We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Transported back to childhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of S&D Polish Deli

S&D Polish Deli
Ranked #39 of 2,150 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: Polish, European, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Strip District
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
177 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Transported back to childhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Being Polish in ancestry, this was a pilgrimage of sorts. I bought 4 pierogi, 2 with sauerkraut and 2 with potato and farmers cheese. Yum. I took the lecze stew to go. It was tasty but not blown away.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bfly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    30
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious pierogies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Visited S & D Polish Deli while on a walking tour of '"The Strip", Tasted the potato and farmer cheese perogie and the potato and cheddar cheese. The dough was very light and the filling was abundant. Would come back to purchase!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pittsburgh Poles have it good at S&D's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Other than a kielbasa or two, I've never really had a full Polish meal. While looking for a place that served pierogies in the area (in Pittsburgh on business), I happened upon this one. A deli that served up some polish dishes? Why not? We were not disappointed. The food was really good. I got the Kielbasy platter with kielbasa, pierogies, and haluszki. My friend got the pork stew over potato dumplings which was really good too. If you are looking for other Polish food items besides meats and cheeses, you can find them there. Homemade slaw and sauerkraut by the pound, pickles, etc. Great stuff!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meelays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
137 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Real Polish plates”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Not just great pierogi and kielbasa but outstanding haluzski . A great price for an outstanding Polish meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
432 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“no homemade pierogi's?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

they have frozen pierogi's from a few different vendors - very disappointed even during lent - on Easter W-end - no homemade pierogi's! It is a dying art I guess....
Bought two cabbage rolls w/ sauce. Plenty of cheeses and variety of other ethnic foods to purchase.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank beardogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed S&D Polish Deli also viewed

 

Been to S&D Polish Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing