We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hampton Inns”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I like to stay at Hampton Inns, and they are my hotel of choice for the past four to five years. The Hampton Inn in the Oakland area of Pittsburgh is in the heart of college country and has many visitors. The price per night I feel was a little on the high side. But there are not many choices in that particular area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us. We love to hear feedback from our loyal guest, and if there is anyway we can improve our service, please do not hesitate to tell us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    257
    100
    29
    23
See reviews for
384
129
62
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Short Hills, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

The room was supposed to be non-smoking. Obviously someone paid no attention to that designation and smoked in teh room. The smell was reported to the front desk and requested that they do something about it. When we returned that night the room still smelled. I hae rated the clenliness of the room poor due to the smell, otherwise it was clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay. We are sorry to hear that your room was less than satisfactory. At Hampton it is our desire that you 100% satisfied, and we are disappointed we didn’t live up to that standard. Thank you for giving us high marks in every other aspect of your stay, and it is our sincere hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

The lobby was stylish, the room was comfortable and clean, and the location was somewhat walking distance from U Pitt, if you are a comfortable walker. I think there's a shuttle too. From the parking area and our room, you look out over the bridges of Pittsburgh, not half bad. Pittsburgh is a stunning city.

The breakfast was one of the best I've had in these places, A+.

Oh, Parking was not free. I got a good price "off-season" (since it's near the university, off-season is summer) on Priceline, but it's a little pricey regular times like family weekend at the school.

Room Tip: Ask for looking out over the bridges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jozig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are so happy you found our lobby stylish, and that your room was comfortable and clean. As you mention we are a just a a walk away from the University of Pittsburgh's campus and we just introduce a new Pitt Parent program. For more info on the program call the hotel directly. Again thanks for the kind words and we hope to see you again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Me and two friends from out of town recently stayed here the Saturday night of St Patty's day weekend. Found this last minute. Apon arriving the first front desk person we met was helpful. He even called around to make sure other hotels closer to our location didn't have available rooms. The main parking lot was full but the one they directed us to across the street was easily accessible and felt safe. Once we checked in the room was very clean. Fresh linens. Clean bathroom. We then called the front desk and asked them to get us a taxi down to "the south side" front desk staff said that they were able to do same. We went to the lobby about 10 min later and waited 20 mins. No taxi ever arrived. We then asked the front desk how long the taxi said it would be at wich time we were informed that the hotel staff was unable to contact the taxi service and kept getting a busy signal. I thought this was somewhat rude that they seen us waiting the whole time and even talked to us but never mentioned that they HAD NOT gotten us a taxi. They also seemed somewhat less knowledgeable about the area then I would expect from hotel staff. For example they were no help in answering any questions we had about the area or telling us approx. how far we were away from attractions. We then went out for the night and apon returning to the hotel decided to order pizza. When we asked about pizza places that delivered late night (2am) the front desk guy stated "I don't know. This is Pittsburg not Vegas we aren't a 24 hour town." I then asked if they could get us a taxi to a place that advertised as a 24 hour diner and after waiting 45 mins to here a reply back told the front desk to forget it. The free breakfast in the morning was average. They had scrambled eggs, bacon, cereal, yogurt ect. Provided small glasses with no lids for the drinks so bring your own. Also we noted that we were in a non smoking room but in the hallway there was a notable smoke smell wich didn't bother us since we are smokers and only took the non-smoking room because others were sold out. Overall I was satisfied with the room just thought the staff could have been more helpful or at least said when they weren't able to help.

Room Tip: Clean hotel to stay at just don't ask staff to assist with taxi/directions/ordering pizza it won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarissaD387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay. We are sorry to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory. We always strive to create a great experience for our guests, and it is our sincere hope that you would give us another chance to wow you, so that we may be your hotel of choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed at this location for almost a year , whenver I was in Pittsburgh. The Staff are very freindly and nice. The place is located centrally close to Universities, Casino and downtown. The Rooms are very comfortable and neat

Room Tip: Choose Rooms on Seventh or eight floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us. We strive to make every guest feel valued and appreciated through the service that we offer. Thanks for your kind words, and we hope to see you again soon, your family at the Hampton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay! John checked us in and was very friendly and accomodating. Shout out to John!!! Only item of improvement is cleanliness of the room. The room was a bit dusty and the ironing board had a really bad stain on it. However breakfast in the morning made up for everything. Breakfast was great. Better then the normal advertised hot breakfasts.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolinablue26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay. We are elated to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We value your opinion and we will make the necessary adjustments that you mentioned above. Our breakfast has always helped us stand apart from our competition and is made fresh every morning with love. Again thanks for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast U.S.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Really great hotel; clean, great staff, comfortable. All you expect from a quality Hampton Inn. Tracy, the shuttle driver, was friendly, courteous and very helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Parking for $14 was not ideal, but this is a low rate compared to other hotels in the area. The shuttle trip to Carnegie Mellon was easy and efficient. Overall it was a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank family_of_four_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us. Thanks for highlighting one of our many stars, Tracy truly is an asset to our team and we are so happy your enjoyed the service she provide you. We strive to make every guest feel valued and appreciated through the service that we offer that's our "hamptonality". Thanks for your kind words, and we hope to see you again soon, your family at the Hampton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center

Property: Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Address: 3315 Hamlet Pl, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-4235
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#15 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the collegiate and hospital districts, home to the University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon University, Duquesne University and all the UPMC Hospitals. Enjoy free shuttle service within a three-mile radius of the hotel, contemporary guest rooms with free WiFi, free hot breakfast, and fitness center access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn University Center
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing