We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre at best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight
Ranked #56 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband because we couldn't get any downtown hotels and we were going to see a pirates and steelers game. Front desk not too helpful in helping us to navigate city and also gave us incorrect password for wireless so we never were able to connect. Breakfast was not that good either - not even a toaster to toast bread. Cleanliness of hotel was also average. Best part of experience was that everyone staying there was pretty much also going to games so customers were helpful as were the cab drivers we were able to secure. Take advantage of the Free train in downtown pittsburgh to navigate around town. We drove to the first avenue stop, paid $5 to park, and then took the free train into the city to see the games. A cab will cost you about 15-20 each way and they are not easy to get. No free shuttle service either I loved loved loved pittsburgh but will not stay here again

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vik P, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank for sharing your review, because it grants the opportunity for us to share the contrary impressions of most guests. We apologize for the experience you had during your stay. We will be working with our front desk staff to strengthen communication, and to stress how essential it is that every guest receives the attention and follow through it deserves. While we respect your description of your experience, we’re disappointed that we did not get the chance to share our passion for this hotel and the happiness of every guest. If you have occasion to visit this area again, please reach out to us and we promise to improve your opinion.

We hope to see you again and make your next visit with us more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    149
    110
    86
    82
See reviews for
214
95
61
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

On a positive note, the room was not bad, but the elevators did not work as expected. When we checked in only one elevator was working and then Saturday 11 people were stuck on the elevator for 55 minutes. Unfortunately two of them had health issues (including chest pains), and were not able to attend the wedding as a result.. Most critically, the front desk refused to call 911 when informed of the emergency, and one of the people stuck proceeded to call instead. One of the couples had traveled over 10 hours to attend the wedding. Upon the repair person arriving and opening the doors, he did not inquire as to the condition of the passengers, but informed them that they had caused the problem by overloading the elevator. (it was at least 300 pounds under the stated capacity) He also complained that they should not have opened the roof hatch. (it was opened to allow some air to circulate-the fan was not working and it was stifling). Although the hotel eventually comped the rooms for those who were stuck, the lack of concern was outrageous.
There were so many issues at the wedding it would probably be best to list them:
There was a change in the number of guests on the Monday prior to the wedding in which we added two added three guests and removed one. I called Banquet manager and she said that it would be no problem that she could add a table or rearrange tables. After multiple calls Banquet manager never returned the call to let us know where the guests would be sitting. When we asked her where the two additional chairs were, she was not able to provide the table in which they were added. After several discussion, she did provide an additional chair. Glasses were removed from the tables as soon as people left their seats, even though the drinks were still over half full. Since the bar was closed for dinner (including soft drinks), there was no way to obtain any beverages.
Just to set the stage there were 218 guests:
There was initially one bartender and no soda, tea, coffee or water was on the table. Needless to say most of the folks spent the time in line getting drinks, not eating appetizers. My sister stood in line for 20 minutes to get a coke and coffee. When she realized how small the coke glasses were she asked for two cokes, they suggested that she drink a little and they would top it off. They told her that coffee would be served with dinner. Coffee never did show up, but we realized we could walk out to the front desk and get our own coffee, I have never been to an event where water and coffee were not sitting on the table.
There was no wedding soup on the buffet table when the bridal party went through the line. Bread showed up sporadically, and when we inquired as to butter, were informed that it should be on the other end of the buffet. She looked and then said there wasn’t any, and that was the end of the discussion.
The buffet line was very long as the trays were always in need of being filled. I was thinking there should have had folks getting food on both sides, but then we realized it was slow because they were waiting on trays of food.
I was one of the first to eat and the fish was already cold. It actually may have been decent if had been warm. My husband had the beef and it was very tough in addition to being lukewarm. In fairness, several guests commented that they enjoyed the food.
At 11:15 the staff began taking down the chairs while guest were still sitting at the tables. I am guessing the wedding was supposed to be over at 11:00, but it took so long for the folks to get through the buffet line that the DJ started late.
Needless to say the service was not what was expected, but we should have known as we never received return phone calls.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed there this past week from 9/16 - 9/18. I was in room 307 for all three nights which was a Two Queen Bed room. The room itself was fine, the AC worked, the tv and guide were synced, the shower water was hot when needed, and cold when needed. APPARENTLY, they have complimentary breakfast, although it is very atypical for Holiday Inn to have free breakfast. The are is good, because there are lots of places to eat, but they are 95% chain restaurants/fast food joints. Very close to downtown. Some of the staff is very helpful and willing, while the other half are just there for the paycheck. The night auditor who checked me name Luala was very helpful and proactive during the whole procedure. Overall a very mediocre staying with NO disappointments. I didn't have breakfast, use the pool, or the fitness room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooper G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vik P, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience. Your satisfaction and continued trust in La Quinta Inn and Suites are our top priorities. We look forward to showing you that we are working hard to make sure each visit meets your expectations and our high standards.

We do apolgize about not recieving hot water when needed. I will work the maintanace staff to see if we can duplicate this issue in room 307 and address the issue. We do provide complimentary breakfast as we were in the process to convert to a La Quinta Inn & Suites, which as a standard provides their guests with complimentary continental breakfast. We are centrally located off the main road of McKnight Road which features many restaurants, shopping, and a shopping center within walking distance for guests convinence when traveling without personal transportation.

Our front desk employee Luala, unfortanalety is not with us anymore. She was a very friendly employee and always very helpful for our guests. I will also recommend other employees to make sure to make all our guests feel like home and introduce themselves as we strive for excellent customer service here at La Quinta Inn & Suites.

We hope to see you again for your future travels.

Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our stay in your hotel was a complete nightmare:



Why doesn't your hotel have an emergency plan??? Why doesn't your staff have compassion and simple manners????



11 people including myself got stuck in your elevator. Your elevator says it has 2500 lb capacity. We did not go over your capacity! We pushed the bottom for emergency and set the alarm off from inside the elevator. The person on the other line sounded like a young girl, She said she knew the elevator was stuck and their handy man is trying to fix it. After 10 mins of not hearing from anyone on the outside; we pushed the bottom again and hit the alarm, no respond. so we called the front desk from a cell phone we had; we asked the lady at the front desk to please not hang up to stay on the line. we told her it was getting really really hot due to no air condition in the elevator and we had two people in the elevator with a medical condition. The front desk hung up on us from the cell phone. we pushed the bottom again and Ms. Purvi Patel answered. We asked her to call 911 because at this point it had been 30 mins and we had two medical emergency inside the elevator, it was getting so hot due to no air condition, Ms. Patel said she refused to call 911( (we have 11 witness hearing her say that) and that the elevator service was 30 mins away. we yelled we can't wait that long please help us;her responds was she was going to tell the elevator service to speed maybe they would be here faster.. Meanwhile, a man my father started having chest pains and a young man (who had a kidney transplant several weeks ago) blood pressure started to rise Plus everyone was freaking out including myself. We called 911 from inside and called the front desk back again begging for them not to hang up on his to please stay in the line. They hung up..We opened the top of the elevator to get air inside the elevator because of no air inside. After 55 mins the elevator service opened the door; the first thing out of Mr. Patel's mouth was "you over loaded the elevator". Not I am sorry, how needs help, what can I do NOTHING!!!!! but continue to argue with us.

Meanwhile the fire department, police and ambulance came. they checked my dad out and the fire Marshall told us this happens all the time at this hotel.

After it was all over, I went to the front desk to speak to Purvi Patel about why no emergency plan etc. She told me she wasn't going to do ANYTHING for any of us. It was our fault the elevator got stuck, we should not have called 911, we messed up the elevator when we opened the top. She continued to argue with me. She was rude, unprofessional and had no compassion. This is who you have working for you!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triciaheder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear triciaheder,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We read with much concern about the unpleasant experience that you have encountered during your previous stay with us. I sincerely apologize for the troubles you have encountered in the elevator and we are truly sorry for the poor customer care that you received from one of our staff. We endeavor to meet all guests’ expectations at all times and regret that we failed on this instance.

It is our fullest intention to provide the best experience, as such, we are constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts assuring you of our best attention and service at all times. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We read the reviews before staying here and were a little skeptical but we wanted to be close to downtown Pittsburgh and not get charged and arm and a leg. We were very pleased that we did stay here. The hotel was booked and check-in was very busy but front desk help was awesome. Got us in real quick. Room was a suite and was very very nice. No re-frig tho. We went to a Pirates game and we were in line at the stadium entrance in 20 minutes.....great. It is also close to a bunch of shopping, fast food places and such. We had the breakfast buffet one morning, wasn't great for the money but wasn't horrible either. The bar in the lobby was never open, somewhat of a disappointment but not a deal breaker. Overall much much better than soooo many of the comments we read about the place...we will be back

Room Tip: for the money, not bad at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superbrino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purvi P, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Super Brino,

We appreicate you staying with us and submitting this review. I have spoken with my restaurant managers regarding the comments that bar was not open.
Thank you for making me aware of how we failed you and know that we are working on making all guests stay enjoyable.we look forward to seeing you again. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Plenty to do near this hotel, but getting to it is a challenge. Must drive through other business properties to get to hotel driveway. Not marked well (not at all?). Room was large and comfortable. One minus was very noisy AC.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purvi P, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to submit your survey of your stay with us also thank you for making me aware of the maintenance issues in your room and I have contacted my maintenance team to corrrect this issue for our future guests.
we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

As usual holiday inn is as we expected, clean, big rooms and nice location.the parking ace is good and oping is nearby. This is located in a street that is very nice in sense that it will bring you places easily.

Room Tip: We did not experience any spa or free breakfast. Can't take off the star above for spa and break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrna234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purvi P, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Myrna,

Thanks for letting eveyone know how you enjoyed your stay with us at Holiday Inn Pittsburgh North and we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsburgh
Comfort Inn
#36 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coraopolis
Sleep Inn & Suites Pittsburgh
Sleep Inn & Suites Pittsburgh
#57 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight
Address: 4859 McKnight Rd, Pittsburgh, PA 15237-3405 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LaQuinta Inn and Suites Pittsburgh North is a home away from home for all travelers. Located in Ross Township, it is very close to all sporting venues and Ross Park Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, LaQuinta, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Pittsburgh - North Hills Hotel Pittsburgh
Holiday Inn North Hills
Pittsburgh Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing