We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit here - still the best in Pittsburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Ranked #6 of 74 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed here two years ago and just had the pleasure of staying in the Pittsburgh Fairmont. The property is still the best hotel in Pittsburgh by a long shot.

PROS:

Rooms - the rooms are modern, comfortable and up to date. Great bed and nice bathrooms with separate tub/shower. I do wish the door to the bathroom sealed off the bathroom and there was an exhaust fan. I like having a keurig coffee machine and the refillable water jugs too. Really nice rooms.

Valets - the guys working the valet stand are excellent. Friendly and quick to serve. We used them for parking and getting a cab. Couldn't be nicer.

Room Service - we did breakfast twice via Room Service and it was consistently excellent. I like that you don't have to sign for the bill - it's just included and no pressure for additional gratuity.

Spa/Gym. - one of the best hotel gyms of ANY property (it's shared with the residents who live in the condo portion of the building.) We also booked massages with a therapist named Dylan who was there two years ago when I visited. Absolutely excellent and experienced therapist.

CONS
Lobby drink service - the only bad thing was the level of service in the lobby area. We were there on a Saturday night and it was busy. There was a great jazz band and singer there and the crowd was having a good time. The problem was the wait staff working the area outside of the bar (The bar folks were very good). Our experience was they could have cared less about anyone - even after the crowd left the waitress working could not have been less interested in helping us with a drink or ordering some food, etc. Really surprising considering how the rest of the staff works. The other waitress couldn't wait to leave. Maybe they were having a bad night.


All in all - I highly recommend the Fairmont Pittsburgh. This is not like most other Fairmont Hotels - it's modern contemporary in style in a beautiful new glass and steel building with very good service and great rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the river and PPG place. All rooms have decent views from what I can tell - th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonFTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (891)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

683 - 689 of 891 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just returned from a special family weekend getaway at the Pittsburgh Fairmont. This was a special birthday/95-year old Grandmother weekend and Tom the Front Desk Manager single-handedly ruined our entire weekend with his lying and deceitful ways. We were originally offered by Carey an upgrade for "a small extra cost" to a suite only to be told by Tom, who was lurking close by and listening to everything that was being said as I was checking in, that those rooms were the last to be cleaned and probably wouldn't be available until 10 PM that night! I was checking in at 4:30 PM! What hotel...especially a hotel such as a Fairmont!....doesn't have their rooms cleaned at 4:30 in the afternoon??? This was obviously a lie and Tom continued to create lies through the check-in process. First we were being told we would be on the "top floor" due to our special family event (this hotel is a hotel within an office buidling...the top floor of the hotel IS NOT the top floor of the building...their are many more floors with offices above the hotel floors) and then all of a sudden I was handed room keys for the 19th floor by Tom. What happened to the 23rd floor "Top Floor", Tom???

This is so unfortunate as this could have been a lovely family weekend getaway. Instead, Tom the Front Desk Manager and his lies created a sense of animosity the entire weekend even though he tried to undo his failures by offering my mother some lame chocolate sweets in her room as a birthday gesture.

After this experience, Fairmont will NEVER be a hotel to the par of a Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton and failed in every possible way of taking care of the customer.

I have no clue what would be better in Pittsburgh....but I'll certainly be searching for a better option for the next family get-together.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank KCsDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPittsburgh, Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Mr. Clark,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am very sorry to learn that your weekend was not an enjoyable one. Your experience is certainly not in keeping with the level of service that we strive to provide to guests. I am available to speak with you directly and investigate this issue further should you desire. Please also know that our guestrooms are located on the top section of the building on floors 14-23. Once again, we are sorry to hear of your negative experience.

Sincerely,
Jean-Francois Lincourt,
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The hotel is well placed in the heart of Pittsburgh. Restaurants are nearby and Point Park and the River Walk are easily accessible. As a member of the President's Club, staff always take care to be attentive. I was concerned about what appeared to be a camera above the entrance to the restroom.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The front office manager at this hotel exemplifies "attention to service". After discovering a misunderstanding on a folio from a recent stay, I emailed the concierge and received an immediate response from the front office manager both by phone and email. Commendable in a day and age where good service is hard to find!
The gentleman was knowledgeable and professional, taking time to listen to my concern and without any runaround resolved my issue quickly.
THere are MANY good reasons to stay at the Fairmont Pittsburgh - here is yet another on that list to make this your "home away from home".

Room Tip: Have yet to have a "bad" room at this facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPittsburgh, Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased to learn that our front office manager was able to resolve your billing issue efficiently and leave you with a positive impression of Fairmont Pittsburgh. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Jean-Francois Lincourt
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed at The Fairmont for a two day business meeting. The property is new, well laid out, we'll staffed and well decorated. The location in downtown Pittsburgh is exceptional....within a short walk to the center cities restaurants and theaters.

Room Tip: Bathrooms are spacious with large showers and soaking tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travels-with-Billy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great hotel, great room, great location, great hospitality, great location, great service and great ease of parking. Much nicer than some of the other higher priced hotels in the city, and for a much more affordable price. Thanks Fairmont for an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Bobbi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I visit Pittsburgh once a year from the UK to attend a Steelers game. We have tried several hotels but were delighted when the Fairmont opened two years ago. It is in a different league from the existing hotels in the city. The rooms are very well appointed, large and well lit. The separate shower cubicle is such a pleasure and one of the best we've come across. The bathroom lights are multiple and the ones for the large mirror are in the right direction -not always the case with many good hotels! When one travels a great deal, the amenities in a room really matter. This one gets it right. The staff are excellent and friendly. Our only complaint was poor service in the restaurant. The staff, with some exceptions, were slow and inattentive.

Room Tip: Facing Mount Washington is a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.3 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 74 in Pittsburgh
4,488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Pittsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Pittsburgh

Address: 510 Market St, at Fifth Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-1820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $211 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Pittsburgh 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Pittsburgh, Fairmont Pittsburgh is within walking distance to the city’s thriving Cultural District, Market Square, eclectic shopping and world-class sporting venues. The Four Diamond, 185-room property is LEED certified at the Gold level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Pittsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing