We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best of everything! can't wait to visit again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“the best of everything! can't wait to visit again!”
Reviewed September 8, 2011

this hotel was fabulous! the staff was sooo nice. there is a small bar/restaurant in the lobby. the room was a standard king with a nice comfy bed, roomy bath with separate shower and tub - relaxing rain fixture in the shower. the tv had a great variety of stations including music. the in room mini bar had a variety of options. the one feature that we enjoyed the most was the water! they give you a tall glass container and you head down the hall to where the ice machine is and help yourself day and night to fantastic tasting water - hot or cold. on top of everything else, the location is fantastic. we walked everywhere. for us it was great access to the north side by pnc park where we visited the aviary, warhol museum and of course, gus & yia yia for an ice ball! we also walked around downtown to see the amazing city and the great buildings/architecture. we also walked over to the strip district and went to the area history museum.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USCfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    165
    32
    16
    10
See reviews for
187
265
26
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Very happy with our stay at the Fairmont for a wedding reception held at the hotel.

All hotel staff were responsive and friendly including the bar manager who at times had to deal with some late night revelry in our group...
Our room and the function area were both excellent as was room service breakfast.

The shower was not the best I've had, and our bathroom door was a bit temperamental, but other than that the bathroom was great and we were very happy.

The keys were swipe access only and were faultless.

All rooms have a large water bottle you can use to fill up with free filtered water.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercury_Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, ny
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

I've never been to pittsburgh, but I am sure that if you want something a step up from the typical chain/convention type hotels you should stay her. It's not a W—it's a little nicer but a little less hip. The only issue I have is paying for wireless. My husband and I both have laptops and we actually had to pay $13 per night per computer. Outrageous. But other than that, the people who work here are really nice. Everything is clean and bright and the gym is GREAT. I didn't love the location (market square) a little too "downtown" but I still think it's the best choice in town and even in another city I would still consider it a great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parksloper718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPittsburgh, Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and share your experience with us. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay. For future visits, please keep in mind that Fairmont Presidents Club members receive complimentary Internet access at all Fairmont locations. The FPC program is free to join, and I'd be happy to speak with you directly about it. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Pittsburgh in the near future!

Sincerely,
Jon Mathews, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Don't get me wrong--this is a nice,clean,well located property. This is also a very expensive place to stay that lacks the typical things found at properties of this price
1. evening turndown service--not that i need a mint on my pillow, but i will need clean towels in the morning since i used the one's in the room when i went out that evening

2. Comlimentary morning coffee in the lobby.

3. When I made my reservation for a group wedding rate that i was attending and asked if parking was included i was told it was not negotiated by the arranger.

INSIDER TIP--if you are there on the weekend, just pay the in and out--it will add up to less than the overnight valet.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

This is the second time we stayed at the Fairmont Hotel in Pittsburgh. The rooms are clean, staff is pleasant and the food is good. I have a daughter attending Pitt, so this hotel is a great location for us to visit her as well as family living in the area. On the negative: Parking at the hotel is approx $30 per day, Go over your reservation at check in, they had the wrong price and at check out again after we went over our rate they still got it wrong! Overall it is a nice hotel, not a great hotel. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karo8083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2011

I've stayed in a number of hotels in downtown Pittsburgh, including the Westin which is where I usually stay in most cities. This is by far the best hotel. The location is close to everything and is super convenient for baseball games. The staff was helpful and friendly. I will stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conwali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

My husband and I booked one night at the Fairmont for a wedding we attended in Pittsburgh. There is almost nothing negative I can say about this place. The room we booked -- a standard double queen bed room -- was fantastic! The decor was sleek and modern, the view was decent (considering we did not pay extra for a room with a view), it was very clean, the staff members were all incredibly helpful with every request, the bathroom was immaculate with a nice rain shower head and separate bath, and it was only a fifteen minute drive from the University of Pittsburgh where the wedding was located. We could see the baseball stadium from our room, and it was just a five minute walk to restaurants, the waterfront, and other area attractions. We thoroughly enjoyed the stay, and we will definitely book this hotel again when we are in town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPittsburgh, Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review. I'm pleased to learn that you and your husband enjoyed your recent stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Pittsburgh in the near future.

Best regards,
Jon Mathews, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 70 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,853 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Pittsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Pittsburgh

Property: Fairmont Pittsburgh
Address: 510 Market St, at Fifth Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-1820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#1 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Pittsburgh 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Pittsburgh, Fairmont Pittsburgh is within walking distance to the city’s thriving Cultural District, Market Square, eclectic shopping and world-class sporting venues. The Four Diamond, 185-room property is LEED certified at the Gold level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Fairmont Pittsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing