We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Trip to Pittsburgh!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works
Ranked #61 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Greentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our Trip to Pittsburgh!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Upon our arrival we were greeted very nicely by the girls at the front desk...our room was beautiful and the pillows were perfect!!! The girls at the front desk were very helpful with our first time on the bike trails and gave us wonderful maps that were very useful on our journey to Station Square. The breakfasts were very delicious and everything was very fresh and the coffee was excellent!!! Thank you for having french vanilla and hazelnut creamers!! The shuttle drivers were very nice and had alot of information to share on our way to First Street for the game on Sunday and were right there to pick us up when the game was over! Our first visit to Pittsburgh was a wonderful event and can't wait to do it again! Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steelman18426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    110
    58
    29
    15
See reviews for
96
44
9
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bayside, New York, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a brand new property right across the street from the Southside Works complex (offices, upscale retail, restaurants, a movie theater). It's also right on the river with a bike path out front. The rooms are comfortable and clean. We has a king bed with a pullout soda for our adult son. The sofa/living room area is partially separated from the bed by a desk and floor to ceiling wall. The television is oddly situated between the two spaces, making it somewhat awkward to see it from the bed. There's a small kitchenette (mini-fridge, micro, sink) and we has a great view of the river and bridge. The bathroom sink is also open, with the rest behind a door. There did seem to be a large amount of unused space between the bed and the window. Not sure what could go there, though. Perhaps a chair and lamp. There's a parking lot next to the hotel and the Steelers train down the road. If you are visiting Southside or even U of Pitt or Carnegie Mellon, this is a good choice. It's not downtown Pittsburgh, but everything is easy to reach. This is a great hotel for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Hotel has a great location for walking to shopping, eating, bars and there is also a nice path to walk/jog along the river. No need to explain a SpringHill Suites - they are all the same. Note of warning, the hotel sits over a train track. If you are a light sleeper don't stay here or request a room on the river side of the hotel where you barely hear it.

Room Tip: River side - better view and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bckathleen1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel was very clean and continues to be consistent on that front. The breakfast is also a step above the Hampton Inn and Holiday Inn Express. I can eat healthier here but only wished there was real plates and silverware versus polystryrene plates and plastic forks (what a waste and cheap feel when eating. )

There is also real glass ware in the room versus other hotels using plastic junk.

The only negative is you can hear conversations and TV in an adjacent room. If noise bothers you, this a negative and if you are beside a noisy room it will be difficult to sleep if at all.

Room Tip: The walls are paper thin so be prepared for noise from other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

On an overnight trip to Pittsburgh to visit colleges, the decision to stay at this property turned a so-so trip into a really good one. The hotel is located on the edge of Southside Works, with rather upscale and trendy pubs, restaurants and stores. For runners and cyclists, there is a path right across the street that extends into the city along the river in one direction, and southeast across Pennsylvania in the other direction. I also saw many people walking the path in the morning. The room was comfortable, stylish, but I somehow thought it would be a little larger. Breakfast was typical for a Springhill Suites, which in my book means very good. Lots of coffee... The nearby train tracks were not really an issue for me, but traffic on the bridge in the morning was a downer - waited almost 10 minutes to get through the traffic light on the far side. Overall a very nice stay, and will definitely consider staying here more regularly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aquarius70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

A group of us stayed here the night of a friend's bachelorette party, and it was nice to get a room with 2 Queen beds plus a pullout sofa. The hotel is really new, and it shows. Very clean!

Breakfast was good, however avoid the "eggs." Don't worry, there's plenty other options. But get to breakfast early, seating is limited.

We were in a room on the top floor, right on the train tracks and were woken several times during the night - request a room on the other side of the hotel! Also, parking is pricy and they only allow 1 car per room. There are parking garages over towards Hofbräuhaus.

Not bad, overall!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephk0430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

The receptionist outright lied to me upon arrival. Telling me no rooms were available, even though I made my reservation months prior. After 30 minutes (!!!) She finally assigned a room to me, but then the maid service (outside my room) told me there were loads of rooms available.

The rooms are directly next to railroad tracks, which the train comes by blaring its horn every hour on the hour. The elevators sound like they're falling apart and ....if the trains don't keep you awake all night long,....the noisy elevators will!!

When I complained about this 'Mindy' said, "Ahhh like ok"..A real professional behind the desk!!

Its like I was in "My Cousin Vinny #2"

Never again!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnfun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Quality Inn University Center
#52 of 68 in Pittsburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works

Property: SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works
Address: 2950 S Water St, Pittsburgh, PA 15203-2393
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Southside Flats
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing