We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit Pittsburgh now”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Ranked #13 of 73 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Great Plate to stay and visit the City of Pittsburgh. They supplied courtesy transportation to all downtown locations. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Location to Downtown and the surrounding area was very accessible. Some within walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Sherman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you Sherman H for the review here on TripAdvisor. I glad you enjoyed our convenient location to all things Pittsburgh and well as our convenient shuttle service. Thank you for noticing our “friendly and helpful” staff; I will pass along your kind words to everyone. We cannot wait for your next stay with us!

Best Regards,

Matt Miklavcic
Assistant GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,029)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

711 - 717 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

Whenever we visited our college student that was attending PITT, we have stayed here. The staff is always friendly and very helpful. Breakfast and Shuttle service is a definite plus. Now that graduation has come, we thank the hotel for making the last 4 years better and home for us.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Karen S, Thank you very much for being such a loyal patron for the last 4 years, it was out pleasure to host you throughout the college years. Congratulations on the recent graduation. We hope that your travels bring you back to the U of Pitt and Pittsburgh itself. We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Matt Miklavcic
Assistant GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This hotel is a 6-8 block walk to the college and so a great location to U of Pittsburgh visitors. Nice breakfast that is free. Thhis is limited parking so this could be a problem on busy days. Located just off of the Boulevard of the Allies.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank josephmJ8547HL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jzottola, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Thank you for staying with the Hampton Inn University Center as we appreciate your business and respect your review on Trip Advisor. I am glad you enjoyed our hot complimentary breakfast with 3 hot items every day and many other great choices to choose from. The hotel has two parking lots and one that is at the rear of the building and one in the front entrance from Hamlet St. Our extra parking lot that is along Hamlet St is the spill over when our regular lot is filled. Our hotel is located in the Oakland near many of the area hospitals and great universities, so when visiting the area please give us a try.

Best Regards

Jonathan Zottola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I have clients and two offices in Pittsburgh and my daughter attends Pitt so I stay frequently. The hotel is located convenient to the area colleges and universities and it's a short drive to downtown, Shadyside and Squirrel Hill. I usually drive so I use the on-site parking (fee) and if you are used to driving the crazy streets of Pittsburgh, hotel access is very good. The hotel is a little dated but the WiFi works great and the staff is very helpful and friendly, especially Shaunee (?). Rooms and common areas are very clean. If you don't go to Pamela's, the hotel breakfast is very good...will be back soon...

Room Tip: Last minute reservation so my rate was a bit higher than usual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Michael R, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read that our centralized location was perfect for you during your time in Pittsburgh. I am pleased to read you were happy with the amenities of our hotel from breakfast, wifi, and parking. I will pass your kind words along to the staff and we thank you for noticing their hard work. Thank you again!

Best regards,
Matt Miklavcic
Assistant GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I had the best stay thanks to the amazing staff, especially Matt and Beverly! They were very accommodating, even on a late night when they were almost completely booked!!!! I am always pleased with the cleanliness of the rooms and beds when staying at a Hampton Inn and this was no exception.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shely S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you so much ShelyS for taking the time to write this review of our hotel. Your kind words are very appreciated by the staff. Thank you for noticing our cleanliness of the rooms and beds. We hope to see you soon on your next trip to Pittsburgh!

Best Regards
Matt Miklavcic
Assistant GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

It was a very nice hotel. The location was close to everything we went to. The staff was friendly, the free breakfast was good. They also provide a free shuttle to local sites. Will stay there next time we are in Pittsbugh.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kimberly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Kimberly, Thank you for review our hotel. I appreciate your recognition of our "friendly staff" and free breakfast each morning. I'm also pleased to see that our location was convenient for your stay. We hope that you stay with us in the future and we will see you soon.

Best Regards,

Matt Miklavcic
Assistant GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Great hotel. Nice and clean, close to CM campus. We stayed overnight. Free Wi-Fi, good speed no problems to connect. Nice complimentary breakfast. We recommend it if you need to visit CM or Pittsburgh area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Stanislav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Stanislov B, Thank you for noticing our location close to Carnegie Mellon University's campus. I am happy to hear it worked well for your visit to Pittsburgh. We hope that your travels lead you back and that you choose to stay with us again.

Best Regards,

Matt Miklavcic
Assistant GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center

Address: 3315 Hamlet Pl, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-4235
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#10 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $114 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the collegiate and hospital districts, home to the University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon University, Duquesne University and all the UPMC Hospitals. Enjoy free shuttle service within a three-mile radius of the hotel, contemporary guest rooms with free WiFi, free hot breakfast, and fitness center access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn University Center
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing