We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works
Ranked #60 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is in a great location ... there are few hotels right in southside, and this is within walking distance of all of the restaurants/shopping/bars. I stayed here with a couple friends for a weekend.
The hotel IS right near the train tracks but honestly I didn't notice them at all ... neither did the friends I stayed with. The room was huge, very clean, and comfortable. It had a bar area with a microwave and refridgerator, which was useful. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was nicer than most but still average - eggs, bagels, waffles, etc. The hotel offered a free shuttle that took you anywhere within ~5 miles, which we used both nights. Parking was outrageous ($14/day).
The stay was nice and comfortable, but for the price, it wasn't anything special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    104
    56
    26
    15
See reviews for
91
40
9
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Spent a weekend here while visiting family. Got a great deal via Priceline and our only complaints were the $14/day parking fee and noise from the overnight train horns - which we already knew about from reading prior reviews. Despite having a room that did not directly overlook the tracks, we were awoken at least 4 times during the night from the blaring of the horn. Not fun.
Check-in staff was friendly and gave us our room key a full 3 hours before check-in time due to our early flight arrival. Room was spacious, well apportioned and clean. Two comfortable queen sized beds, an L-couch/desk area separate from the sleeping area, and a small fridge with microwave and sink. A nice small touch - the toiletries provided were top quality.
We availed ourselves of the shuttle a number of times and enjoyed chatting with our driver, who gave us some history of the area and ideas for off-the-beaten-path sightseeing. Breakfast had a decent variety of foods and plenty of sit-down space.
I would completely recommend Springhill Southside for travelers...if not for that darn train!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chaosreins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed there with my family just before Christmas. Very clean, modern, and friendly staff. Pool and hot tub were very good, although the pool is a little small. A nice retail district with several restaurants is within walking distance. Relatively easy to find from the Parkway (I376) using their directions. The train did wake us up once during the night.

Room Tip: According to the front desk clerk, all Queen suites are on the side away from the river (therefore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatP905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Checked in for 1 night over new years and the fromt desk staff was pleasant. One of the room keys did not work so had to wait in line again to get it fixed but no big deal. The hotel charges $14 for parking which I am used to paying but was surprised at this location by the train tracks. There is a shuttle but had no time table, were told a 20 minte wait to go up to the other end of southside Carson St, so decided to take the 15 minute walk instead. The room was modern and mostly clean. The sheets for the pullout had stains and a couple holes in them. The room seemed a bit dysfunctional, TV was very awkwardly located in the middle away from both beds. I will not return unless the Holiday Inn Express up the street was not available and needed to be in the southside.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjzPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was a fairly new hotel when we stayed there in 2011. I had wanted to try it ever since I saw it being built, when I traveled to Pittsburgh for business. Never got the chance until my wife and I stopped there during a trip. I was not disappointed; excellent location and quality room and service. Great location to access the attractions that Southside has to offer. I think this is one of the best plces to stay in the Pittsburgh area. Close to the center of town - right across the Hot Metal Bridge gets you there; however, not in he midst of downtown congestion as much. Tour the local area of Southside as well; very interesting local places!

Room Tip: Top floors have good views.There is a train track nearby so you might want front side if you are a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here on New Years eve. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make it an enjoyable experience. Although the hotel was full, their services were quick and efficient. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed here before in a lovely room on the other side of the hotel; never realized this place has a serious issue with noise from trains. I am very very noise sensitive and always try to note that I want top floor quiet room etc. Unfortunately, I booked quickly at Marriott.com and neglected to add that note apparently. I am in Room 302 which might as well be on top of the d..n train track, ony 304 is five feet closer. I asked to switch rooms at 6:15 p.m.; told they were full but it's now nearly 10 p.m. and there's only 39 cars (about 40% full) in the lot so I have my doubts. Marriott owes this info on its website about this hotel. So much for a productive work day tomorrow if I can't sleep tonight!

Room Tip: Avoid the side with the train tracks. Note, there is no room service or restaurant. And no wine in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy26101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Inn University Center
#51 of 68 in Pittsburgh
3.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Bloomfield
Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works

Property: SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works
Address: 2950 S Water St, Pittsburgh, PA 15203-2393
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Southside Flats
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing