We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location, ask for room away from train tracks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works
Ranked #60 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, ask for room away from train tracks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a great stay at this SpringHill Suites last weekend, while visiting our daughter at the University of Pittsburgh. I had read the reviews of the loud trains after I had booked, but our room was fortunately located on the river side of the building and on the top floor - so train noise was not an issue. This hotel is located close to restaurants and shopping on the SouthSide, and close to Carson Street and it's multiple bars and drinking establishments that the college crowd likes to visit on the weekends. We did take part in a pub crawl - check out the Lava Lounge for 80's and Motown nights - really fun! Everyone was friendly and accomodating at the hotel and the breakfast bar was nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    99
    53
    25
    15
See reviews for
87
38
8
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Seriously?! How are you suppose to sleep? I'll never stay here again. Nice hotel, but I can't believe they'll get any return visitors given all the train noise. I can't believe Marriott would allow such a location. Isn't the idea to "sleep" at night?

Room Tip: On the other side from the train tracks. That might not even help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrstafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as we toured UPMC and Steelers/Pitt football facility. 5 minute walk. Rooms were spotless and driver found us a restaurant upon our arrival at 1030 pm. Only downside was no insight restaurant, but that is Springhill model. Great location to South works.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JocDocSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Awesome to stay right at Southside. The location of nearby attractions is the real selling point. But seriously, who builds a beautiful hotel right ON a train track? We stayed two nights......should have left after the first. We hardly slept at all. We were top floor, so being high up does NOT muffle the train horns. Incredibly overpriced for the train issue. It's really sad because the hotel is clean and beautiful. We would never stay here again. And......$14 to park in an outside lot. Really?

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Colclifmuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I are visiting Pittsburgh for the weekend. Wanted to stay on the South Side. Read the reviews of others on Trip Advisor. I was a little skeptical about the train noise but I barely even know it's there. The location is great for all the fantastic bars and shopping in the area. Would definitely come and stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalfromSugarHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Spent the weekend in Pittsburgh's South Side.
This Hotel was located in walking distance of a really fun area. It sits along the river so the view from the room was very nice. The rooms are clean, with modern decor, includes breadfast.
It was cold while we were walking along the miles of river path, but I am sure that any other time of the year would be even nicer. Overall, it was a very nice stay.

Room Tip: The suites are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KC R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a really nice hotel, but right next to it is the exposed portion of the rail way. Unfortunately my foom was on the same side of the hotel as the railroad. It is a very busy railway. Perhaps they will cover it like they did over in the works.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christierocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Quality Inn University Center
#50 of 68 in Pittsburgh
3.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Oakland
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works

Property: SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works
Address: 2950 S Water St, Pittsburgh, PA 15203-2393
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Southside Flats
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing