We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Ranked #12 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Staff was courteous and helpful; room and bathroom were clean, good hot breakfast and 24 hour coffee/tea service very well kept, shuttle service available every hour; overall it was a pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Le Thai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you Le Thai L, for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your recognition of our staff as courteous and helpful. I am glad you found your visit an "overall pleasurable experience". Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (992)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

709 - 715 of 993 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband, 10 month old son and I stayed here last week before an appointment the following morning. The check-in/check-out was smooth and easy. The front desk member was kind enough to call the maintenance man on duty for a jump start (coldest day of the year) upon check-out. The room was standard and comfortable. I was disappointed when I called ahead about a crib and instead found a dirty, old pack-n-play in the room. Had I known it wasn't going to be a mobile crib, I would've brought our own pack-n-play with a sheet to fit. Needless to say, the baby slept in bed with us.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schmid3354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jzottola, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

I appreciate your review about your Nice Stay and respect that spent the time to share it with others. Glad to see that our engineering team was able to get your car started as we were experiencing record all time lows during your stay. We are reviewing over the pack and play inventory as we speak and making sure they are in good working clean condition and as father I totally under your concerns I apologize that you were told we have cribs as we only offer pack and plays upon request and will review this with my staff. I am glad you had a nice stay and would personally like for you to contact me on your next stay in the area as We Love Having You Here!!!
Best Regards,
Jonathan Zottola
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This hotel was a great palace to stay in Pittsburgh. I was there on business to attend a class for college and they were very accommodating. I was there with twelve other people and they would let us work on our school projects at night int he sitting area of the lobby. i would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Oakland area of Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Chan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jzottola, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Chan thank you for the wonderful Trip Advisor review about you and your classmates experience while attending classes in the area. We strive the be the hotel of choice in Pittsburgh offering free Wi Fi to all out guests and complimentary shuttle service to and from a 3 mile radius of the hotel. I am glad to hear that you were able to use our lobby with 12 of your classmates to further your education after class. Glad that you enjoyed your time here at the Hampton Inn University Center and hope on your future visits to Pittsburgh you will keep us on top of your list.

Best Regards,
Jonathan Zottola
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Checked into the hotel after driving my daughter back to school from Philadelphia. Was surprised to find out I my room was upgraded upon arrival! Front desk staff was very nice and helpful. Room was clean and bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was good. Always try to stay at a Hampton Inn when traveling and this location did not disappoint. Would return again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swimmom04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jzottola, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn University Center and writing this fantastic review about your experience here. Our team is here to serve your needs so hearing that you were upgraded and you found the front desk to be helpful makes me proud to lead our wonderful team. After a long trip we want your room to be clean and comfortable so you can rest and be ready to tackle your next day. Let me know if you need any help with your future reservations and thank you once again for your business.
Best Regards
Jonathan Zottola
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Visited this hotel for a NHL Hockey Game. From the moment we checked in to check out - phenomenal service.

Kudos to Shaunna - Front Desk who offered amazing service. Great energy, helpful and also speedy at checking in. We asked for change for the pop machine and instead...offered us free pop.

Rooms were clean...comfortable beds and a modern/contemporary room.

They offer complimentary shuttle...very useful when needing a ride to the Pittsburgh Penguins Stadium. Shuttle bus driver, Rick - was amazing. You can tell that he has a passion in what he does.

Check out was quick and breakfast was great. Good selection of food.

Overall - one of the most memorable stays when it comes to service.

I attend a game every year from Toronto and this will be my only hotel choice.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Toronto7_Traveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jzottola, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Kudos to you for being a great hockey fan and thank you for making the Hampton Inn University Center your hotel of choice when going to the Penguins game. We appreciate your great comments on Trip Advisor about the customer service you received from Shanna and Rick. Glad that you found our complimentary breakfast food to be great and that this was one of your most memorable hotel stays for service.
Best Regards,
Jonathan Zottola
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Was there for medical tests at UPMC and stayed one night. Very plain but clean. Bed was quite comfortable. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Would stay again if occasion arose. Breakfast was ok. Had free transport within 3 miles. Driver took us to dinner a few blocks away. Would recommend for business or the need to use their medical facilities.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank julietravels106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jzottola, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn University Center on your recent trip to UPMC Hospitals and writing your review of the stay on Trip Advisor. Glad to hear that you found the hotel to be clean and the staff extremely helpful as we work extremely hard on these basic things for you all other guest stays, Our shuttle and its drivers are a great amenity for you to get to and from the hospitals without the worry of parking or its fee. If you ever need a room when you comeback to visit Pittsburgh please do not hesitate to contact me or the front desk.

Best Regards
Jonathan Zottola
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

we have spend the last 4 years visiting and transporting our Daughter to and from University of Pittsburgh and this is the place we always stay. Convenient to the campus and shuttle service a plus. Always friendly and nice to have coffee and/or tea at the end of a long day there to have.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jzottola, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Karen thank you for the kind remarks and sharing them on trip advisor, we are so proud to have been your hotel of choice for the last four years when visiting your daughter at University of Pittsburgh. We pride ourselves in giving a great value to our guests and offering complimentary shuttle to and from University of Pittsburgh and other local attractions. The complimentary coffee, tea and hot chocolate 24 hours a day and our hot breakfast buffet from 6am-10am is a nice touch to quench your thirst and appetite. Let me know if you ever need to comeback to the area as WE LOVE HAVING YOU HERE!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 72 in Pittsburgh
4,268 reviews
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center

Address: 3315 Hamlet Pl, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-4235
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#15 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $123 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the collegiate and hospital districts, home to the University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon University, Duquesne University and all the UPMC Hospitals. Enjoy free shuttle service within a three-mile radius of the hotel, contemporary guest rooms with free WiFi, free hot breakfast, and fitness center access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn University Center
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing