We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place on a chilly afternoon.”
Review of Yuzu Kitchen

Yuzu Kitchen
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 7/22
8:00 PM
Ranked #392 of 2,513 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Restaurant details
Reviewed April 29, 2019

On a recent visit to check out Pitt for my son, we explored downtown. Hunger started setting in, so I did a quick search and off we were to find Yuzu Kitchen. Our party of 4 was seated upstairs. It was a Tuesday afternoon around 11:30 a.m. We were joined by what appeared to be young professionals that work in the area. We ordered the Curry Chicken Sticks as a starter. The chicken was flavorful; however, the boys were not fans of the peanut curry sauce. I enjoyed it. We ordered 2 Steak Stir Fry plates, a Sukiyaki Ramen, and a Classic Shio Paitan. The boys couldn’t stop talking about how good the Steak Stir Fry was! The ramens were also great. Ramen portions were large, stir fry portion was average.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 4boyzntucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 16 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2019

We got there in time for happy hour and loved the happy hour drink and food specials. The tofu appetizer we got might be the best tofu I've ever eaten and the bao were delicious. The main dishes we got (stir fried noodles with shrimp & peanut noodles with shrimp) were also great. Our waitress (Sarah S.) was one of the best waitresses ever and super friendly and stylish. The decor is really cool and even the regular prices are very reasonable. They even take reservations on OpenTable. I can't wait to go back!

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KatKealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2019 via mobile

Seven of us met for happy hour on a Friday. We had made reservations for 8, but one did not show up. We were put at a table in the back that barely fit the seven of us. It had two benches, not chairs and we had nowhere to put our coats except on the floor. The happy hour menu is not really worth it. No great deals. For instance, you get a dollar off their cheapest beer from $5 to $4. All the food was fried. When our main course came, my stir fry was cold. Everyone else thought their food ranged from good to ok. We were charge a 20% gratuity...fine we had a large party, but when we went to split up the bill, we had 6 credit cards and one with cash. We did a quick calculation and put in the money. They kicked back the cash saying we were 34 cents short on a $191 bill. I have had other restaurants downtown just round my change to the nearest dollar, but this one wanted their 34 cents even after a 20 tip already added and serving a cold main dish. And yes, the manager was the one who split the bill. There are too many better options downtown than to visit Yuzu again.

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank jbaker95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2019 via mobile

Yuzu Kitchen has a warm, inviting atmosphere coupled with expertly prepared food. The chef cooks with love and it’s evident. A must try is the General Tso Shrimp, it’s crunchy on the outside, perfectly cooked on the inside, and the sauce is delicious! Also, the chick fried bao is on point!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Ashley_B1299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2019

Live and work nearby so I stop in for lunch with coworkers, dinner with friends or to pick up takeout. The ramen is so good and the portions are large. It's usually not busy and not particularly fancy, but the great food makes it a great spot. In and out quickly for work lunches and at dinner its a relaxing atmosphere. Highly recommend this place.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mpipak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yuzu Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Yuzu Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing