We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, great location, great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Ranked #30 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2010

My wife and I recently spent three nights at this hotel. We chose this hotel because we like Marriott hotels and this hotel was brand new, having opened only a few months ago. We had also stayed in this area of Pittsburgh previously.
The hotel, as you would expect was immaculate. The staff were exceedingly friendly and eager to serve. Our one bedroom suite had a separate bedroom with a very comfortable mattress, closet safe and a large flat screen TV.
There was a kitchen, complete with refrigerator-freezer, dishwasher, microwave, and two counter top burners. The cabinets were stocked with plates, glassware, utensils, etc. As incredible it was, we really didn't utilize it as we ate all our meals out.
There was also a separate "living area" with a couch, chair, ottoman, dinette table with two chairs and another large flatscreen TV. All throughout the suite there was more than enough lighting.
The bathroom had a bathtub and toilet separate from the sink and counter area, a good idea when someone needed one, while another needed the other. The towels were large and thick.
The hotel provided a complimentary breakfast each morning, which although it was not the equal of what you might find at a Embassy Suites, it came very close. Some items were the same each day (cereals, waffles, fruits, juices, coffee , tea, toast, bagels), while the hot items varied from day to day (sausage, bacon, type of eggs, hashbrowns). The seating area was large, attractive and had a number of large flat screen TVs throughout. All in All, the breakfast experience was excellent.
As an added bonus, the hotel provided a complimentary maqnager's reception Monday thru Wednesday nights. The food changes daily and includes beverages. Surprisingly, the choice of drinks included free wine and beer on tap, but not carbonated soft drinks. I would have preferred a soda, but my wife enjoyed the wine.
Our first night we were getting ready to go out to a local restaurant, but when we smelled the food coming from the dining area we went to investigate. We wound up staying for what they called barbecue night and had chicken breasts, hot dogs and baked beans. There was also macaroni and potato salad, as well as fruit and a desert.
The second night had eggplant parmasean, pasta, salad, breads, etc. All the food was actually quite tasty and was a high quality. Considering it was free, they could have cut corners, but didn't.
Because of its excellent North Shore location, they charge for parking ($18 daily), as do most downtown hotels. However, most of the sights and attractions in Downtown & North Shore are eiher within walking distance, or the hotel provided complimentary shuttle service to anywhere within three miles of the hotel. We wanted to eat at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse at the PPG Plaza, so the driver dropped us off at the restaurant and when we were done, we called for a pickup and he was there within 10 minutes. Just a note, the service is free and the drivers do not have their hand out, but a small tip would seem appropriate.
One last note as to the service and the staff. We had left a pair of eyeglasses in the room which had fallen out when packing. We called the hotel and they had found the glasses and promptly mailed them to us. We offered to reimburse the hotel for the UPS charge, after all is was our negligence, but they refused to accept our offer of payment.
When come back to Pittsburgh this will be our new hotel of preference.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retired62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

578 - 584 of 595 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2010

We stopped at the Residence Inn North Shore on our way to Washington D.C. We were traveling with our 18, 16, and 13 year old sons. We took a tour of Heinz Field which was about 500 feet from the hotel. The tour was excellent. Our experience at the Residence was so enjoyable that we stayed at the hotel on our way back from D. C. and attended a Pirates game at PNC park. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. The staff was cheerful and made us feel very welcomed. We are already planning our next trip back in October for a Steelers game. Whenever we are in Pittsburgh, this is the only hotel for us.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelcoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

I was a bit nervous booking this hotel because at the time there were no reviews or even pictures on Marriott's website, however, we've stayed in many Residence Inn's before and now this is the top of my list as the best so far. Everything was spotless, ton's of room, excellent breakfast, plenty of tables for breakfast, front desk staff was busy (hotel full) and the location is the best of any MLB park we've been to on the east coast. The park is right across the street! My parents had a studio and we had a one bedroom. The kitchen area is the same but we love having two TV's so the kids can unwind with their programs and my parents, hubby and myself can watch sports. There are plenty of restaurants nearby and the hotel offer's a shuttle to area attractions (there isn't public transportation available especially on weekends) so either you drive and park yourself or you wait for a shuttle which was fine. The kitchen had everything you needed to cook a quick meal. We had taken a walking food tour of the strip district (excellent tour!) and purchased some fresh pasta, Italian meats and to die for fresh bread. We had everything we needed (strainer, good knife, cutting board etc) to have a heavenly lunch. The only problem we encounted is there is no package store or beer available for take out within walking distance of the hotel, plenty of bars but we couldn't find a six pack or a bottle of wine to bring back to the room. There is no restaurant or lounge in the hotel. We loved this hotel and are planning on staying there again next summer to see a ballgame.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marykatesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for a short family vacation. The hotel itself is wonderful-everything is new, clean, and tastefully decorated. We had a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom suite that overlooked PNC Park and the view was incredible. The only problem we had was at check-in. We arrived at 3:30 pm with the understanding that check-in was at 3:00 pm. Our room was not ready, and we had to wait in the lobby for 2 hours for the room to be ready. I had to change for dinner in the public restroom in order to make it to our reservation. We were not the only ones with this complaint-nearly everyone waiting in the lobby also had the same issue (some people were very, very upset about it and were acting very classless). The front desk insisted that it was because many people do not check out on schedule, and it puts the housekeepers behind. This is understandable, but the receptionist also made the comment that this has been happening for several weeks. However, the staff was very apologetic, courteous, and seemed to handle even the most problematic customers professionally. They also offered us free snacks from their "Market" as compensation. Once we got into our room, the remainder of the stay was great. We were able to enjoy our room and enjoy all that Pittsburgh had to offer. I will definitely stay here again in the future, and I hope by that time, the check-in issue will be resolved.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandeeR88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

This is a brand new hotel as of April 2010 so everything was sparkly. I was here for business for four weeks and brought my dog along. The hotel staff was superb. They made both of us feel right at home. The hotel is located right across the street from PNC Park and a block from the river where my dog and I could go on nice long walks. The area is a bit deserted as far as close by amenties. Quite a few bars and a couple of restaurants and that's about it. However, it was only about a 15 minutes walk for me over the bridge to downtown, so I had reasonable access to work.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Stayed two nights at this new Marriott property for business, and I have already booked again for a Labor Day getaway. Just wonderful! Yes, it's brand new so everything is spotless, but beyond that, there is a nice breakfast buffet with a huge seating area and multiple flat screen tvs throughout, another large coversation area, free internet access with real PCs., a nice pool and exercise room, and you are literally across the street from the main entrance to PNC Park. The room itself is typical Residence Inn with a full kitchen, living area and large sofa, vanity in its own area outside the bathroom.
Parking was pricey, $18, but no worse than downtown.
We got a chance to see a Pirates night game and that was so much fun, even though they lost and the rain delayed the start of the game until 10PM. Who knew they had pierogi(sp?) races?!
BTW, you can easily take the walk over the bridge to downtown for shopping.
Very, very, nice stay at the Residence Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lvs2cruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Stayed here 2 nights 5/19-20 for Brewers/Pirates. Located directly across the street from the home plate entrance to PNC Park, probabaly about a mile walk to Heinz Field and Rivers Casino. No bar, but a very short walk to several nice sports bars/restaurants, including Mullens, Soho (In Springhill Stes)Finnegans Wake,Jerome Bettis Grill and others. Walk across bridge into downtown.
Hotel must have literally just opened, it still smelled new. Comfortable room with nice kitchen, living room area w/ pullout couch, sleeping area and bathroom. One flat screen TV spins in all directions. Nice desk/business area. Excellent A/C. Did not use kitchen but it has all the amenities/utensils you may need to include dishwasher. Nice common area downstairs for hot breakfast, also included some kind of billiard room. Pantry area next to front desk where drinks/snacks/sundries could be purchased. Front desk said the hotel was having some kind of nightly social w/ nachos but we didn't attend due to ballgame. Front door to hotel always secured, need key to enter. Didn't use pool, looked average. $18 to park per day in gated lot. Internet service free, likely because I'm ATT customer, but not sure about that. If coming to Pitt again for a Pirate or Steeler game, I would not stay anywhere else- this place is outstanding.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobber6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore

Address: 574 W General Robinson St, GPS use 214 instead of 574, Pittsburgh, PA 15212-5701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $146 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We do offer onsite parking for $25 a day with in and out privileges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing