We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh the trains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works
Ranked #63 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Hotel is spotless and rooms are nice, typical of the newer/remodeled Springhill brand. But it is really hard to describe how bad the train noise is. My room didn't even face the tracks, and I sleep with earplugs always. Didn't matter. The hotel is positioned at the entrance to a tunnel, and every train blows its whistle long and hard. All. Night. Long.

Room Tip: If you MUST stay here, insist on a room on the North side of the building.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nittany13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa_Craven_FOM, Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works. We greatly appreciate your feedback. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our hotel and strive to ensure that each guest receives excellent service. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the noise from the train. We do hope that you will offer our property another chance. The next time you choose to visit, we will try to locate your room on the side of the building facing the river, as far away from the train as possible. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
There are newer reviews for SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 287 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014

This was a very clean hotel, friendly staff and good breakfast. However, I must comment on the trains that ran all night long just feet from our room! I've stayed in hotels near train tracks before, but this was ridiculous. The room literally shook each time a train went by all night long. I wish I had read the TripAdvisor reviews before I booked the stay as I see this is a common complaint. The solution? Put customers on the river side of the hotel. If only the train track side is available, then advise customers of the noise issue and let them decide if they want to stay there. I think this train noise issue is significant enough that customers should be advised of it before they book the room. In one recent TripAdvisor review, the hotel manager commented that the reviewer may want to consider the river side of the hotel for their next stay. Obviously, management is aware of this issue. We had a busy weekend planned, and our awful night's sleep put a real damper on our activities. I'm usually pleased with our Marriott stays when we travel, but this one really disappointed us.

Room Tip: Request a room far away from the train tracks. You will still hear the trains but at least it won...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wdaviespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thanks so much for choosing the SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works for you recent trip to Pittsburgh and thank you for your feedback Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction, providing exceptional customer service, and offering clean rooms Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit. As a Marriott Rewards member we had pre blocked you in a city view room on our top floors which is a favorite of many rewards members who stay with us, in the future you can request a room with a river view which is further from the train

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

It is true the hotel has not one but two train tracks next to it. They are busy railways that go all night. Having said that we are people who sleep thru everything apparently so it didn't bother us. I do like this hotel as it is SPOTLESS! On this trip we were on a college tour and this was our 6th hotel in 6 days!! This by far was the cleanest of them all. It smelled fresh, looked fresh and was just right for the night.

The other great thing is that it is located in a revitalized area of Pittsburgh, lots of great restaurants like Cheesecake Factory, a Mongolian Grill, Japanese restaurant and your traditional other chains. There are shops just a couple of blocks away if you have time to spare which makes it a fun walking area. It is just 1 mile and some from Carnegie Mellon University. Breakfast was the traditional cold items, cereal, and fresh waffles, eggs and sausage. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmw0713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This hotel is located right next to railroad tracks, and the locomotives blow their whistle every time they approach a tunnel. Who in their right mind would build a hotel next to railroad tracks? I will never stay here again, even if they offered my a room on the street side of the building!

I also think it is terrible that a hotel charges for parking!

Room Tip: If you do need to stay here, ask for a room on the street side, not the train track side.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pitt_Mom_JL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Pitt_Mom_JL ,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay due to the noise from the train that runs near the property. I am very sorry to loose your future business, we try our best to maintain the cleanest hotel possible with great customer service. If I can be of further assistance please feel free to contact me. Again Thank you so much for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

There are busy rail lines literally right next to the hotel, and I was being woken up constantly from the noise ! This is unacceptable for a $165 a night hotel !!!

The room it's self was spacious and clean, hotel staff were friendly, and the room actually had a working internet connection - but the noise trains ruined the whole experience !!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Richard,
Thank you very much for your feedback in reference to your recent stay at The Springhill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works. I appologize for the noise that disturbed your stay from the train that runs near the property. The next time you are a guest of the hotel, we will try and locate your room on the other side of the building over looking the river. I am glad to hear that your room was clean and the staff was friendly. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed here 3 nights as part of a family group (our group used 7 rooms in all).
Hotel: fairly new, clean modern décor, rooms are good sized and very comfortable. The free breakfast is ample, and generally good (the eggs the 2nd day were better than the first), with plenty of choices, served in an airy and pleasant lobby.
Location: Very convenient to a variety of areas in Pittsburgh (downtown, Oakland, Squirrel Hill) if you want to be flexible. There is an entrance to the Parkway East (eastbound) right across the Hot Metal Bridge by the hotel. Note: on early weekday mornings, traffic crossing the river to the Parkway entrance often gets backed up; allow 10 extra minutes to get across.
View: this hotel does have a view worth mentioning. Try to stay on the Monongahela River side, and you'll have a nice view of the river, Pittsburgh hills, the Cathedral of Learning, etc. You don't feel hemmed in like lots of city hotels.
Rooms: very comfortable, with a slick modern design. But one big negative: the smallest dresser and drawer space I have ever seen in a hotel. Bad design choice in an effort to look cool. The closet is ok. The kitchenette is skimpy if you are used to places like Extended StayAmerica, e.g., plastic ware, mini-fridge with no freezer compartment. This was not for a lack of space. The divided work station is well designed and nice to work at. Bed: good linens, comfy, we slept well. Rooms were very clean.
Noise: be advised -- on the south (non-river) side of the hotel is an active CSX rail line (up to several trains per hour, including during the night). Westbound trains blow for the tunnel that starts right beside the hotel. [Historical note: this tunnel does not go through a hill, but rather was built to carry the railroad underneath the huge J & L steel mill that once occupied this site]. If the noise would bother you, make sure you get a room on the river side (the majority of rooms are on the river side). We were on the 6th (top) floor facing the river, and didn't hear the trains in our room. Other than the railroad, the hotel is in a fairly quiet location. There was no hotel noise in our room, it was internally very quiet.
Railfans: If you pick your hotel to SEE trains, ask for a room on the southeast corner of the hotel (either facing up-river, best, or facing the hill). You will see two active rail lines: a very active CSX line beside the hotel (clear view of trains approaching/departing upriver direction), and a less active NS ex-Conrail line on the hillside 3 unobstructed blocks away. 3rd through 5th floors probably best.
Hotel staff: stellar! We required special arrangements for the family gathering, and their events manager (Sharon) really put herself out for us, getting us a special block booking rate and facilitating our use of the meeting room (the hotel has one, a second one is not yet finished). The hotel staff was very polite and cooperative throughout. They made our stay a whole lot easier and enjoyable.
Parking: adjacent outside on hotel's own lot, $14 per night, unlimited in/out. Not great, but there are higher rates at other Pittsburgh hotels.
Overrall: this hotel turned out to have the best combination of location, modern and comfortable rooms, and staff of the many I've stayed at in Pittsburgh. It will be our first choice next time we travel to Pittsburgh.

Room Tip: To avoid train noise, stay on river side (view is better anyway). There are 6 floors, with rooms on...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SocEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, easy walking distance to the South Side Works. No free parking though- $14. The staff was very welcoming and friendly. They helped to arrange their shuttle van to drop us off and pick us up from the concert we were attending, which we greatly appreciated. The rooms were clean and spacious. Unfortunately train tracks run right next to the hotel. We woke up 3 or 4 times during the night as a train went by (our room was on the third floor and faced the tracks). If I stayed here again I would try to request a room on the side facing the river instead. The breakfast was sub-par, although my expectations weren't very high.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Aillie_and_Justin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Inn University Center
#53 of 71 in Pittsburgh
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works

Address: 2950 S Water St, Pittsburgh, PA 15203-2393
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Southside Flats
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $146 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing