We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff makes the difference!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Mississauga
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Staff makes the difference!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Just returned from a three night stay at the Fairmont Pittsburgh (in town for a conference). A luxury hotel, with amazing staff! From the moment you enter the hotel, you are treated like royalty. They can't do enough to help you out! From Nancy at the concierge desk who spent extra time trying to find information for my flight home to the room service delivery, to the fitness reception and then to front door staff - all outstanding. The hotel room was luxurious with big windows overlooking the river (and the nightly baseball games). Everything you needed was in the room - from an umbrella (just in case) to extra slippers. Truly a wonderful hotel and fantastic staff.

Green Features: Very good at recycling in the rooms; towels and sheets can be refreshed if you want them to be; efficient lights (with auto turnoffs in the closet - nice touch).
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelagh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPittsburgh, Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Shelagh,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am happy to learn our colleagues made your time in Pittsburgh enjoyable, and I will be sure to share your feedback with them. Thank you also for recognizing and appreciating our sustainability efforts. We take great pride in our LEED certification and green initiatives.

We hope you will consider Fairmont Pittsburgh again should you return to Pittsburgh.

Kind regards,
Bernd Pichler, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    166
    32
    17
    10
See reviews for
189
271
26
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Newton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The staff at the Pittsburgh Fairmont are the best the city! The moment you arrive the entire staff makes you feel like a long lost friend.

The location of the hotel and the view from the rooms can't be beat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPittsburgh, Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Bill,

Thank you so much for you wonderful review. I am thrilled to learn our colleagues made you feel welcome during your recent stay. I will certainly recognize them for their outstanding service.

We hope to welcome you back to Fairmont Pittsburgh soon.

Sincerely,
Bernd Pichler, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairlawn
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Great location. Staff is very accomadating. Dining was one of the best I have ever had. Habitat, food was fresh, displayed so artistically! Very different . Glad we did not venture out, no need. It was all right there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPittsburgh, Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Heather,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and share your feedback with us. I am so pleased to learn you enjoyed your meal at Habitat. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Bernd Pichler, Fairmont Pittsburgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

A few colleagues and were displaced from our first hotel in downtown Pittsburgh and the Fairmont had one room available. Although it was pricey, we had to stay somewhere. We were placed in a suite on the 21st floor with an amazing view. The ladies at the front desk were pleasant as could be. Ethan the concierge gave us the BEST recommendation for authentic Italian food (Il Pizzaolio). As we were leaving, a lovely lady on the way out made sure to ask if our stay was pleasant. It was just an atmosphere of service. As we were leaving the front lobby, Ron made sure he held or bags while we grabbed breakfast and then he loaded our vehicle without hesitation when we returned.

I was a bit disappointed with the lack of free services with such a high price tag (no free wi-fi, no courtesy waters, etc...), however, the service couldn't be beat. I would love to stay here again. Great job and a lovely staff!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPittsburgh, Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Diane,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am so pleased to learn you enjoyed your recent visit. I will share your feedback with Ethan, Ron and our front desk staff and recognize them for their outstanding service. Please keep in mind that we do offer complimentary glass water bottles in each guestroom that can be refilled at the water filter stations located on each floor. In addition, I would encourage you to join Fairmont President's Club, our guest loyalty program, for future stays. It is free to join and includes complimentary WiFi along with many other benefits (www.fairmont.com/fpc/).

Thank you again for your kind feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Fairmont Pittsburgh soon!

Sincerely,
Bernd Pichler, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Level Contributor
258 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 662 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Wow, was this an interesting place. Our in-house agent is a newly graduated masters degree in science. I know that green is king or queen in all university studies these days, but perhaps there should be an exception in picking hotels. The Fairmont Pittsburgh is a beautiful place and a beautiful example of why green needs some rethinking when it comes to satisfying the tastes of international guests. The overall architecture is some public service employee's dream.
As their blurbs all over the hotel will tell you, the hotel was developed according to sustainable design and construction guidelines. It received a ‘Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED™) certification’ at the Gold level from the US Green Building Council. The Fairmont has a ‘philosophy of operational sustainability and responsible tourism.’
The place is all steel and glass, tinted and un-tinted. This reminded me of the early days of green architecture in Rio. Trouble is, they hotel construction used so much energy that with all the greenness it never makes up for the carbon outlay. However, Pittsburgh was once the steel capital of the world, so why complain.
I did enjoy the stay. Largely, this was because the staff is extremely good. Training really comes to the fore. Add to this the ‘can do’ attitude of people in the Pittsburgh area, and you have a great atmosphere. The restaurant situation is such that you should eat away from the hotel. It has decent food, but downtown Pittsburgh has shockingly good and reasonably priced restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roemanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The room was nice, the lowest level is 14 so they all seem to have good views and the glass wall opens the room to the city. Interesting exhibits of items found during the building excavation, our floor had a case with items from a German Boarding house located there in the 1840s, well curated. The Lithophanes in the lobby exhibit are sure worth a stop, do press the background light. Very nice staff, detail oriented, such as seeing that I get my preferred paper in the morning. We cycled the city (weekend) and it was great (river trails help getting around), though concierge was not too current on biking options. Only downside is the carpeting in the room, due for replacing, at least in 1507. How about wood floors?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPachon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPittsburgh, Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased to learn that our colleagues were able to meet your specific needs and make your stay enjoyable. Thank you for the feedback regarding the carpet in your guestroom. I will share that with our engineering department. We hope you'll consider Fairmont Pittsburgh again when visiting Pittsburgh.

Warm regards,
Bernd Pichler, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Before booking ask if there is a concert scheduled on the square. If there is you will want to ask to be on the other side of the building. Apparently there are not any noise ordinance in Pittsburgh and the music is played loud enough to rattle windows and cause the headboard to vibrate on the 21rst floor!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Katharine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPittsburgh, Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Katharine,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm very sorry to learn that your stay was impacted by the concert taking place in Market Square. Please know that our guests usually enjoy quiet and restful stays in our guestrooms, and I am sorry this wasn't your experience. We hope that you'll consider visiting again.

Sincerely,
Bernd Pichler, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 70 in Pittsburgh
3,946 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.7 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Pittsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Pittsburgh

Property: Fairmont Pittsburgh
Address: 510 Market St, at Fifth Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-1820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Pittsburgh 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Pittsburgh, Fairmont Pittsburgh is within walking distance to the city’s thriving Cultural District, Market Square, eclectic shopping and world-class sporting venues. The Four Diamond, 185-room property is LEED certified at the Gold level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Fairmont Pittsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing