We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Ranked #32 of 73 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were visiting University of Pittsburgh and chose this Marriott on the basis of the tripadvisor rating over other properties closer to the school. We chose wisely. This hotel is immaculate and our 1 bedroom suite was spotless. The staff was helpful and the location was good. We were able to easily walk to restaurants. We had a corner room that was very spacious for the 3 of us.
The included breakfast was typical for a Marriott Residence Inn. A few hot items, including waffle maker, cereal, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunlovingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 605 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is just steps away from the pirates and steelers. The room we had was. Double and a pull out we had 5 people stay (2were kids) with no problem. In room fridge. The bathroom was smaller than the other Marriott properties down the street. Parking was not included. If staying for a Steelers game park down the street in the garage beside Andy Warhol. It's cheaper than the one beside the hotels and its just a few more steps. Breakfast is included, pool on property.
Perfect for cold games as we meet up in lobby at the end of the game if it was too cold for the kids.
They have a shuttle van that can take you places on the north shore.
Good stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oscare389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPerryRINS, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review us! It's nice to hear that our convenient location helps enhance your stay. We're entering the heart of the year and hope to see you again throughout Steelers' season!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Like many others, we had come for the weekend to take in some of the sites in this beautiful city. This hotel is very well-run and service is superb. We were welcomed with a smile and were able to check into our room, which was spotless and well-furnished. The front desk crew and shuttle drivers are excellent at providing great customer service. We took a tour of Heinz Field which was great and later in the evening, the shuttle took us to Mt. Washington for dinner at Monterey Bay Fish Grotto. The service and view were unparalleled. The next day we took the shuttle once again to the Strip District and spent half a day there before attending the Pirate game that night. We could walk to the game and also to the River Walk and Science Center which was so convenient. Breakfast both days was very well-presented by a hard-working morning staff. They kept everything clean and well-stocked even though it got very busy as the morning wore on. Our room was quiet and we slept well both nights even though there were baseball games both nights. We loved this hotel and will stay here every time we come back to the city. Why stay anywhere else when they provided everything we could ask for and more.

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor facing PNC Park and could look out the window and see the ballpark. It w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walkaday65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPerryRINS, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thank you very much for the kind review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to make the most of your trip. It seems like you made your way around!! We appreciate your business and look forward to your next stay with us!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is the perfect hotel if you are in town for either a Pirates or a Steelers game. The hotel is literally across the street from PNC Park. You walk out the front door of the hotel, cross the intersection, and walk into the home plate entrance of the ballpark. The hotel has a key-card controlled surface parking lot ($19 a day) reserved for registered guests, which means you aren’t fighting others for game day parking. Heinz Field, the Steelers (and Pitt Panthers) football stadium, is about a block or so away. I stayed for the entire Pirates game, watched the post-game fireworks, and was back in my room before the stadium had even emptied. I could watch the traffic jam while enjoying a cold beverage from the comfort of my own room (surprisingly little street noise). And it is a great room. It seems like a relatively new Residence Inn. The public areas are fine – nothing to write home about – but the room itself was top notch. As with most Residence Inns, I had a fully functional kitchen, a dining area, separate living room area, and a sleeping area. All the comforts of home. You definitely pay a premium for the quality of the room and the location, though. I paid about $75 a night more than I would have paid for one of the really nice hotels downtown, but since I was just in town for the baseball game, it was worth it. If I were in town for business, I might think otherwise, but for ballgame weekends, it’s perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wedgewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We were staying at the Residence Inn for a Pirates game while traveling through Pittsburgh. The rooms are updated and spacious, and the full kitchen is nice for extended stays. The pool and fitness areas are nice and clean as well. The breakfast is well stocked with eggs, sausage, and all the breads and juices at a typical hotel breakfast. The parking is in a lot behind the building, and is fairly secure. However, I would recommend bringing all your valuable belongings inside just in case.

What gave this hotel the 5/5 is the location, as it is really a 10 second walk to PNC Park. Can't get closer.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing PNC Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotellover987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

great location across the street from PNC park, home of the overachieving bucs,, and the best ballpark in the major leagues. good morning chow, nice suite on the ninth floor, full size fridge with icemaker and enough tools to cook a full meal should you desire to do so. the hotel shuttle will take you anywhere within reason every half hour and pick you up with a phone call. all in all this hotel is a winner. the only drawback i found was it is too near the casino. (the casino is nice too )
nothing not to like. it would have been better if the cardinals could have gotten somebody out but
thats baseball. you cannot go wrong with a stay here.

Room Tip: high floors have a little less highway noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leonard u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here many times and have always been satisfied. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Hotel is convenient to all things downtown. Most attractions are within walking distance and for those that are not, the hotel provides a shuttle to just about anywhere you would want to go downtown. We have always been impressed with the staff and their willingness to accommodate our requests. We will be staying here every time we visit the Burgh and will highly recommend it to anyone who asks.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPerryRINS, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for the kind review!! I'm glad that our staff left a nice impression and that our hotel is your choice every time you visit. We hope to keep it that way!! Best wishes, and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore

Address: 574 W General Robinson St, GPS use 214 instead of 574, Pittsburgh, PA 15212-5701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $121 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We do offer onsite parking for $25 a day with in and out privileges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing