We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pittsburgh, who knew?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Ranked #6 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Two caveats: This was my first trip to Pittsburgh and the only Pittsburgh hotel I've stayed. Second, we were upgraded to a suite--but even if the standard rooms are half as wonderful, I would still imagine them to be plenty nice. This is a first class, terrific hotel. Staff were pleasant and professional. Rooms are new, clean and well designed-Views and location are the tops.The lobby bar is not my style, but the lobby itself was nice, modern, tons of light. This hotel is a winner. I only wish it were the standard.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoneTrippn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (871)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

569 - 575 of 871 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

On the plus side:
The hotel looks nice and is well furnished. The location is central. The rooms are large and new looking. And as a Fairmont PC Platinum member, I was welcomed by an enormous cheese platter.

On the negative side:
The walls are thin and I could hear my neighbour's TV.
I don't know about other Pittsburgh hotels but the prices charged by the Fairmont were pretty high.
As a Fairmont PC Platinum member, I should have Fairmont Fit gym clothing provided but this was forgotten. And Fairmont never awarded me frequent flyer miles for my stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPittsburgh, Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry to learn that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. I have forwarded your comments regarding Fairmont Fit to our Health Club and updated your profile to ensure that this does not happen again. Please reach out to me directly at the hotel and I would be happy to look into your frequent flyer points.

Sincerely,
Bernd Pichler, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Revisited the Pittsburgh Fairmont last month and, once again, found it to be the only place to book downtown. Initially, I had to overcome some booking challenges because the Pirates were still in the running when I called. Regrettably, my hopes for a Pirates/Red Sox world series were not fulfilled. Thanks to Stephen Crawford (Assistant Front Office Manager), and Lisa McLean of the Fairmont President's Club, I received an upgrade that will spoil me for all future business trips. However, in the past, every room has been well-appointed, often with a great view of downtown and/or the river and nearby hills.

The health club has great equipment and even nicer people. The hotel's location is near one of the city's most prominent squares, with numerous restaurants and coffee shops within an easy stroll. The hotel's AV engineer solved a minor connection problem and then proceeded to link the music in my iPad to the sound system- what a treat!

I very much look forward to returning in a few months and was even inspired to stick with the Fairmont chain when booking a forthcoming pre-Christmas trip to Santa Monica.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPittsburgh, Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review. I am pleased to learn that Stephen was able to make your stay a memorable one, and I have recognized him for his outstanding service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Pittsburgh soon.

Sincerely,
Bernd Pichler, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here in January 2013. It was a wonderful experience, we went for his birthday and had an amazing time. Took the subway over to the casino and had dinner at Elements, which was really good but REALLY expensive. Then again,we did order $400 worth of food, and it was a lot of food lol (We had a gift certificate for the meal.) Great hotel and great time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jordanz107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The hotel is nicely laid out and the staff are helpful. The restaurant is a little overpriced especially for breakfast but no more than other hotels in the same class. It's conveniently positioned for Market Square which offers a variety of cheaper alternatives for food, as well as convientienty positioned for other downtown attractions. Use the valet park rather than the overpriced self park directly behind the hotel, or one of the other self parks in Pittsburg if you can find space in them

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Eddy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPittsburgh, Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and share your experience with us. I am pleased to learn that our staff was helpful during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Bernd Pichler,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We walked here from our hotel 2 blocks away. The porter took our coats and stored them for us. The event was on the 2nd floor in the ballroom. In the lobby there is an in wall fire feature with comfortable seats in front. A modern staircase that rises to the 2nd floor. The bar is in the rear of the lobby. When we where leaving about 9pm, there was a jazz trio and singer preforming in front of the bar, almost in the lobby. The front deak staff were very helpful.
The staff at the wedding were very professional and attentive. Attention to detail is evident throughout the hotels public areas.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The 3 yr old Fairmont Hotel in Pittsburgh, PA is definitely worth a booking.
Parking is a tad difficult, as the hotel is in the middle of a rather congested
downtown. However...a great destination.

Only negative, were the wait staff in the ground floor bar/lounge, Andy's.
On different evenings, a young person was totally distracted, and would not
even wait for us to finish placing our order. His performance of this was
repeated 2-3 times. When our order and drinks would arrive....he'd hurry
and place them on the table...and almost run away.....he was pleasant, as were
our group of 5 .... but no one was able to get an ordinary order from him. Other
staff was similar, and never even checked back to see if we needed additional
drinks, food, etc, etc.....
2 days like this. VERY different?!!!!???? Naturally, the cost of a downtown lobby bar =
prices were very steep, too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WindyCity2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.3 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 72 in Pittsburgh
4,380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh
0.5 mi away
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Pittsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Pittsburgh

Address: 510 Market St, at Fifth Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-1820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#1 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $206 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Pittsburgh 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Pittsburgh, Fairmont Pittsburgh is within walking distance to the city’s thriving Cultural District, Market Square, eclectic shopping and world-class sporting venues. The Four Diamond, 185-room property is LEED certified at the Gold level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Fairmont Hotels, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairmont Pittsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing