We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”
Review of ToonSeum

ToonSeum
Ranked #88 of 173 things to do in Pittsburgh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The ToonSeum is one of only three museums in the United State dedicated exclusively to the cartoon arts. It's located in the downtown Cultural District, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. The ToonSeum features exhibitions or original comic and cartoon art, with new exhibits every two months. It's a great place to spend a relaxing afternoon for families, children of all ages, and tourists.Our giftshop carries unique comics and books related to the cartoon arts.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We decided to visit this "museum" as our first stop on our weeklong road trip. Honestly, everything went up from there. Easy to find, we were disappointed by how little there was there for the price. We still visited because we are comic and cartoon fans. We spent more time in the gift shop area and enjoyed the products for sale than the actual museum.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    8
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not worth it unless you are a Die-Hard Sunday comics fan or an actual Cartoonist”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Kinda neat while not worth the admission. It is a gallery of original artwork mostly from sunday morning comics, pollitical comics & Mad magazine. Very small. The kids we took we very uninterested except for the very small kids area which consisted of a rack of various costumes pieces to play with and some coloring activities which consisted of paper, markers and crayons. We left after less then a hour feeling underwhelmed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevemmkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“My version of Nirvana--Like spending a few hours in the Sunday Comics”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I am a professional cartoonist and have sought out the unusual and interesting for many years. Yes, it is small, yet what it lacks in quantity, it makes up for in quality. Original stills from Bill Watterson, Lynn Johnson, Charles Schultz, Mort Walker, Bill Maudlin, the old classics - Archie, Pogo, Little Lulu...it was really a great collection and I could spend hours in their little (again, quality over quantity) book sections. A fantastic LITTLE gem. It brought me back to sprawling out on the living room floor, sunday comics in front of me, in my own world of imagination. $5 entrance fee - very reasonable if not light since it is a privately owned and run labor of love.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DHPaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Interesting, but small”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stopped here to see the Care Bear exhibit, which was interesting and worth the visit. Overall the exhibit space seemed to be on the small side, and it wasn't clear where the public space ended and private, work area started. "Are we able to go back there?"

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DA_and_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small place but likely to be appreciated by comic fans”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We went to the ToonSeum after hearing about their Batman exhibit. I was some what disappointed with the size of the place. It's a two room museum and while we were expecting to see a lot more detail about how Pittsburgh was turned into Gotham it was mostly some photo's with the directors drawings on top showing set ideas, and a lot of Batman art. That itself was interesting, even some local cartoonist's work criticizing the decision to film there. They did have the Batman cowl and mask which was pretty exciting as well as a few other props. The museum seems to be spending a lot of it's budget on marketing- we read about it everywhere, hopefully that marketing turns into higher numbers of visitors and a chance to expand their exhibits. They did have a corner with comics where you could read too. Overall, it's worth $5 but not much more and it's a short visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna0328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ToonSeum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing