We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Ranked #27 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, MI
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“FABULOUS”
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Great location - near our business meeting. The "manager's toast" (Mon - Wed) was a meal! Wonderful presentation for both breakfast & manager's toast. Lisa was wonderful, cheery and helpful during the meal times. Hotel was new and great decor! Rooms were VERY well lighted!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bj81698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    145
    36
    14
    11
See reviews for
209
141
14
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

this hotel is new and very "hip". Great people at the front desk-room was beautiful-perfect for our family. Breakfast was great too and the location-we walked to Heinz Stadium-awesome!! If I come back to Pittsburgh-I wont stay anyplace else.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ams1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2010

I stayed at the PGH Residence Inn while waiting for my new apartment right after moving to the area. This hotel was awesome.

The location was perfect -- I could easily walk downtown to work throughout my stay. It was easily to access the interstate to get to the burbs and shopping. There were tons of restaurants near and slightly further. I was able to go to a Pirates game across the street while there too.

I was there with my two dogs and the staff were super helpful and friendly. They worked with me, taking the dogs out for a short walk while the room was cleaned. When i would bring the dogs in and out the front desk staff was always ready to give them a treat. As other reviewers suggested, just up the block there was a great walk along the riverfront for dogs or for kids needing a little area to run around.

I didn't partake of the free breakfast too often, however when I did it was always good.

I would reccomend this hotel in a heartbeat to any friends who were looking for a hotel in the area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisyandmaddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

My hubby and I stayed a weekend night. The room was clean and spacious. The bed was very comfortable. We walked down to the Warhol museum. We chose to drive to the strip district but the front desk pointed out a shuttle was available within a 3 mile radius. The only negative was the parking fee of $18 since immediately next door (you can walk/no fence) is parking for $7 a day. Of course we noticed this while walking to the museum! The staff were very friendly and accomodating. So much more to do in Pittsburgh, so we will come back another time and stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davli4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed for two nights while visiting my son at CMU. This hotel lives up to all of the poistive reviews being posted to this site. It's clean, the rooms are spacious, the front desk staff is warm and welcoming, and complimentary breakfast buffet provided a nice choice. The pool is not large, but clean, while the exercise room provided a selection of equipment. Location sometimes is a challenge is Pittsburgh, and getting around to parts of town can be challenging, but that will be the same for any hotel in Pittsburgh (if you're heading to a Steelers or Pirates game, the location can't be beat - it's directly across the street from PNC PArk so don't expect quiet when there isa ballgame).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyTheTraveller61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

I'll touch on some things not covered in the other reviews. Dog friendly (at a price, but I'm not complaining) though you only have about ten square yards of grass on the property. Everything surrounding is concrete BUT an eighth or a quarter mile or so to the Riverfront and you've found a pet walking mecca. Other than dealing with the geese infestation (they don't pick up after themselves) but that has nothing to do with the hotel. No ground floor rooms so your dog is going to have to deal with an elevator. The surrounding bars and restaurants have outside seating areas and each one we went to welcomed my dog. In short, this hotel's location is incredible so it gets five stars just for that alone. The kids I saw seemed to love the place. I loved walking thirty yards to see a Pirates-Mets game.

If it is your first time you can easily miss the entrance to the lobby and parking area. I only picked up "exit" the first time but the same drive is entrance and exit. Just go slow down General Robinson to see where you need to turn in.

I wasn't overly impressed with breakfast but my tip is don't wait until the last half hour. You probably are looking at a fifty percent selection and no coffee. Since that happened two days in a row, a Friday and a Saturday, I think there may be a trend there. And since they don't check who is eating who knows if people are coming off the street to scarf down. When it's buffet and the guy if front of you takes the last eight sausages there's not much you can do.

My room faced home plate at PNC and the busy roadway but was still quiet. It had some carpet damage and missing utensils but I only cared because I didn't want to be held responsible. Otherwise, my room was spotless and perfect.

Everyone working there that we met had a smile and was friendly. There are no bell persons but tons of luggage carts if you need them. Room service through local restaurants; I ate at five of them and all were great.

If I lived closer I would probably go every month or so for a few days. It is that much fun. But then again I'm a sports fan and a bar and restaurant hopper.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

I stayed here a couple of nights ago and was sooo glad it was here instead of downtown.
Residence Inn northshore is just what the other reviewers described it as.. excellent, new, and hip... The shuttle service the hotel provides around town is convenient. I thought it was inconvenient to not be in downtown but the location is nicer, across from the PNC park , which means restaurants nearby and people there for a reason, not just hanging around. i had a great dinner at the Rivers Casino and even if one does not gamble, the view and promenade along the Ohio river is worth it. Its a 3 minute shuttle ride from the hotel.
I missed breakfast because of an early flight and Norissa at the front desk arranged a breakfast -to-go for me. Is that good service or what?

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljhomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore

Property: Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Address: 574 W General Robinson St, GPS use 214 instead of 574, Pittsburgh, PA 15212-5701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We do offer onsite parking for $25 a day with in and out privileges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing