We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight
Ranked #57 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What happened?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Ok so again a management change, staff turnover, etc. What a shame my family and I will not be back after our recent stay. I really enjoy when I can get to know the staff at a place I stay frequently. I'll go elsewhere where the food and service meet my expectations.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. There's a new hotel being built just north of this location. That will probably be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear S G,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

I want to extend my personal apology, and to thank you for helping us improve our hotel and services. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and replace your bad experience with one that reflects our true standards.

Without your guest feedback we cannot continue to improve our services. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    149
    110
    86
    82
See reviews for
214
95
61
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was the final stop on a 6 weekend college audition trip for our daughter and I and the hotel choice was very last minute. We weren't sure what to expect. What we found was a clean, well appointed room, friendly staff, lots of parking and a 15 minute drive to our destination, Carnegie Mellon University. My husband liked the fresh cookies at the registration desk too! The hotel is located on a hill and is a bit tricky to navigate to, but that would be our only complaint. Was it luxurious, no, was it neat, clean, comfortable...yes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdushko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear bdushko,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the cleanliness of your room. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. We are sorry for the challenges you had in looking for our hotel. We will make sure that this will be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope to serve you again should your travels bring you back to North Hills, PA.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

This Holiday Inn was pretty good for our three night stay. It only took about 10 minutes to check in and out. The room was a bit dingy (lighting was subpar, bed was half dressed, could use some vacuuming), but the staff was tremendous, especially in the restaraunt. We ate dinner there that night and all of the meat was made perfectly, with a decent wait staff (not too many other customers though). Our breakfast buffet was great too. The only downside was when it got a little busy, and the waitress became overwhelmed. Luckily, the busboy was able to step in and take care of drinks and plates! He was outstanding and covered for the waitress without any problems. I will deffinately come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph G, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We're pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and will choose to stay with us again. Your feedback is very important to us and helps us focus on offering our guests excellent service. Good service will not go unrecognized and we will definitely let our restaurant know about the service and food, additionally, we're happy our front office staff assisted you in a speedy check in and check out. As for the room discrepancies, we appreciate your honesty and will strive to improve our room readiness and neatness to ensure that every room is crisp, clean and ready to be relaxed in. We look forward to serving you again!
Until then, Happy and Safe Travels!

Joey Messer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lock Haven, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I am impressed by the hotel features, staff, Nice & big Banquet hall, the restaurant with bar adds an aminity of the hotel very conveinence to have food and bar together so dont have to go out of the hotel, I was on business trip very nice area lots of options of restaurant & shopping at walking distance. Also there is big Ross Mall in 1/2 Mile with wide selection of shopping. I would love to stay there just for shopping. I would like to thank all the staff there for excellent service you guys have provided keep up the good work

Room Tip: I like the view of the hotel from top floor towards the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajendra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_C53449, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
I have recently reviewed your survey concerning your stay at our Holiday Inn Pittsburgh -North. I would like to thank you so much for taking your valuable time to offer us your feedback. Without hearing back from our guest we would be unable to make corrections or celebrate our success. We use all guest feedback to conduct additional training for our team members. We hope that you would consider us again for your travels.

Thank you again for staying with us!
I sincerely appreciate your business,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here one night for business. The hotel kind of looked cool b/c it was on a hilltop and framed by trees, but from its hilltop it surveyed... a strip mall and parking lot... meh. Ample parking. Check in and check out were both a little slow. Room was fine, not great. Restaurant was closed when I got in, so I couldn't eat. Did buy a few bottles of beer from the bar, but I took them to my room and ate my take-out dinner there, b/c the bar/restaurant was pretty empty.
There was one security concern - the back door was supposedly only accessible to hotel guests w/ a key card, but it popped right open when i just pulled handle.
I stayed here b/c it was basically the closest hotel to my work site, but I would not stay here if I were visiting Pittsburgh for any other reason. Too far away from the downtown area, without much of interest nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WishIWasAWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph G, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We appreciate your candid and matter-of-fact review, your feedback helps us work to strive to offer you quality service. We have noted the security concern and apologize for the discrepancy. Although you didn't give us a bad review, we feel we could do better. We are actively working on all fronts: housekeeping, guest services and restaurant to improve the service we provide our guests; we want every guest to leave happy and well-rested. We hope you consider us again, whether for business or leisure.

Thank You,
Joey Messer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel remains middle-of-the road. We have stayed here several times during the past few years and although it is improving, it still has a distance to go before it can be considered "beyond average". Because the location is convenient to meet our needs, we continue to give it another try. We intend to keep exploring our options as this HI is not our first choice. The beds are clean and comfortable and the staff is friendly but most aspects of the room are in need of updating and/or repair. On several of our visits we've had to ask for a room change because the room initially assigned to us has been unacceptable due to plumbing issues, stained furniture, or problematic heating systems. We'd like to offer a better review, but for now mediocre is the best we can say.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2_ToGo_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph G, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We appreciate your honest feedback. We're glad you continue to choose us and are pleased to hear good reviews on our staff. As for your concerns with the rooms, we are actively working to update and fix all concerns with our rooms. We are in the process of updating our bathrooms and working on heating repairs. We don't just want you to choose us because its most convenient, we want you to enthusiastically choose our hotel because you love the rooms and the service. We will continue to work on offering you excellent customer service and rooms that are crisp, clean and ready to be relaxed in. We hope you continue to stay with us and give us the opportunity to serve you.

Thank you,
Joey Messer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The 1 night stay was a decent price. Some renovations were done and upgrades were done. BUT... Why is the heater right next to the bed, blowing the hot air directly to your face? Why is there no soap holder in the shower? Rearranging the beds and some minor cosmetic fixes will make this hotel stay better.

Room Tip: Make sure to turn in at McD's for the entrance to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FatherofIssac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph G, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and recognizing that we are working hard to upgrade the hotel. I apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory due to the heater placement and soap holder. I have taken note and wish to thank you for your valuable comments as this is our best resource of improving guest satisfaction. We hope that you can give us another chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsburgh
2.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh / McCandless, PA
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd.
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#32 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Pittsburgh Airport
10.8 mi away
MainStay Suites Pittsburgh Airport
6.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight
Address: 4859 McKnight Rd, Pittsburgh, PA 15237-3405 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LaQuinta Inn and Suites Pittsburgh North is a home away from home for all travelers. Located in Ross Township, it is very close to all sporting venues and Ross Park Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Pittsburgh - North Hills Hotel Pittsburgh
Holiday Inn North Hills
Pittsburgh Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing