We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Trendy....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works
Ranked #61 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Trendy....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

I don't write reviews very often, but the Southside Works Marriott is worth writing about. Lobby- pretty new/cool, room- great, bed- great, breakfast-meh, but what do you expect?

Although there is a lot of construction going on in the area, what a great part of the "new" Southside. All I ever remembered was the dive bars on Carson St.- this is a Southside all grown up! Be sure to hit the Hofbraushaus, just 2 blocks down for great German beers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cxs287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    109
    58
    29
    15
See reviews for
96
44
9
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

The rooms of this hotel are very spacious and nice. The location is great because its within walking distance of tons of bars and restaurants. The only problem was the loud construction noise at 8 am in the morning, which is the last thing you want waking you after a long night out. I had friends on the other side of the hotel that didnt hear anything, but the ones on my side were woken up by the noise right outside the windows.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
205 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

This property is lovely...The decor is refreshing and feels light and airy. Located directly on the river there is a possibility that you will score a river view as we did upon request. The rooms were spacious and cleverly divided to give you living space/kitchen area as well as bedroom accommodations. I loved the decor and would definitely opt for another SpringHill Suites decorated similarly to this one. The bathroom area is adequate with the sink area outside of the tub/toilet allowing for multiple use. This hotel is excellent for family travel as it can house 5 people per room using the pull out sofa in the entertainment area. Great floorplan devised around the family allowing all to be in the one room without attempting to get two rooms together with an adjoining door. Breakfast was great with excellent variety.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view end unit....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HawkSpiritTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I definitely agree with all of the other positive reviews. This hotel has many "pros" with just a few "cons".
Pros:
1. Absolutely excellent staff. They were friendly, helpful and most of all welcoming. My teenage daughter and I enjoyed conversing with them. They gave us great tips on what to do-see on our vacation.
2. Shuttle service. This is a great service for the hotel guests. The shuttle transported us everywhere we need to go quickly and efficently. I really do not think we would have been able to enjoy Pittsburgh as much as we did without it.
3. Cleanliness - "newness". This is a beautiful new and clean hotel. The pictures here on Tripadvisor and on the Marriott website are exactly what the property looks like.
4. Location. Southside Works is a trendy up and coming location. It is new and "fresh". Shops and restuarants are within a few blocks of the hotel in modern section of town. I would like to visit again when more of this area is built.

Cons:
1. Sorry but I do have to mention the train. It did wake me up at night.
2. Construction. Since this is a new and up coming area there is construction. The whole area will be prettier when it is complete.

My daughter and I had a great time in Pittsburgh. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the river - away from the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAM857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairborn, Ohio
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

This hotel's location is absolutely perfect! It's located in the Southside Works and right next door to the Cheesecake Factory and the Hofbrauhaus! The hotel offers transportation around the area and is within walking distance of the entire South Side which allows for everyone to have a great time at night without the worry of transportation. The PERFECT spot for late-nighters.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed at the Springhill Suites Southside at the same time as the NHL draft in Pittsburgh and the Pirates/Tigers series at PNC Park. We were in town to get away for a long weekend, attend a few Pirate games, and use a few free Category 1-4 Marriott certificates. This is a great hotel with convenient access to the Southside Works shopping area which is just across the street. The hotel has friendly staff and a convenient shuttle service (runs 7am to 11pm) which took us into downtown Pittsburgh each night for Pirate games. Pick up from the games was always prompt after calling for our return and we just had to take a short walk across the Clemente Bridge to the pick up point.

As so many others have stated in their reviews, there is a train track directly behind the hotel and the whistle did blow a few times during the night (maybe the hotel should provide ear plugs in the rooms as I have seen in other hotels near highways, etc. for those that are light sleepers).

The hotel breakfast was pretty good the first morning of our stay with some hot foods (oatmeal, eggs, and waffles) but really was lacking at about 9 am on the second morning, which was a Saturday, with the hotel fully occupied.

No issue with parking in the lot next to the hotel with keyed access. Parking was $14 per day. I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here in the Southside again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HemiThis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

..are you OK with trains? As it turns out, our family found the whistles and click-clack soothing, but I won't lie to you, the noise is noticible. If you want to avoid the train noise, I'd suggest asking for a room on the front side of the building. Aside from that, the hotel is a home run. The beds are crazy comfortable, and the rooms and lobby are chic and welcoming. Walking distance to the Hofbrauhaus, Cheesecake Factory, Urban Outfitters, Sur La Table, not to mention the riverside walking/biking trail, and a short trip to the ballparks, strip district, universities, etc. Pittsburgh is an awesome city, and this is an awesome homebase if you want to explore it!

Room Tip: Just ask for a room away from the RR tracks, if you think it would bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteelCityCampbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Quality Inn University Center
#52 of 68 in Pittsburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works

Property: SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works
Address: 2950 S Water St, Pittsburgh, PA 15203-2393
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Southside Flats
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing