We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do yourself a favor an avoid this Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn on the Mexican War Streets
Ranked #4 of 11 Pittsburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Do yourself a favor an avoid this Inn”
Reviewed June 24, 2007

We had out of town guests staying the week-end of 6/16/2006 for a wedding and due to a lack of hotel space in Pittsburgh caused by the US Open, we booked them into this property. Unfortunately, we found the Inn to be more reminiscent of Disney's haunted mansion than a welcoming retreat in the city.

We arrived late on Saturday night to find an inner-city teen dance going on at the YMCA 2 doors away from the inn. Just as we pulled up in the car, a fight erupted at the dance and several dozen teens spilled into the street knocking over newspaper boxes an running amok until the police arrived to disperse the crowd - strike one.

Upon braving the tumult outside and entering the inn, we found a party in progress featuring a number on inebriated guests, including the owner. After realizing that real 'guests' had arrived, the staff quickly began to shoo the party-goers out, but this reception did not make our guests feel any more at ease - strike two.

Perhaps all that could be forgiven, but to add to the chaos, the accommodations just were not that nice. The rooms felt small and dated, the bed linens did not appear fresh and we were generally extremely disappointed with the overall quality.

There are much nicer places to stay in Pittsburgh, please learn from our mistake and avoid this inn.

  • Disliked — the whole experience
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rdubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    27
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
23
67
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2007

We visited the Inn during the first weekend of June and saw a game at PNC Park. (The ballpark is within walking distance) Very beautiful property--the Inn is very well kept. Bob was wonderful. He checked us in, and was very
helpful during our stay.
I would suggest trying the Montery Pub around the corner if you are looking for something casual. It was very cute, and the food was good.
Hopefully we will be back again in the future to visit this very beautiful B & B.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chili5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2006

We loved our stay at the Inn. Carl and Jeff were the best. They were very friendly and attentive. The foyer was exquisite, and the rooms were a great value. We went with another couple, and had pretty much a private two bedroom apt. on the top level. The bird sanctuary across the street was wonderful . I highly recommend it.
The BEST thing of all ,however, was their wonderful new restaurant "Acanthus" which had just been open 9 days. We have traveled all over the globe, and felt the meal was way up there with the best. It was a 7 course meal in a wonderful, warm, cozy building in back of the Inn. We felt the pricing was very resonable for the quality and quantity.
We can't wait to return.
Linda and Mel Marx

  • Liked — The restaurant, and the friendliness
  • Disliked — The small shower
  • Tips/Secrets — Definatelh try the Acanthus restaurant
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linmarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2006

I had an absolutely wonderful experience at this inn! The owners couldn't have been more gracious, and they have done a fantastic job restoring this old place. I had delays flying into Pittsburgh from Chicago, and they couldn't have been more nice about it. They were only concerned about me getting to Pittsburgh safely. I came to the city for an audition with the Pittsburgh Opera. They even offered to drive me downtown to my audition! What hotel would have done the same? As a young woman travelling alone, I felt very safe staying there. I stayed in the Red Room, and I slept so soundly, (and I'm a very light sleeper!). The bar had just opened the weekend that I arrived, and they have a fabulous martini list, and the nicest bartender in town. One tip: definitely rent a car if you're flying into Pittsburgh -- the public transit is sparce, and the evening I was there, other singers had to wait 2 hours for a taxi! A car is the best way to go.

I ended up singing the best I ever had at an audition! Thanks guys!

  • Liked — Beautiful atmosphere and sincere owners
  • Disliked — I liked it all!
  • Tips/Secrets — Rent a car in Pittsburgh!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank BeautifulSinging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2006

We made late reservations for two nights at this Inn, former mansion to Pittsburgh retailer R.H. Boggs. The only room available was on the third floor but it was really very delightful and private. Innkeeper Karl refers to it as the "Mary Poppins room" with it's rooftop views.

The room had an eclectic mix of vintage and modern furniture - plenty of comfortable seating areas and tables. Best of all, however, was the bed. A big, luscious, comfortable king, tucked under a sloping (but comfortably high enough) ceiling.

The bathroom was nicely done and easily shared by two people.

All very, very clean. Homey, unpretentious despite the magnificence of the mansion.

The only down side to the room - and this is common in old inns and B&B's - is the noise of our neighbor in the hall way outside the door on our second night. Once in their room, the young couple could not be heard.

Innkeepers Jeff and Karl were very friendly and quite helpful - making outstanding recommendations for dinner; providing accurate directions; and treating us with passes to the aviary in the park across the street. It was very sweet to return one evening to a lovely handwritten note congratulating us on our new marriage.

The Boggs mansion is a great old home - and if there are any lingering ghosts, surely they must be rejoicing at Jeff and Karl's extraordinary efforts to rescue and renovate one of Pittsburgh's finest historic homes.

  • Liked — Gorgeous home, great bed.
  • Disliked — Noise in hallway.
  • Tips/Secrets — Each room had its special features.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SempreLibera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2006

The innkeepers, Karl and Jeff, have done an amazing job restoring this mansion to its former glory. The rooms are lovely and very comfortable and the service you receive is friendly and warm. I felt completely at home.
Each morning we were welcomed downstairs and ate a lovely breakfast in the breakfast room. The breakfast is continental and includes yogurt, fruit, pastries, bagels, waffles, hot tea, coffee, juice and more. The breakfast hours are all morning so you can feel free to sleep in on your vacation.
Near the inn you will find plenty to do. It is located across from a large and beautiful park and within walking distance of museums, pubs, the aviary and historical sites.
If you don't feel like leaving the inn at all, that works too. Our room had a video player (most have DVD but they are in the process of upgrading) and a complete library of movies downstairs - not to mention homemade cookies and buttered popcorn! Upon arrival Karl gave us a video to watch on the neighborhood so we could get acquainted with the area and what sites we may want to see the next day. We did plenty of site seeing, but it was so lovely to come back and just relax in the bar room and chat with fellow guests or grab a paper and read in the parlor.
All in all, this was a great place and a wonderful value for your money. I highly recommend this as the place to stay while in Pittsburgh.

  • Liked — Accomodations, service and location
  • Disliked — That I had to leave
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJ1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2006

This old place has been lovingly restored by its current owners. Our host during our stay was one of them, Jeff, who welcomed us, showed through, helped us with places to see in Pittsburgh and then presented his "snack bar" in the dining room - nibblies, pretzels and home made choc chip cookies.

Our room was on the first floor, very comfortable with its own bathroom and sitting area.

At first we thought the neighbourhood looked a bit sus, but settled down with a walk through the park opposite and ended up feeling quite safe and pleased with our choice.

Breakfast each morning consisted of help-yourself cereals, juices, fresh fruit, waffles and tea or coffee.

The Inn was previously an old decaying mansion originally built by a Pittsburgh department store magnate, R H Boggs. On display in the dining room are progressive photos showing the incredible job the current owners did.

We were happy with our stay here and agreed it was not long enough.

  • Liked — Friendly host, clean and beautifully appointed.
  • Disliked — Nil
  • Tips/Secrets — Forget about the local transport, go for a stroll via the park & the baseball stadium to Downtown
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank L&M_from_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
1.3 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 70 in Pittsburgh
3,935 reviews
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
0.9 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Mexican War Streets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Mexican War Streets

Property: Inn on the Mexican War Streets
Address: 604 W North Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15212-4538
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on the Mexican War Streets 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Inn on the Mexican War Streets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Mexican War Streets (r. h. Boggs House) Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing