We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Fun and free just get there before 2:30

The nationality rooms are really a quintessential part of the many immigrant communities... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Bricheez
,
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
via mobile
So interesting

I am so glad this was recommended to us to add to our visit. Most of the rooms were open to visit... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Sightseer23662
Read all 470 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Pittsburgh
from $75.00
More Info
from $99.00
More Info
from $60.00
More Info
from $22.99
More Info
Reviews (470)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveler rating
315
111
21
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
111
21
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews audio tour first floor different countries pitt campus ethnic groups commons room gothic cathedral two floors stained glass windows harry potter gift shop unique experience beautiful building worth the trip pittsburgh area classes culture
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The nationality rooms are really a quintessential part of the many immigrant communities represented in the city. The rooms on the 3rd floor are always open, but the ones on the first floor need a key. They are very strict about not handing out the key after 2:30, so make sure you arrive before then.

1  Thank Bricheez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am so glad this was recommended to us to add to our visit. Most of the rooms were open to visit and there was information to give you details. You don't need a tour.

Thank Sightseer23662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were fortunate enough to stumble upon the 50th Anniversary celebration. In addition to seeing all the rooms, we were invited to enjoy cookies and other treats from around the world, special exhibits, and an occasional performance. It made a very nice experience even nicer.

Thank ForgetThisPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a must see! Each classroom is dedicated to a specific country and the detail is beautiful. I highly recommend a walk through.

Thank fadokv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

The Nationality Rooms are classrooms located in the Gothic Cathedral of Learning. The best time to visit is on weekends, when there are no classes. We had difficulty finding our way inside the building to reach the Nationality Rooms because there are specific entrance that has ramp for strollers and anybody that require accessibility. Fortunately, some students were able to direct us to the main area via elevator.

On the weekend the classrooms in the third floor were open. We were able to tour around the different type of classrooms, such as the Austrian, Turkish, Ukranian, Japanese, Welsh, Swiss, African, Israel Heritage and Armenian.Each of them furnished and decorated in the style and timeframe of the room depicted. Some of the seating may not be very comfortable for the students, but each room is quite fascinating.

These are very unique classroom settings. if in the area, I would strongly recommend to stop by and explore the classrooms. It seems that there is a paid audio guide to the rooms.

Thank ephesians5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Try to come when school is not in session to visit the distintively unique and exquisite Nationality Rooms that doubles as classrooms.

Thank Jimmiedewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018

This is a unique place with classrooms designed with different nations. For each room, you can flip a switch and an audio will turn on and give thorough information about the artifacts and culture. However, my friend and I went when school was in session. You are not allowed to enter a classroom if a class is in session. But it was free and cool to tour some of the rooms.

1  Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018

Relaxing way to learn about other cultures. Interesting to see each room decorated. Authentic decorations

Thank JADEV77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2018

Absolutely nothing to see, not worth the trip Even the tour guide questioned us going there. But I had read on TA it was a must see. See what I ask!

Thank marcy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018

This is an absolutely fascinating site — once you figure out how to get in. We visited on a Saturday when these classrooms wouldn't be in use. It took us a while, but we finally found the Information Center behind one bank of elevators in the cavernous "Commons Room" of the Cathedral of Learning. At that desk, for $4, you can rent a key to get into the Nationality Rooms along with a digital audio device that provides commentary on each one. The Information Center will also provide a map for finding the 30 Nationality Rooms. These rooms aren't just decorated with a few posters and flags either. We're talking about stained-glass windows, busts, marble columns, hand-carved desks for every student, crystal chandeliers, frescoed ceilings, oil paintings, gold-leaf mosaics, antique artifacts, wrought-iron filigrees, porcelain floors, and on and on. Allow plenty of time to tour the rooms. If you spend 10 minutes in each one, the whole tour will take five hours.

1  Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews