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Francisco Selles, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
216 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

All hotels in oakland were booked so we took a chance. Location is perfect,free parking, breakfast and wifi. Excellent customer service and great value ( u pitt discount).

Microwave and fridge in room, trader joes less than 1/2 mile away. If using gps, type in intersection - penn and fifth, bakery square not recognized. Skip the pool...use the free state of the art fitness center instead. Free shuttle also available

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallad13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Never stayed in a Springhill before and was pleasantly surprised. Nice and new, chic- staff was great -nearby restaurants were great - a bit overpriced. The only thing is to be prepared if you approach from the east. You go thru some very sketchy neighborhoods but things get better as you get near. Felt like turning around until we got close. BTW, Pittsburgh is an undiscovered jewel

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Texas
Level Contributor
141 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

This property is probably the best Springhill Suites I've ever been in bar none - it takes the chains standards up to a whole new level. The rooms are spacious and well appointed while remaining quite functional. Good workspace, flat screen TV with actual HD programming, and all in a nice decor. Included breakfast was actually somewhat more typical for a Springhill but it was topped off by the only Springhill I've seen with a bar, evening room service, and a nice patio with a fire pit. Parking is covered in a garage that's comp with the stay as is access to a FULL gym. It was quite remarkable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Brand new hotel. Very nice. Full access to big gym next door. In a new shoppung area. Shuttle service was prompt.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandalee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

This property is still desirable. Timothy remembered us from last year and questioned by request for a hanicap room as the shower in the regular room is an easy step-in large shower. He was right and rebooked us to a quiet front room. He even called our reservations at Harrisburg to request the same. He said to stop on our way out the make sure the hotel had the changes. I should have listened to Timothy as we ended up on the highway side with trucks roaring all night. The breakfast was very good and included lots of hot items. Freshly made eggs with peppers and ham and a friendly staff. We love the double bath combo and the modern design with lots of space and a sofa and desk for extra comfort.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Bloomfield
Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Bloomfield
Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square

Property: SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square
Address: 134 Bakery Square Blvd, Pittsburgh, PA 15206-1084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#11 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Pittsburgh hotel is ideally located in the innovative lifestyle Bakery Square Complex in Pittsburgh's East End. Our SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square is just minutes to Carnegie Mellon University, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium, and RIDC Park. Enjoy our all-suite accommodations, complimentary BRAND NEW breakfast options featuring hot and healthy options, and free Wi-Fi. Maintain your healthy lifestyle while on the road with complimentary unlimited access to adjacent LA Fitness. While staying at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square shop at Anthropologie, grab lunch at Jimmy John's and catch up with friends at Coffee Tree Roasters, all located in the Bakery Square complex. Then enjoy a cocktail and light dinner at our lobby bar. Among Pittsburgh hotels, the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh Bakery Square hotel stands above the rest with both superior service and accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing