We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
CHICAGO
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were visiting colleges in the area and had an excellent experience at this hotel. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfy, the bathroom was also clean. The breakfast was great-typical Hampton Inn spread(fresh fruit, waffles, eggs, cereals, pastries, coffee, juice) What really makes this hotel standout is the level of service the staff provides. We were trying to decide weather or not to drive to the campuses we were visiting. Turns out, there is a shuttle service. Tracy(I told you, I would mention you!) is fantastic. She knows everything about Pittsburgh. She was so helpful and very efficient getting everyone around. All you do is call her when you need a ride back, and she is there within 10-15 minutes. We also were helped by Andrea at the front desk. She too was helpful in finding us a river tour. Then, there is Ronald. We liked him because he recommended great pizza to us. The housekeeping and breakfast servers were equally as helpful. I really want to mention this staff, because they honestly made our stay so pleasant. We had never been to Pittsburgh. They went out of their way to suggest things and were excited about things to do and see. We also took in a Pirates game. Fantastic stadium. This hotel is walking distance to UPitt and not very far from Carnegie Mellon. We took the shuttle for CMU because of time issues. Thank you to Jonathan Zottola, General Manager, who took the time to welcome us and help us. One thing to be aware of....great work-out room, but try not to get booked next door to it on the second floor. The guy who was in there while we were working out, complained that he could hear everything in the workout room. We, however, would return to this hotel and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALNMTRAVEL9200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Greetings! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor! Tracy, Ronald, and Andrea are all phenomenal assets to our staff and I will make sure that they are commended for all of their efforts. We very much pride ourselves on our exceptional staff and the level of service that we offer. Thank you so much again for your kind words, and we will see you the next time that you are in the Pittsburgh area!

Sincerely,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    259
    101
    29
    22
See reviews for
395
130
63
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Easy access to Oakland, Downtown, the medical complex, and the stadiums. Clean, decent, free breakfast. Parking is $14. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. A good alternative on those weekends when the downtown hotels are full and charging premium rates.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Greetings, and thank you for taking the time to place a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our clean, comfortable rooms, and our deluxe continental breakfast. We are located only two miles from the downtown area, which is easily accessible by car or our complimentary shuttle van. Again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and we hope to see you the next time that you are in the Pittsburgh area.

Sincerely,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here as recommended by family house of Upmc Presbyterian since my mom is in the hospital. They did not have any rooms at the family house. Hampton Inn was great. A shuttle to take us back an forth to the hospital and free breakfast too. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Would stay here again if needed. Thank you Hampton Inn for a pleasant experience while going through a family issue.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuck b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Greetings, and thank you for taking the time to place a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service that goes anywhere within a three mile radius of the hotel, including many of the local area hospitals, as well as our deluxe continental breakfast! Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you the next time that you are in the Pittsburgh area.

Sincerely,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at the Hampton Inn. The room was very nice, clean, and comfortable. Having never stayed at a Hampton Inn before, this hotel gave me a VERY good impression of the company that will be remembered for my future travels (and I travel A LOT). We ended up having a last minute change in plans and the hotel staff was very helpful, friendly, and accommodating in extending our reservation. We were also traveling with a service dog and the staff was more than accommodating about that as well. We were a little bummed no room service menu was available, but that was our only negative note. Everything else was great- great price, great hotel, great location. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Greetings, and thank you for taking the time to place a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to hear that you found our rooms clean and comfortable! We pride ourselves on the level of service we provide and we are happy to hear that our front desk was able to accommodate your requests. It is very unfortunate that we do not have room service, however there are a variety of restaurants that will deliver to the hotel. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you the next time that you are in the Pittsburgh area!

Sincerely,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrington, Washington
Level Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We recently stayed at this Hampton during our son's PittStart orientation. The hotel price for those days was VERY reasonable (but it fluxuates A LOT we discovered because of its location near the university), so we were treated with a great location for a good price. We were within walking distance of the university and restaurants. Parking was cheaper at this hotel than others we've stayed at and it has free in/out privileges. They also have a helpful free shuttle for trips within a 3 mile radius. That came in really handy when we took in a Pirates game! All employees at the hotel was very helpful and friendly--made our stay even better! We used the work-out facility (tread mill, stepper, bike, physio ball, and a few weights, TV to help pass the time) and thought it was fine. Our room was nice. The lobby was comfortable with lots of seating for breakfast time. Breakfast was OK; not a ton of variety, but a few hot items, some fruit, cereal, toast, yogurt. Had a bit of trouble printing our Pirates tickets on the guest printer, but the hotel staff was happy to help and print on theirs, so we were on time to the game! We are from Washington State where you can't smoke within 20 feet of a public entrance, so having to walk by smokers at the hotel entrance was not the best welcome each time we returned to the hotel, but overall we were happy with our stay. We didn't notice any smoke smell inside the hotel. We will definately price out this hotel option for return trips!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wishwewerethere_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Greetings, and thank you for taking the time to place a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Our shuttle is definitely one of our best amenities and we are glad you were able to take advantage of it to go to the baseball game. We will certainly look into moving the smoking area further away from the door, as this of course is something that is very important to us. Thank you again for your review of our hotel, and we look forward to seeing you the next time that you are in Pittsburgh!

Sincerely.
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Darby, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I felt welcomed and taken care of by the staff. Everyone made sure our trip to Pittsburgh was a pleasant and special one. The free shuttle took us everywhere and the driver was so informative that it felt like we were on a tour every time we got into the shuttle. The breakfast was wonderful and early enough for us to have eaten and be out of the hotel by 7am. We were accommodated by leaving our bags with the front desk after checking out so we could visit the University of Pittsburgh and came back and spent another 2 hours in the comfortable lobby/waiting area watching the big screen TV waiting for our shuttle back to the bus we needed to catch back to Philadelphia. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Barbra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Greetings and thank you for taking the time to place a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to hear that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service! Our drivers and our staff are certainly very welcoming and friendly, and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you the next time that you are in Pittsburgh!

Sincerely,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mundelein, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great place to stay if you do not have to spent alot of time in the rooms Poor a/c and beds but a great staff Beware of which rooms are used for pets if you have allergies.Not all guests like to sleep with animals.Great location to the hospitals and universities.Many good food options ,drug stores and shopping are within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Greetings, and thank you for taking the time to place a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to hear that you found our hotel close to all of the activity in the Oakland/University area. We certainly try to keep our pet guest designated to certain areas of the hotel, so they do not disturb other guests. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you for the next Vintage Grand Prix!

Sincerely,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 70 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center

Property: Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Address: 3315 Hamlet Pl, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-4235
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#15 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the collegiate and hospital districts, home to the University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon University, Duquesne University and all the UPMC Hospitals. Enjoy free shuttle service within a three-mile radius of the hotel, contemporary guest rooms with free WiFi, free hot breakfast, and fitness center access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn University Center
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing