We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The best rooms and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Pittsburgh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best rooms and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was our special anniversary splurge that didn't cost an arm or a leg. The Deluxe room on the higher floors were an excellent upgrade and we had a great time using the binoculars that came with the room.

Room service was just as promised and boy, did they deliver. The front desk was also exceptional as they accommodated my request for more coffee and shampoo within 5 minutes.

Location-wise, this hotel was right in the middle of everything. It is less than a block from Market Square and also a block from Heinz Hall.

We will be coming back for our next anniversary!

*Note: next time, we might consider the upgrade to the largest hotel room in the city. They offered it to us and we didn't think we would need it... next time, we may take the offer!

Room Tip: Higher floors = great view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drivenfaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    147
    29
    14
    10
See reviews for
164
239
23
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I loved everything about this hotel, except that I didn't have more time to spend there. The lobby is a sight to see, complete with a fireplace as you walk in through the revolving doors--very welcoming on a cold day.

The large room was excellent, with a great bathroom as well. The fitness center was impressive. I wish I had had time for the spa. Breakfast was delicious in the restaurant.

I will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmlco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
old forge
Level Contributor
170 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

gorgeous lobby, lively jazz scene on weekend, in the heart of theatre district. top notch service. room is spacious and luxurious with great views from floor to ceiling.the fitness floor has top notch equipment and amenties with spectaular views. beautiful hotel inside and out! love pittsburgh!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ofdevils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPittsburgh, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay and your time in Pittsburgh. I will certainly share your wonderful feedback with our colleagues. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Pittsburgh soon.

Sincerely,
Bernd Pichler,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Hotel looks fresh and new..great lobby and entrance area with live jazz on weekends. Gym is a 10 ..rooms are large and modern..bathrooms good..give it an 8 ..Restaurant good but overpriced ..lacks atmosphere and coming from new york's choices ,,just nothing special .save your money .Comfy beds
Service had a few slips but overall the effort was there..nice warm people . pittsburgh is a small town ..really ..though its a city you just get the feeling its people like it that way..and hotel reflects that ..its a Fairmont ..very nice decor ..but its still not a major city and lacks the training and subtleties f a ritz or four seasons
Value was great though and thats why iI'd return ..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nathan822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven Fields
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

One of the most well-appointed hotels that we have stayed in. The rooms were large and nicely decorated with great city views (with a floor to ceiling glass wall) and bathrooms which were well laid out and luxurious. Nice touches including an anniversary tray and champagne. The rooms even had binoculars for sight seeing! We were pleased with the service staff including those in the health center. We will go back again.

Room Tip: We thought the deluxe rooms provided a nice upgrade for the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LARSevenFields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I'm still checked into this hotel, but I'm going to go ahead and write my review now, as I don't think I'll be disappointed in the next 11 hours before checkout. This is a clean, modern hotel. Staff are extremely helpful-- including escorting guests to the elevator to show them how to use the card-security system. Jazzy cocktails at the bar. Great gym-- the largest I've seen on business travels. Functional large hotel room with functional large bathroom. The capper? Room service. Killer food-- the beet salad, vegetarian burger, and sweet potato fries were great! I'm only here for one night, but this hotel far exceeded my expectations. I'm hoping to find myself in Pittsburgh again soon.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank m3grrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week over the summer and everything abt this hotel was fabulous! We even had a late check in and everyone was still very gracious and friendly. Very helpful getting all of our things to our room. Our view of the city was amazing. It was great to be in the heart of the city, we loved being close to everything. The concierge was the best. Very knowledgable. The hotel bar was so modern and full of very good and quirky drinks. The bartender was very nice and very social. We look forward to staying here in the future!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPittsburgh, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and share your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay last summer and will certainly share your feedback with our colleagues. We look forward to welcoming you to Fairmont Pittsburgh again soon.

Sincerely,
Bernd Pichler,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 3,293 reviews
Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
#2 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Strip District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Pittsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Pittsburgh

Property: Fairmont Pittsburgh
Address: 510 Market St, at Fifth Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-1820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#1 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Pittsburgh 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Pittsburgh, Fairmont Pittsburgh is within walking distance to the city’s thriving Cultural District, Market Square, eclectic shopping and world-class sporting venues. The Four Diamond, 185-room property is LEED certified at the Gold level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Pittsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing