We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Ranked #9 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Nice rooms, great value for money. Excellent and free wireless. The hotel serves a Wholesome breakfast. No bar and no place for lunch and dinner. Great fuel pump across the street for food.

Lousy taxi services in the city. Completely unreliable but the hotel shuttle is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regulartraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Greetings, and thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with our rooms, our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, and our complimentary WiFi. We do apologize about the taxi service, but we are glad your were able to make use of our shuttle service. Unfortunately we do not have a bar or restaurant on property, but there are a variety of restaurants and shops within either walking distance or shuttle distance of the hotel. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you the next time that you are in Pittsburgh!

Sincerely,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    270
    105
    31
    22
See reviews for
422
138
65
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Was very pleased with the quality of the hotel, cleanliness, helpfulness of staff. The breakfast
was very good, with hot and cold foods, fruit, cereal, etc. The shower worked, the A/C worked....and the bed was very clean and comfortable. Only downside was getting in and out of hotel, due to one-way streets (not the fault of the hotel). After you got in and out once or twice, it was fine. Location was good, close to Carnegie Museums (20 minutes if you wanted to walk) and public transportation. They offer shuttle service to locations within 3 miles of hotel. Would surely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dewain7704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Greetings, and thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor! Thank you for your kind words about our staff, our breakfast and our clean, comfortable rooms. We do apologize about Pittsburgh roads - it is a very challenging city to navigate! We are happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service, in order to ease driving around the Pittsburgh area. Thank you again for your kind words, and we hope to see you the next time that you are in the Pittsburgh area!

Sincerely,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Reall nice room. Comfortable clean and quiet. Friendly staff and Breakfast was really good.

Getting into the Hotel lot is tricky and parking is really tight. Construction in the lot made it even worse.

Would stay there again when in town on business.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Greetings, and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor! We are happy to hear that you found our rooms clean and comfortable, and that our staff was pleasant and friendly. We do apologize about the parking situation, but the construction is finally completed. Again, thank you for your review, and we hope to see you the next time that you are in the Pittsburgh area!

Sincerely,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This Hampton Inn is only a short trip away from downtown or the south side with free shuttle service available for drop off/pickup within 3 miles of the hotel. Friendly staff and nice rooms with comfortable bedding combined with a good breakfast in the morning makes this a hotel that I would plan to stay in again on my next trip to the Pittsburgh area for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Greetings,

Thank you for placing a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are elated to hear that you enjoyed our hotel! Thank you for your kind words about our complimentary shuttle service, our clean comfortable bedding and our deluxe continental breakfast. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you the next time that you are in Pittsburgh!

Sincerely,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here while visiting someone at UPMC Hospital. It was a wonderful stay and a very surprisingly easy to get to location! Its at the edge of the University campus, so the area is young and vibrant, lots of good food too. Driving to and from the property was very easy, you can see the hotel from a good distance away. The hotel is in great shape, nice lobby and extremely friendly and helpful staff. We did not have the complimentary breakfast, but it looked very good! Definitely recommend this property if you are in the area. Rooms are basic, but clean and fresh with a nice comfy bed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troymoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor! We are elated to hear that you were pleased with our clean and comfortable rooms, as well as our location! We are within walking distance and shuttle distance of many area hospitals, universities as well as restaurants and attractions. Please make sure that you enjoy our hot breakfast the next time that you are in the Pittsburgh area. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Hampton Inn is a budget conscious hotel that prioritizes clean and comfortable beds for its guests, and it delivers on that. The most important things to me about a hotel are a clean and comfortable bed, a clean bathroom, and free, high-speed wireless internet access in my hotel room. Hampton Inn meets all three of these priorities. It sets itself apart in its price category, but overall it is still an average hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor! We are happy to hear that our clean and comfortable rooms met your needs during your stay, as well as you being able to enjoy our complimentary wifi. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you the next time that you are in the Pittsburgh area.

Sincerely,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roaring Spring
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Nice clean hotel located in Oakland section of Pittsburgh. Good place to stay if you have appointment and any of nearby hospitals or the University. They offer a hospital discount and include breakfast and parking in the room rate

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Greetings and thank you for taking the time to place a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable rooms, as well as our close proximity to the many area hospitals and universities. The hot Hampton breakfast is a phenomenal amenity and we are glad you were able to enjoy it while you were here. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you the next time that you are in the Pittsburgh area!

Sincerely,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center

Property: Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Address: 3315 Hamlet Pl, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-4235
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#15 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the collegiate and hospital districts, home to the University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon University, Duquesne University and all the UPMC Hospitals. Enjoy free shuttle service within a three-mile radius of the hotel, contemporary guest rooms with free WiFi, free hot breakfast, and fitness center access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn University Center
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing