We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh
Ranked #27 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed one night at the Westin using a Priceline deal. We paid around $100 for the stay. The location in convenient, staff was helpful, and stay was overall very good. We came back with dessert in the evening and the staff was happy to provide disposable utensils. And during the middle of the night, we had an issue with guests talking/shouting for 10 minutes in the hallway. I called the front desk and they reported security would "be right up." Within 2-3 minutes, we overheard security in the hallway quieting the crowd. We quickly went back to sleep. Parking is very simple and convenient, yet pricey. The cost to valet is $24/ night. There are other parking options listed on the website, but they are not much cheaper and require a bit of a walk. I would splurge for valet due to convenience. The hotel is somewhat dated, but clean and decently maintained. I'm not sure i would have paid the full standard rate of close to $200 had we not pricelined our stay. I would have probably stayed at the Omni or a nice property if I were to pay this much. Overall, I would recommend the Westin if you strike a good deal. Happy travels!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank hcomet15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear you found our staff to be helpful and enjoyed our convenient location. I'm sure others will find your parking suggestions to be very helpful and we would like to thank you for that. Thank you again for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Be Well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

698 - 704 of 796 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay at the Westin in Pittsburgh. We were able to walk to restaurants, walk to the ballpark and we were pleasantly surprised to find that the players stayed at the hotel also. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisydog313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope that you will join us again sometime in the near future! Thank you.

Be Well, Be Westin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

In Pittsburgh on business, decided to try this property.

If you are working in the city, it's a very convenient location. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. While they advertise that the baseball stadium is within walking distance, it may be a bit too far for some to walk to (though if it was a nice day, I'd do it).

Rooms are on par with what would be expected of a Westin. Spacious, modern, clean. Workout facility is above average, lots of equipment, treadmills, more free weights than what would be expected (a big plus) and even an aerobics room. The pool area is clean, there is a hot tub and even locker rooms.

The restaurant is nice, a seafood / sushi place, though service was a bit slow (which is why it's probably rated low on some sites). But not a bad place to sit and watch a game or catch up with friends. Seems to have a steady flow of clients, even spotted a local celebrity one night.

One note...if you are working anywhere outside the city, it is a bit confusing to get in/out of the city.

I did see some poor reviews of this property, but didn't have any bad experiences. My only complaint would be that parking requires you to take the ticket and pay each morning before leaving the garage. Would be nice if you could just use your room key.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We take great pride in having what we think is the best location in the city and we are glad you were able to take advantage of the convenience factor. We are also pleased to hear you enjoyed our guest rooms and Westin Workout facility! We hope that you are able to come back and retreat with us again soon.

Be Well, Be Westin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed here for a quick overnight when we came to town to sightsee. Staff were friendly and the rooms were decent, though a little bit worn and noisy, particularly when other guests flushed toilets or ran water in their rooms. The valet service was prompt and I would recommend it if you are planning on using your car frequently as the fee is once per 24 hours no mater how much you come and go. Location is good - there are several restaurants and theaters within immediate walking distance and the hotel isn't far from other tourist attractions, including museums and the strip. Overall, the hotel felt like a once grand place that has seen better days using amenities such as room service, a robe in the room, and a rain shower to make up for the fact that it's not quite as opulent as it once was. Glad we used a discount travel site and did not pay rack rate.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank candj1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay at the Westin. We are energized to hear you enjoyed our convenient location and valet service. We appreciate your comments and are excited for our upcoming enhanacements. We hope that you come back and visit and find it to be the grand place you expected! Thanks again.

Be Well, Be Westin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This is my first review ever which should tell you something. My husband, son and I recently stayed at the Westin Convention Center in Pittsburgh on a Saturday night using our SPG Reward points. SPG is calling this hotel a category 4 hotel worth 10,000 points. It is not. Don't waste your points here. My radar should have went off when we got off the elevator and the sign read, "SPG Rewards Floor." The floor is old, tired and dingy. We got to our room and it was worse...old, tired, dingy and dirty. The bathroom was dusty with hair all over the floor. To make matters worse, we were assigned a room directly across the hall from the ice-maker on a Saturday night. This was after asking the desk to give us a quiet room. We got about two hours of sleep. Next time we will stay at a real category 4 hotel--Fairmount or Renaissance. SPG returned 5000 points to me--still pitiful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Cleveburgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We would first like to apologize that you were let down with the service and all around facility. We strive to make every guest stay a personal one and we are so sorry we fell short this time. We are very excited to tell you that we will be undergoing some elevating enhacements to our hotel and we hope that you give us another chance in the future to show you what a true Westin stay should feel like. Thanks again.

Be Well, Be Westin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Great location in downtown Pittsburgh for walking to Penguins games. Rooms are large, but whoa, they could use a refresh to catch up to the 1990's. Dining options are rather limited and there's no bar fridge, which would be okay if there was an empty fridge to use for your own bevies and snacks. C'mon! It'll do, but you won't get too excited by a stay here. Completely adequate.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank steelonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to let you know that our hotel will be recieving some modern and refreshing enhancements in the upcoming year. We hope that you come back and visit and let us know what you think! Thanks again.

Be Well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Great room, great service, great location. The building is modern and efficient, and the food was good too. The bed was comfortable, and the shower was nice. I forgot toothpaste and they took care of me. It was also fast and easy to check in and check out.

My only complaint for those of you who aren't sound sleepers: they have these space-age toilets that sound like rockets going off when they flush! At least three times a night one of my neighbors' flushing toilets would wake me up suddenly. It's such a sudden, loud sound that my heart raced the first few times. It amazes me with all the attention to detail this company put into the rooms they couldn't pick a regular toilet. But if you're a sound sleeper, you'll be fine.

One more little thing: why doesn't the website mention the jacuzzi? I didn't pack my suit because it's not mentioned under amenities. Odd.

Room Tip: Sign up for the green program where you don't get housekeeping. They give you a $5 coupon each d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheytull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are rejuvenated to hear you enjoyed our heavenly bed and bath! We are also very sorry to hear about the noise you experienced. Our engineering department has been made aware of this issue and will certainly be looking into it further. We hope that you give us another chance in the future to restore our brand and can show you what a true Westin stay should feel like! Thanks again.

Be Well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#6 of 72 in Pittsburgh
852 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown
Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown
#37 of 72 in Pittsburgh
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 72 in Pittsburgh
4,268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh

Address: 1000 Penn Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-3835
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#13 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $193 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 616
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown energy meets restorative sleep at our Pittsburgh hotel. Immerse yourself in the heart of the Pittsburgh with a rejuvenating stay at The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh. Explore the downtown area with a stroll through the Strip District, dine in great restaurants, or take in a game in one of America's greatest sports cities. Directly connected to the Pittsburgh Convention Center, we are steps away from countless local attractions. Welcome to the Steel City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Westin Hotel Pittsburgh
Westin Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing