We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Stay in the 'Burgh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Stay in the 'Burgh”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I surprised my wife with a trip out for our anniversary and chose to stay at the Fairmont. The rooms are a little on the pricey side, but I figured why not, for this occasion. We had a city view room with a king sized bed. Upon arrival, I noticed some chocolate covered strawberries for our anniversary (I did not ask for the added touch, but it was VERY appreciated - especially by my wife, who just might be a chocoholic!). The bed was very, very comfortable, almost like sleeping on a cloud. The bathroom had a separate tub and glass shower - very upscale and modern. Included in each room was a 'snack bar' and mini fridge stocked with everything from candy to cookies to chips to nuts and the fridge had everything from bottled water, both boss (or voss, see Grown-ups for the ha-ha reference) flat and sparkling water, coke/diet/sprite in metal bottles, an assortment of beer, wine, and mini bottles of liquor for your pleasure. Very well stocked mini-bar/fridge and snacks. Very surprised to see these offered in room (they are not free however, they are a charge). The city view is amazing, with a pretty clear line of sight to Mt Washington, left us both loving the view and wondering how amazing it would look in wintertime covered in snow. We also had valet service, a little slow getting our car and having it parked (showed up just in the nick of time for people filtering into the city for a Pirates game) but wasn't an unpleasant experience. Overall, very impressed with the hotel, and Habitat, the restaurant on the second floor has a phenomenal menu selection, leaving me in our room a little over-stuffed because the food was that good!

Room Tip: City side offers a great view of Mt. Washington, the PPG buildings, and Market Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jam5783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPittsburgh, Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent anniversary celebration at Fairmont Pittsburgh. I am pleased to learn you and your wife enjoyed the room accommodations, the views and your meal at Habitat. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Bernd Pichler,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    166
    33
    17
    10
See reviews for
192
275
26
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montecito, California
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Called hotel 3 months out for a reservation and was told "we're sold out". So I went to hotels.com and they showed rooms available because they bought up a large block of rooms on contract with Fairmont. So I'm screwed because I now have to pay more than if I booked through Fairmont.
This would never happen at my favorite chain: The 4 Seasons.
Think it cheapens the Fairmont experience when I have to haggle for a room like a used car.
Other than that, it's a very nice property, good rooms, location in downtown, easy car valet, 3rd party spa was nice.
Biggest gripe (besides reservations) was difficulty getting a cab at the hotel, valet called for one and after waiting 30 minutes, I just called Uber and I had a driver in 5 minutes. Ended up using Uber on my trip back and forth to restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank orv m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

An excellent hotel with stark modern decor and a reflection of Pittsburgh in art and artifacts, mostly bottles and jars from excavation during construction. This hotel is all you would expect a Fairmont to be but the most distinctive feature is incredible views of the city from a window wall in each room. Ours, on the 20th floor, reached from Fifth Avenue across the river to the top of Mt. Washington, and from the new PNC Tower to the Fort Pitt tunnels. The bathroom is spacious with a large shower separate from the tub. Intelligent, friendly service from everybody everywhere on the property. Among the amenities are water purification machines next to the ice machines. Silent AC, but it felt good to get outside to relieve red eyes.

Room Tip: It's hard to get a bad room. The hotel footprint is a long rectangle, with Allegheny River views...
See more room tips
Green Features: This was a "green" construction and the policy seems intact.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernest58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is an outstanding hotel. The service here is unparalleled and appointments to the room are first class. The one bedroom suite I stayed in was one of the nicest I have ever enjoyed. Easily as big as many one bedroom apartments, the living room is comfortable for watching TV, sitting at the desk working or enjoying room service at the dining table. The exquisite master bathroom has separate rain shower and soaking tub with 2 separate sinks. Luxurious bathrobes, make this a great place to relax.

For a special treat, book a massage in the spa and relax in the steam room. Views of Mt. Washington are beautiful at night.

Just a great place

Room Tip: Any room facing Mt. Washington is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanJ777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPittsburgh, Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Susan,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased to learn you enjoyed the room accommodations and our spa. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Pittsburgh soon.

Warm regards,
Bernd Pichler,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Service was exceptional
Room were comfortable and classy. Staff went the extra mile to make sure we had everything we needed, location was with walking distance to downtown shops, restaurants and sites.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great hotel and staff that cares about their guests. Convenient location and great services! Concierge wrote my children a personal note and left in room with Pirates hats for the game....made for two happy kids!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Christy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The service is nothing short of excellent and the accommodations are 5***** Big comfy bed, comfortable chair, desk, huge bathrooms with big shower, a mini bar area with Keurig and an umbrella and binoculars if you need. Also, the robes and complimentary slippers made staying here that much more comfortable.

The best part was there were rooms available on a weekend after our reservations through Hotels.com fell through. NEVER USE HOTELS.COM. They will mess up your reservations and not give you anything in return. They never confirmed with the hotel. A friend also had their room given away.

Green Features: Excellent. You can reuse your towels and sheets. The hotel is so clean you should reuse for at least 2-3 days.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPittsburgh, Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Kevin,

Thank you for posting your review and sharing your wonderful comments. I am pleased to learn we were able to accommodate you for a weekend reservation and you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Bernd Pichler,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,025 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.7 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Pittsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Pittsburgh

Property: Fairmont Pittsburgh
Address: 510 Market St, at Fifth Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-1820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#1 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Pittsburgh 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Pittsburgh, Fairmont Pittsburgh is within walking distance to the city’s thriving Cultural District, Market Square, eclectic shopping and world-class sporting venues. The Four Diamond, 185-room property is LEED certified at the Gold level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Pittsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing