We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right Next to PNC Park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Ranked #28 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Binghamton, NY
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Right Next to PNC Park”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

When we go to a Pirate game, I always make sure that we get a room either here or at the Springhill Suites down the road. The location of the hotel is the best asset it has. The rooms are nice, the breakfast is good, but being across the street from the park when your three year old wants to leave the game early is priceless.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pens_Fan_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    138
    34
    14
    11
See reviews for
204
134
14
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
298 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Good hotel overall. The Hotel is fairly new and has all the new Marriott amenities that the brand new hotels have like the designated Mini Market and Wi Fi all over. There is a nice gym and a small Lap pool. The hotel is directly next to the Pittsburgh Pirates Baseball Stadium and the hotel staff was turning Tailgaters away but it was not a problem. The hotel staff for the most part is really not friendly. There is free hotel WiFi but it is a mess and works 50% of the time on my 5 day stay. I stay at lots of hotels and there is one person at the fron tdesk that was always curt, never smiled and was annoyed if I asked for anything, even just buying a soda. I was waiting for the shuttle one morning and was sitting at the front desk waiting for the shuttle and they were talking about how they can't stand guests that think they can have a shuttle reservation every day even if they don't ask for it. She proceeded to tell the others on the staff how she got in an argument with a guest who worked at PNC and "told him Off" and that he was "not special becauase he had a 11 Day stay with them." The hotel is nice an a good location if you do not expect or care about having the usual and customary Marriott friendlyness you will be fine staying here. Just becarefull about the shuttle, it is a daily problem at this place. One last note: The shuttle drivers themselves were always great as was the one male worker at the front desk; just the women at the front desk.

Room Tip: The actual Marriott downtown is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Celling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

This was our second stay at this hotel and it won't be our last. We were here last year soon after it opened and it is still as new and fresh as it was last year. The suites are spacious with everything a short or long term guest would need.
The hotel guests are a mix of business travelers, couples and families. A very adequate breakfast buffet is complimentary each morning with a selection of hot items that varies daily. The seating area is quite spacious and finding an empty table was never a problem. Monday through Wednesday evenings they offer a complimentary light supper buffet, complete with even complimentary beer, wine, fruit drinks, water and coffee and tea. Strangley no soda, but they must have their reasons.
The hotel is located on Pittsburgh's North Shore and is directly across the street from PNC Park. Within walking distance is restaurants, museums, theaters, Heinz Field, The Rivers Casino and downtown Pittsburgh, just a quick walk across the Clemente Bridge (6th Street) bridge. If you don't want the exercise, or the weather isn't cooperating, the hotel provides a complimentary shuttle service to downtown locations. All in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retired62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Wife and I stayed here for 2 nights to watch our Tigers take on the Bucs at PNC Park. The park is literally right across the street which makes one of the more convenient places to stay for a ballgame. The hotel itself is very new (it does not even appear on Google Maps Street View at the time of this review). We stayed in a 9th floor studio overlooking the Honus Wagner statue at the home plate gates. The room was beautifully laid out and very comfortable. On the 9th floor, we never experienced any issues with street level noise.

The breakfast was good and we ate in both mornings. It seems like after 9AM is when it gets the busiest and you may find yourself waiting in line if you want to make a waffle. However, they do have 3 waffle makers and the line will move quick enough. It can get real busy at times, so bring your patience. There always seemed to be a place to sit either inside or out. Saturday morning stocks of many items either got very low or ran out completely before they were restocked and some items were not restocked very quickly (waffle batter). This was not a problem on Sunday, however.

Did not use the billiards room, wifi, or shuttle while staying in the hotel so can't comment on them.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here. The room was a bit pricy compared to comparable hotels in other cities, but based on my research, hotel rates across Pittsburgh seem to be a bit high.

A few things to keep in mind if you are not familiar with Pittsburgh and will be driving into the city.
1) W General Robinson St (The only way in and out of the hotel) seems to be closed a lot in the mornings on weekends. Both mornings (Saturday and Sunday) we were at the hotel, the road was closed for a walk and a bike event respectively. This only happened in the mornings and the road was completely open by 10:30AM. If you had someplace you needed to drive in the morning when the road was closed, you may have some issues getting in and out. Might have been nice if the hotel would have set up like a whiteboard or something in the main lobby with this kind of information so those coming and going would have an idea of what to expect.
2) Many of the exit numbers around the downtown area have changed. They do have some signs that will say "Old exit #" but not always. It has been a little time since I last updated the maps on my navigation system so while driving into the city I missed my exit because the exit number it was telling me didn't match the exit I needed to take. If you have a GPS system and will be driving in, please make sure it is updated before you head in. The hotel is so new, it doesn't even appear as a POI on my navigation system.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

We stayed here recently for The Pittsburgh Marathon Weekend.
It is hands down the best Hotel we have stayed at in Pittsburgh.
Then staff is very friendly and go out of their way to help. The rooms were spatious and very clean. The Hotel Shuttle is the best, going out of their way get you places, especially on a rainy extremely busy Marathon Weekend. The location is great, the Staff is Excellent, and The Hotel is Best around.
Thank you for a truely Wonderful Weekend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taterbug14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Traveled to Pittsburgh for a couple days and found this hotel on the Marriott website. I traveled with my family (including 2 small kids). Overall, the hotel is excellent. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. The rooms were in excellent shape. I travel relatively frequently for work and this is definitely one of the top 2 Residence Inn's I have stayed at

Yes, parking in $18 but it is well worth it. The hotel has a free shuttle which runs every half hour and you can call get picked up. We took the shuttle to the Science Center and had no problems with going this route. The hotel location is nice - The Science Center is within relatively easy walking distance for a healthy adult.

The morning breakfast was a typical Residence Inn experience.

When I visit Pittsburgh in the future, this hotel will be my first choice.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cwag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We initially had plans to fly down to New York city but our flight got cancelled the morning we were to fly out. Disappointed but not wanting to waste our Easter weekend, we decided to drive out to Pennsylvania. We picked out the Residence Inn in Pittsburgh since it was rated #1 on Tripadvisor and we soon found out why. The staff was nice and helpful, the room was big and comfortable. Since it was a last minute trip, the front desk suggested activities for us to do and restaurants to try out. The room was huge, with a full kitchen (including a dishwasher!) and a sofa. I'm sure if we stayed more than two nights, all the amenities would have come in handy.

The day after we checked-in, we told housekeeping that we didn't need anything when they came to our door. However, when we got back to our room later that day, they still left us a voicemail to ensure that we still didn't need housekeeping before they left for the day. It was a nice surprise we definitely did not expect and spoke to the great service we were given while we stayed at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sammy_Hayhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore

Property: Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Address: 574 W General Robinson St, GPS use 214 instead of 574, Pittsburgh, PA 15212-5701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We do offer onsite parking for $25 a day with in and out privileges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing