We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel but needs some update”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight
Ranked #61 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed at Holiday Inn during our recent visit to Pittsburgh for two nights. The lobby is clean and modern however the elevators seems to be old. The rooms looks renovated and beds were very comfortable. Though there were some issue connecting to WIFI initially but it worked great thereafter. A great view of the valley from the Window due to the location of hotel. Conveniently located close to restaurant and shops. Ample Parking space.
Downtown is 10 minutes drive.
Plan to stay there again.

Room Tip: Room on East have a great View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nitinshekhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

477 - 483 of 552 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

We picked this hotel for the location. It's not a great location....in fact finding the drive is a chore. The rooms were clean. That is about the best I can say for it. It appeared to have a fairly full house (some athletic team, etc.) and I guess it is just less expensive than the hotels closer to town. In summary: it is OK, but don't expect much.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacqrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed here for one night but we were very impressed. The other reviews were not very accurate. The lobby is very clean and modern. The rooms look newly renovated with new carpet and furnishings. The beds were very comfortable. The wifi is free so that's a plus! It was a little complicated to get here from McKnight Rd but it's manageable. Very close to Ross Park mall and tons of great restaurants close by. Only 15 minutes to downtown Pittsburgh. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivianlj13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Needs some work. Internet slow, building is old, out of the way. Not as bad as some of the folks say, but they surely need to be more on top of maintenance, etc. Staff is great, however, and it is a quiet place to stay. Plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brownmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at this property three times since October 2011. The staff is excellent!! The rooms not so much… For $100+ a night there are other places that would be better. The lighting in the bathroom and outside is NOT good for my wife getting makeup, doing her hair, etc. The beds are tired/worn out and not comfortable. The electric outlets are not in convenient locations and are often full, necessitating removal of one to plug the computer in. The shower we stayed last time had a faulty faucet which spun all the way around making it a challenge to get the temperature correct. The hairdryer was missing which was delivered promptly after a call to the front desk. The rooms are in need of a makeover in my opinion. We received an email survey all three time, the last survey I stated that we would NOT be staying at that property again. If I managed the property and received a survey like that…from a repeat customer, I would send an apology email. Instead, I received a Thank You for your survey email and hope to see you again soon. Obviously an auto generated email. Take our advice; we stayed at a Hampton Inn (Hilton Property… I think); price was about the same, service was similar, rooms were FANTASTIC. Next time we head back to the North Hills we will not be staying here. I will look for a Hampton Inn. Most Holiday Inns have been acceptable, but we are disappointed in this location.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel. Girl fell to her death in Jan 1974, elevator shaft. Place may be haunted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jared M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed 3 nights over Christmas 2011. The door handle to the room was slightly broken but still safe. The heater turned on but wouldn't turn off. Other than that, it was a satisfactory, "average" hotel. Very comfortable bed, okay price, close to where I needed to be. If interested in working out, make sure to ask about their arrangement with a local offsite gym. The one in the hotel is pathetic.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I had called the 800 number to make a reservation and the told me that I was 1 mile from Heinz field!!! Which was the furthest thing from the truth we were approx 7 miles away from down. We were lied to just to make the reservations and for 165 a night could have stayed somewhere else that far away for cheaper!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsburgh
Comfort Inn
#38 of 72 in Pittsburgh
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coraopolis
Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight

Address: 4859 McKnight Rd, Pittsburgh, PA 15237-3405 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $79 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LaQuinta Inn and Suites Pittsburgh North is a home away from home for all travelers. Located in Ross Township, it is very close to all sporting venues and Ross Park Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North - McKnight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Pittsburgh - North Hills Hotel Pittsburgh
Holiday Inn North Hills
Pittsburgh Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing