We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service but too close for comfort”

Cioppino Restaurant & Cigar Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Cioppino Restaurant & Cigar Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #139 of 2,167 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Strip District
Cross street: 23rd Street and Smallman
Description: Savor a meal from our seasonal dinner menu featuring fresh seafood, hand-cut steaks and chops house fare with a focus on local produce and livestock. Our menu is also vegetarian, vegan and gluten-free friendly. Happy Hour is available Monday-Friday, from 5pm – 7pm, within the Bar Lounge Area and offers 1/2 Off Select Bar Food Items, $5 House Wines By The Glass, 1/2 Off Draft Beers and a $5 Feature Cocktail created by our Bartenders. Our daily promotions, combined with the best in live entertainment every Thursday through Saturday night, make the Bar Lounge at Cioppino the perfect setting to meet for cocktails or take in the game on one of the 4-large plasma televisions. Our full seasonal dinner menu is available in the Bar Lounge Area and Cigar Bar daily. Our extensive wine list features over (450) domestic and international labels and was awarded the 2009, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator magazine. Visit our separate onsite Cigar Bar, voted “Best of Guys Night Out” and “Best Cigar Bar in Pittsburgh” by local CBS affiliates. The rich mahogany surroundings and plush leather seating makes this the perfect spot to close your next business deal while enjoying your favorite cigar, after-dinner drink or specialty cocktail. Wind down after a long day by enjoying a selection from our collection of over (300) whiskeys. Our onsite humidor houses our premium cigar collection but feel free to bring along your personal selection at no additional charge. Two large plasma televisions embrace the walls for the sports enthusiast. Complimentary Valet Parking is offered after 5pm daily.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food and service but too close for comfort”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic meal (veal chop) and dessert (sampler). The restaurant was easy to find and provided free valet parking. Our waitress was very attentive and answered any questions we had about the menu. The only issue was the close proximity to our dining neighbors, to the point that we could hear their entire conversations. It certainly took away from an overall great experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    28
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining Experience”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had a wonderful dining experience last night at Cioppino. We were early for our reservation so we enjoyed a nice relaxing cocktail at the bar. The bartender was attentive, friendly and efficient. She checked with us regularly to see if we needed anything.
I had the pork chop dinner. My pork chop was thick,juicy and cooked to perfection . It was served with braised cabbage and potatoes which were delicious. Our waiter brought the 4 of us complimentary polenta. I normally do not care for polenta. Cioppino's polenta was absolutely delicious. Everyone enjoyed their meals. The service was friendly and very good. The trio playing smooth jazz were very good and really added to the enjoyable atmosphere of the restaurant. It is an urban, cosmopolitan experience to dine at Cioppino's and we are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pittsburgh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. VA
Level Contributor
215 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“In a rush and staff was terrific!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Pittsburgh was a busy place on the particular night we found Cioppino's. we were due downtown at a certain time and had to coordinate with another car of out of towners. Stumbled upon Cioppino and was so happy to find a table. Our waiter was very accommodating. The food was delicious, special of the night wild salmon was fantastic. I got the lobster risotto, is it possible to have too much lobster?? Truthfully I would have enjoyed a little more risotto!
Good food, great service, friendly staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tntcyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
385 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, okay food”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This restaurant has been created to appeal to the aesthetic. It is quite elegant and unique in that aspect. The food, though fresh, is not so memorable. The service was very good and friendly, and I could see myself revisiting Cioppino for that, and give the food another try.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Calypso007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
228 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing atmosphere.”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We went here to enjoy a cigar and a couple of drinks. The cigar bar is seperate from the other bar. They were playing live jazz music in the other bar. The cigar room was very relaxing with comfortable seats and very nice mahogany walls. This place is a bit pricey but a nice meeting place for friends especially if you enjoy cigars.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cioppino Restaurant & Cigar Bar also viewed

 

Been to Cioppino Restaurant & Cigar Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing